Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia
Organized in easy-to-use A-Z format, it covers thousands of medical terms, surgical procedures, and tests, as well as drug and treatment benefits and side effects. Also includes information on issues such as bioterrorism, genetic research, robotic surgery, brain imaging, and bionic people, as well as alternative medicine, nutrition, mental health, and cosmetic surgery.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCOhost)
Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other leading sources. Includes access to full-text issues from 1894 to the present.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (indexing only)
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, educational psychology, behavioral science, and mental health dating back to the 1800s.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCOhost) (Indexing only)
Abstracts and book reviews of material related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Full-text and abstracts for over 770 nursing & allied health journals, dating back to 1937.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)
Resources for consumer-oriented health content including mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Also includes the Clinical Reference System, a medical dictionary, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual Fifth Edition (DSM-V)
A pdf version of the DSM-V. The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. As a pdf version, this is not searchable. Use the table of contents at the beginning and the index at the end.
The academic form of Google, Scholar will search for scholarly articles and books instead of websites. This includes a large number of scholarly eJournal articles subscribed to by Murrell Library. To get full text articles, you must go to “Settings” and select Missouri Valley College in the “Library Links” the very first time you use Google Scholar on your computer. Your computer will save this information and you will not have to enter it again. Click here for a guide to setting up Google Scholar.
Medline Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Indexes articles from over 4,800 journals, 1965 - present, dealing with medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. For articles from 1947-1965, see OldMedline
Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Full text on a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. Covers clinical and social psychology as well as related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and education.
PTSDpubs (Proquest) (Indexing and Abstracting only)
Indexing and Abstracting only - no full text. Indexes publications, research summaries, and information sheets on PTSD and other mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events. The database attempts to include all publications relevant to PTSD and other forms of traumatic stress from 1871 – current, whatever their origin, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographic limitations. Created by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (Indexing only)
Indexes open-access academic resources including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections. About 60% of the sources are available in full text. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Full-text articles of high-impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Provides indexing and full text of articles in business, leadership, marketing, management, computing and MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
A legal research database containing Federal, state, and Tribal cases, statutes, and regulations. For Federal courts, Casemaker includes all published cases. Although states vary, most published state cases are available back to the beginning, including Kansas (1862), Missouri Supreme Court (1821), Missouri Appellate (1876). Also includes a “Citing References & Cited Cases Graph,” which helps you determine if a case is still good law. *You will need to sign up using your @moval.edu email account the first time you access Casemaker.
Chronicle of Higher Education
News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators. A password is required for access to this database. For assistance, please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 660-831-4180.
Criminal Justice Database (ProQuest)
full-text coverage of scholarly and trade titles on criminal justice, causes and impacts of crime, legal and social implications, litigation, and crime trends. 1981 to current.
Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (Indexing and Abstracting only)
Indexing and Abstracting only - no full text. References to article in educational administration, leadership, management, and research.
Education Full Text
Covers over 400 core periodicals geared toward educators and future educators with indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles available.
Indexes education books, articles, and documents (1966 to present), with some full text. For journal articles (with an EJ number) which are not linked, search for holdings by the journal title. For ERIC Documents that are not available online, Murrell Library has the text on Microfiche from 1988 - 2001 (ED284957 to ED453975), They are arranged by the ED number (ERIC Document Number), which is found in the record.
Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
An interdisciplinary database with provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Selected full-text dates from. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books andand many primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Nature and Nature Reviews Microbiology MVC's subscription contains the current year and the previous year. Older issues are in Murrell Library in print.
– Original research, editorials, news, and feature articles discussing current affairs, funding, business, scientific ethics, and research breakthroughs across a wide range of scientific fields, plus books reviews, arts, and short science fiction stories. Nature Reviews Microbiology
– Reviews, perspectives and comments using an integrated approach to microbiology, bridging fundamental research and its clinical, industrial and environmental applications.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Our website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
Provides citations to graduate theses and dissertations from the early 20th century to the present. Incorporates the American Doctoral Dissertations database.
Professional Development Collection (EBSCOhost)
Over 500 high quality education journals, including over 350 peer-reviewed titles, as well as more than 200 educational reports.
Covering the full range of scientific disciplines, Science contains original scientific research, research reviews, science-related news, and opinions on science policy, 1999 - Present. Published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Science Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Teacher Reference Center (EBSCOhost) (indexing and abstracting only)
Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Online reference materials covering a variety of subjects. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search. Credo has a variety of Research Guides
with links to topic pages and other useful content in over 60 different subject areas.
eBooks from EBSCO (eMO)
Electronic books from 18 collections, including K-12, general, academic, science, open dissertations, and nursing/health books. From MOBIUS and Murrell Library.
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
Streaming Audio, Video, and eBooks available on computer, tablet, or phone with your MoVal login information. The Libby
app is available from Apple's App Store
, from Google Play
, or from Microsoft
. For questions, call Murrell Library at 660-831-4180.
Professor & Library Director