Types of Disorders (1)
- Bipolar Disorder: TopicFormerly manic-depressive disorder or manic-depression, severe mental disorder involving manic episodes that are usually accompanied by episodes of depression.
-------------------------------- - Depression: TopicDisorder best defined as a collection of psychological symptoms including sadness; unhappy thoughts characterized by worry, poor self-image, self-blame, guilt and low self-confidence; downbeat views on the future; and a feeling of hopelessness.
-------------------------------- - DysthymiaFrom Encyclopedia of Women's Health
Dysthymic disorder is a chronic mood disorder characterized by depressed mood (extreme irritability in children and teenagers) almost every day for most of the day for at least 2 years in adults and 1 year for children and teenagers.
-------------------------------- - Premenstrual SyndromeFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
Any of various symptoms experienced by women of childbearing age in the days immediately preceding menstruation. It is most common in women in their twenties and thirties.
-------------------------------- - Tourette SyndromeFrom the Encyclopedia of Special Education
Tourette syndrome is a child-onset neurological disorder characterized by involuntary movements or vocalizations, otherwise known as tics, and occurs in approximately .04 to .4 percent of the population.
-------------------------------- - MadnessFrom Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
Madness was a highly topical subject in Britain during the earlier years of the Romantic era.
--------------------------------
- Agoraphobia: TopicAgoraphobia is a psychiatric illness in which individuals are anxious about being in situations where escape may be difficult or embarrassing.
-------------------------------- - Anxiety: Topic
Anticipatory tension or vague dread persisting in the absence of a specific threat. In contrast to fear, which is a realistic reaction to actual danger, anxiety is generally related to an unconscious threat.
-------------------------------- - Post-traumatic Stress Disorder: Topic(PTSD), mental disorder that follows an occurrence of extreme psychological stress, such as that encountered in war or resulting from violence, childhood abuse, sexual abuse, or serious accident.
-------------------------------- - Dissociative Identity Disorder (DID): TopicAccording to conventional definitions, it occurs when an individual acquires separate, multiple identities, some of which may be amnesic for others and some of which may have full awareness of the others.
-------------------------------- - Hysteria: TopicIn psychology, a disorder commonly known today as conversion disorder, in which a psychological conflict is converted into a bodily disturbance.
-------------------------------- - Panic Disorder: TopicA panic attack is the sudden onset of intense apprehension, fearfulness, or terror, often associated with feelings of impending doom.
-------------------------------- - PhobiasFrom Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
A phobia involves intense fear, triggered by the presence or anticipation of a particular stimulus. Many different kinds of phobias have received special names, including acrophobia (fear of heights), agoraphobia (fear of public places), and claustrophobia (fear of confined spaces).
--------------------------------
- Anorexia: TopicLack of desire to eat, or refusal to eat, especially the pathological condition of anorexia nervosa, most often found in adolescent girls and young women.
-------------------------------- - Eating Disorders: Topic
The eating disorders are characterised by overvalued beliefs about the importance of body weight and shape.
-------------------------------- - EcholaliaFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
Echolalia is a strong, almost mandatory, tendency to repeat spontaneously what has been said by another person (Benson & Ardila, 1996).
-------------------------------- - Gambling: TopicThe wagering of either money or material goods of value on the outcome of a chance happening, such as roulette or dice-throwing, or where an element of skill can be used to judge the likelihood of an outcome, such as in horse racing or football.
-------------------------------- - Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD): TopicObsessions and compulsions are fairly common mental phenomena that most people have experienced, but they can become severe enough to interfere with one's functioning.
-------------------------------- - Tourette Syndrome: TopicTourette syndrome is a complex debilitating neurological disorder that arises during childhood or adolescence mostly affecting people under the age of 21.
--------------------------------
- Addiction: TopicState of dependence caused by frequent and regular use of drugs, alcohol, or other substances. It is characterized by uncontrolled craving, tolerance, and symptoms of withdrawal when access is denied.
-------------------------------- - Alcoholism: TopicDisease characterized by impaired control over the consumption of alcoholic beverages.
-------------------------------- - Amphetamine: TopicAny one of a group of drugs that are powerful central nervous system stimulants. Amphetamines have stimulating effects opposite to the effects of depressants such as alcohol, narcotics, and barbiturates.
-------------------------------- - Cannabis: TopicPsychoactive substances obtained from Cannabis sativa or Indian hemp are the oldest euphoriants. Also called marijuana, these substances do not usually result in physical DEPENDENCE, but chronic abuse leads to passivity, apathy and inertia.
-------------------------------- - Cocaine: TopicAlkaloid drug derived from the leaves of the coca shrub. A commonly abused illegal drug, cocaine has limited medical uses.
-------------------------------- - Designer DrugsFrom The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors
Underworld chemists constantly seek to develop new drugs that create the same effects of stimulants or hallucinogens or other drugs, but whose chemical formulation has not yet been banned. These are called “designer drugs.”
-------------------------------- - Ecstasy: TopicAn illegal recreational drug in increasing use since the 1980s. It is a modified amphetamine with mild psychedelic effects, and works by releasing large a mounts of serotonin (a neurotransmitter) from the brain.
-------------------------------- - HallucinogensFrom The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Any substance that acts on the central nervous system to produce changes in perception and mood and often hallucinations. Hallucinogens include LSD, peyote, and mescaline. Their effects are unpredictable and they are illegal in most countries.
-------------------------------- - Heroin: TopicOpiate drug synthesized from morphine (see narcotic). Originally produced in 1874, it was thought to be not only nonaddictive but useful as a cure for respiratory illness and morphine addiction, and capable of relieving morphine withdrawal symptoms.
-------------------------------- - LSD: Topiclkaloid synthesized from lysergic acid, which is found in the fungus ergot (Claviceps purpurea). It is a hallucinogenic drug that intensifies sense perceptions and produces hallucinations, mood changes, and changes in the sense of time.
-------------------------------- - MescalineFrom Black's Medical Dictionary, 42nd Edition
Derived from the Mexican peyote cactus, Anhalonium lewinii, this is a hallucinogen used for many centuries by Indian tribes in Mexico as an intoxicant to produce ecstatic states for religious celebrations. In recent times its ability to produce temporary psychotic symptoms has been used to investigate the mechanism of PSYCHOSIS.
-------------------------------- - Methamphetamine: TopicMethamphetamine, or “meth,” is an addictive central nervous system (CNS) stimulant with limited medical value.
-------------------------------- - Opioid Abuse: TopicFollowing an increase in the prevalence of chronic pain and campaigns denouncing inadequate treatment of pain, the past two decades have culminated in what researchers and healthcare advocates are calling an “opioid epidemic” in Canada and the United States where prescription opioid consumption is highest worldwide.
-------------------------------- - Opium: TopicSubstance derived by collecting and drying the milky juice in the unripe seed pods of the opium poppy, Papaver somniferum. Opium varies in color from yellow to dark brown and has a characteristic odor and a bitter taste.
-------------------------------- - OverdoseFrom Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
An overdose is the accidental or intentional use of a drug or medicine in an amount that is higher than normally used or prescribed.
--------------------------------
Diagnoses
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)
Published by the American Psychiatric Association.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5Call Number: Career Center RC455.2.C4 D536 2013--------------------------------
International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems (IDC)
Published by the World Health Organization
ICD-10-PCS 2020: the Complete Official Codebook by Call Number: EBSCO eBooks--------------------------------
ICD-10-PCS 2021: the Complete Official Codebook by Call Number: EBSCO eBooks--------------------------------Pocket Guide of ICD-10-CM and ICD-10-PCS by
Call Number: EBSCO eBooks--------------------------------
- DSM-5 Educational ResourcesEducation resources including webinars on the APA Learning Center, free online assessment measures and fact sheets.
-------------------------------- - DSM-5 Resource GuideA website on Psych Central, this page provides a wide variety of DSM-5 resources including changes to the DSM, background information, DSM commentary, and more.
-------------------------------- - DSM-5 website (American Psychiatric Association)--------------------------------
- ICD-10 (searchable)--------------------------------
- ICD-10 Classification of Mental and Behavioural DisordersProvides clinical descriptions and diagnostic guidelines.
-------------------------------- - ICD-10-CM (Clinical Modification)Version used in the United States.
--------------------------------
- Antidepressant: TopicAny of a wide range of drugs used to treat psychic depression. They are given to elevate mood, counter suicidal thoughts, and increase the effectiveness of psychotherapy.
- Art Therapy: Topic“‘ I could draw it,’ a dreamer often says to us, ‘but I don’t know how to say it.’” So said Sigmund Freud (1963, p. 90). Considering that Freud regarded dreams to be “the royal road to the unconscious,” it is surprising that he did not ask his patients to do so.
- Cognitive Behavioral Therapy: TopicCBT is an extremely successful and popular method of psychotherapy, loosely based on cognitive principles.
- Counseling: TopicIn an early attempt to define counseling, the Society of Counseling Psychology, which is Division 17 of the American Psychological Association, described counseling as a process of “helping individuals toward overcoming obstacles to personal growth, wherever these may be encountered, and toward achieving optimum development of personal resources”
- Crisis Intervention: TopicA crisis is a collapse in one’s ability to solve problems or cope with a situation in which the person’s existing strategies for coping do not work.
- Drug: TopicAny of a range of substances, natural or synthetic, administered to humans and animals as therapeutic agents: to diagnose, prevent, or treat disease, or to assist recovery from injury.
- DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders): TopicEfforts to categorize and describe “madness” date back to ancient Greece; however, interest in psychiatric categorization has intensified since the turn of the twentieth century.
- Electroconvulsive (ECT) Therapy: TopicIn psychiatry, treatment of mood disorders by means of electricity; the broader term is "shock therapy.
- Family therapyFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
Family therapy offers a distinctive theoretical approach for working with human problems, with the focus on the individual and their relationships with others, especially within the family structure. - Gestalt TherapyFrom The Concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
Gestalt therapy is an existential and phenomenological approach, emphasizing the principles of present-centered awareness and immediate experience. - Group Psychotherapy: TopicA means of changing behavior and emotional patterns, based on the premise that much of human behavior and feeling involves the individual's adaptation and response to other people.
- Group therapy
From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
Group therapy is a general term that refers to any of the various types of therapeutic groups that share the broad purpose of increasing people’s knowledge of themselves and others and giving people the skills necessary to enhance their personal competence. - Hypnotism: Topic[Gr.,=putting to sleep], to induce an altered state of consciousness characterized by deep relaxation and heightened suggestibility.
- Marriage Counseling: TopicProblems in marriage and other close relationships are widespread. For example, the divorce rate in the United States is approximately 50%. Relationship problems are also among the most common reasons for people seeking mental health services.
- Music Therapy: TopicMusic affects people emotionally, physically, and aesthetically, and these responses provide the basis for the use of music in therapy.
- Psychopharmacology: TopicIn its broadest sense, the study of all pharmacological agents that affect mental and emotional functions.
- Psychoanalysis: TopicName given by Sigmund Freud to a system of interpretation and therapeutic treatment of psychological disorders.
- Psychological Test: TopicAny of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.
- Psychopharmacology: TopicIn its broadest sense, the study of all pharmacological agents that affect mental and emotional functions.
- Group Psychotherapy: TopicA means of changing behavior and emotional patterns, based on the premise that much of human behavior and feeling involves the individual's adaptation and response to other people.
- Rehabilitation: TopicWhether one is talking about the latest actor, politician, or average person, the term rehabilitation is likely to pop up in casual conversation.
- Acupuncture: TopicTechnique of traditional Chinese medicine, in which a number of very fine metal needles are inserted into the skin at specially designated points.
- BloodlettingFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
Also called bleeding, practice of drawing blood from the body in the treatment of disease. General bloodletting consists of the abstraction of blood by incision into an artery (arteriotomy) or vein (venesection, or phlebotomy). - Electroconvulsive Therapy (ECT): TopicIn psychiatry, treatment of mood disorders by means of electricity; the broader term "shock therapy" also includes the use of chemical agents.
- ExorcismFrom The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
An exorcism is a ritual, formalized by the Catholic Church during the seventeenth century, performed on a person exhibiting signs of demonic possession. Possession is said to occur when the Devil enters and takes over the physical and mental faculties of the victim. - HumorFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
According to ancient theory, any of four bodily fluids that determined human health and temperament. Hippocrates postulated that an imbalance among the humors (blood, phlegm. - HydrotherapyFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
Use of water in the treatment of illness or injury. Although the medicinal and hygienic value of water was recognized by the early Greeks, hydrotherapy attained its widest use in the 18th and 19th cent. through the practice of the British physician Sir John Floyer and an Austrian peasant, Vincenz Priessnitz. - IndividuationFrom The Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
As a scientific term, this was used by Jung to describe the core concept of his psychological theory. - Insulin coma therapyFrom Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
A now defunct form of physical treatment, at one time advocated for schizophrenia patients, in which patients were repeatedly administered insulin (see s. 2) in order to induce a comatose state. - LobotomyFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
Surgical procedure for cutting nerve pathways in the frontal lobes of the brain. The operation has been performed on mentally ill patients whose behavioral patterns were not improved by other forms of treatment. - MesmerismFrom Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850
The physician Franz Anton Mesmer developed his theory of animal magnetism to account for his therapeutic successes in Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Vienna and the agitated culture of prerevolutionary Paris (1778-84). - PhrenologyFrom The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Phrenology, now an outmoded theory of personality, originated with the speculations of the physician-anatomist Franz Joseph Gall (1758–1828). - PsychosurgeryFrom The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
Psychosurgery, by definition, implies the destruction of brain tissue for the relief of severe, persistent, and debilitating psychiatric symptomatology. - Trephination or TrepanationTrephination involves the production of a defect in the skull vault to create communication between the cranial cavity and the environment, whose success depends upon avoidance of injury to the meninges, brain and blood vessels.
- Achenbach Child Behavior ChecklistFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education
The purpose of the Child Behavior Checklist is to quickly collect standardized ratings on a broad spectrum of competencies and problems for children aged 6 to 18 years. - Beck Depression Inventory IIFrom The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The Beck Depression Inventory-II (BDI-II; Beck, Steer, & Brown, 1996) is a 21-item self-report instrument for measuring the severity of depression in adolescents and adults according to symptoms corresponding to the criteria for diagnosing major depressive disorders. - Burks' Behavior RatingFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education
The Burks’ Behavior Rating Scales (BBRS), Preschool and Kindergarten Form and Grades One–Nine Form, are rating inventories used to identify the type and severity of problem behaviors exhibited by referred children ages 2 to 15. - Intelligence Test: TopicTest that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability.
- Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI)The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is a widely used personality inventory (test) employed in vocational, educational, and psychotherapy settings. MBTI is used to evaluate personality type in adolescents and adults age 14 and older.
- Psychological Test: TopicAny of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.
- PsychometricsFrom The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The field of psychometrics generally considers quantitative psychological data. Such data normally emerges from test responses, although it may come from other measures. - Rorschach test
From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology:
The grandfather of all projective tests, designed and developed by the Swiss psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach. The administration of the test consists of a structured interview using a series of ten standardized, bilaterally symmetrical inkblots.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
- Bibliotherapy
Here are entered works on a type of psychotherapy in which the patients read books or other materials selected to guide them to a solution to a problem. - Bibliotherapy for Children
CINAHL
- Bibliotherapy
Use of selected reading and related materials for therapeutic purposes in physical medicine, mental health, and education
ERIC Thesaurus
- Bibliotherapy
Use of selected reading and related materials for therapeutic purposes in physical medicine, mental health, and education
MeSH
- Bibliotherapy
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms
- Bibliotherapy
Use of reading as adjunct to psychotherapy. - Poetry Therapy
Types of Disorders (2)
- Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder: Topic(ADHD), formerly called hyperkinesis or minimal brain dysfunction, a chronic, neurologically based syndrome characterized by any or all of three types of behavior: hyperactivity, distractibility, and impulsivity.
-------------------------------- - Autism: TopicOne of a spectrum of disorders defined by problems with communication, imagination, and social interaction. The symptoms may be present from birth or may develop in early childhood, around the third year.
-------------------------------- - Cerebral Palsy: TopicDisability caused by brain damage before or during birth or in the first years, resulting in a loss of voluntary muscular control and coordination.
-------------------------------- - Developmental DisabilitiesFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education
A term representing an umbrella category referring to a diverse group of physical, cognitive, psychological, sensory, and speech impairments that begin anytime during an individual’s development up to 22 years of age.
-------------------------------- - DyslexiaFrom Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Although the majority of children learn to read without difficulty, a substantial minority (between 4 and 10 percent) have significant problems.
-------------------------------- - Learning Disabilities
From Encyclopedia of Special Education
Children and adults classified as learning disabled (LD) are those individuals who are of normal intelligence but suffer mental information processing difficulties.
-------------------------------- - Selective MutismFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education
Selective mutism is a psychological disorder of childhood characterized by total and persistent lack of speech in at least one specific environment (such as the classroom), despite the presence of normal speech in other environments.
-------------------------------- - Tourette Syndrome: TopicTourette syndrome is a complex debilitating neurological disorder that arises during childhood or adolescence mostly affecting people under the age of 21.
--------------------------------
- Autism: Topic
One of a spectrum of disorders defined by problems with communication, imagination, and social interaction. The symptoms may be present from birth or may develop in early childhood, around the third year.
-------------------------------- - CatatoniaFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
Mental state generally characterized by statuesque posturing, muscular immobility, mutism, and apparent stupor. The muscles are held in a pliant state called waxy flexibility, and the catatonic person obediently permits himself to be rearranged into awkward positions that he may subsequently hold for hours.
-------------------------------- - Dissociative Identity Disorder: TopicDissociative identity disorder (DID) has been one of the most controversial diagnostic categories in the history of psychiatry.
-------------------------------- - Epilepsy: TopicA chronic disorder of cerebral function characterized by periodic convulsive seizures. There are many conditions that have epileptic seizures.
-------------------------------- - Hysteria: TopicIn psychology, a disorder commonly known today as conversion disorder, in which a psychological conflict is converted into a bodily disturbance.
-------------------------------- - Neuroses: TopicIn psychiatry, a broad category of psychological disturbance, encompassing various mild forms of mental disorder.
-------------------------------- - Psychosis: TopicIn psychiatry, a broad category of mental disorder encompassing the most serious emotional disturbances, often rendering the individual incapable of staying in contact with reality.
-------------------------------- - Schizophrenia: Topic
Group of severe mental disorders characterized by reality distortions resulting in unusual thought patterns and behaviors.
-------------------------------- - Thought DisorderFrom Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
Thought disorder is typically diagnosed when a patient’s speech is incoherent and unintelligible to the listener. Eugen Bleuler, (1911/1950), who coined the term ‘schizophrenia’, believed it to be the consequence of ‘loosening of the associations’, which he argued is a fundamental symptom of the disorder.
--------------------------------
- Alzheimer's Disease: Topic
Common manifestation of dementia , thought to afflict 1 in 20 people over 65.
-------------------------------- - AphasiaFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education
Everyone with the diagnosis of aphasia has an acquired language disorder, but the type of language disorder and the severity of these difficulties vary.
-------------------------------- - DeliriumFrom Encyclopedia of Nursing Research.
Delirium is an acute, fluctuating disturbance of attention with disorganized thinking and altered psychomotor activity (Meagher, MacLullich, & Laurila, 2008). It frequently accompanies acute physical illness and is found in all care settings and all ages.
-------------------------------- - DementiaFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
progressive deterioration of intellectual faculties resulting in apathy, confusion, and stupor. In the 17th cent. the term was synonymous with insanity, and the term dementia praecox was used in the 19th cent. to describe the condition now known as schizophrenia.
-------------------------------- - Epilepsy: TopicA chronic disorder of cerebral function characterized by periodic convulsive seizures. There are many conditions that have epileptic seizures.
-------------------------------- - Autism: TopicOne of a spectrum of disorders defined by problems with communication, imagination, and social interaction. The symptoms may be present from birth or may develop in early childhood, around the third year.
-------------------------------- - Mental Retardation: TopicBelow average level of intellectual functioning, usually defined by an IQ of below 70 to 75, combined with limitations in the skills necessary for daily living.
-------------------------------- - Parkinson's Disease: TopicDegenerative disease of the brain characterized by a progressive loss of mobility, muscular rigidity, tremor, and speech difficulties. The condition is mainly seen in people over the age of 50.
--------------------------------
- Hysteria: TopicIn psychology, a disorder commonly known today as conversion disorder, in which a psychological conflict is converted into a bodily disturbance.
-------------------------------- - IdiocyFrom Encyclopedia of Special Education
Idiot is an archaic term used from the turn of the century through the 1950s to denote an individual with mental retardation whose measured IQ fell below 25 or 30. It (...) was used comparatively with lesser degrees of retardation (i.e., imbecile and moron).
-------------------------------- - LunacyFrom Chamber's Dictionary of the Unexplained
A form of insanity once thought to come with the changes in the moon.
-------------------------------- - MelancholiaFrom The Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis
In his very first works between 1895 and 1897, Freud understood melancholia as a form of depression of variable intensity, linked to a loss of mental energy – he mainly drew on the popular theory of neurasthenia.
-------------------------------- - NeurastheniaFrom The Columbia Encyclopedia
Condition characterized by general lassitude, irritability, lack of concentration, worry, and hypochondria. The term was introduced into psychiatry in 1869 by George M. Beard, an American neurologist; he believed it to be a neurosis with a fatigue component.
--------------------------------
Therapies
- Courage to Care Campaign
From the Department of Psychiatry of the Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences - Military Homefront (Department of Defense)
- National Center for PTSD
Veterans Affairs information for researchers and providers. - National Institute of Mental Health
- Post Deployment Health
Designed by the Department of Defense to assist clinicians in the delivery of post-deployment healthcare. - Psychological Needs of US Service Members and their Families
Report from the APA. - Center for Deployment Psychology
Provides training on deployment-related behavioral health services for military personnel and their families. - Addressing the Mental and Behavioral Health Needs of Our Nation's Service Members
Statement from the APA. - Post Traumatic Stress Disorder
Guidelines from the Dept. of Defense - Management of Major Depressive Disorder (MDD)
Guidelines from Veterans Affairs and Dept of Defense. Describes the critical decision points in the management of Major Depressive Disorder (MDD) and provides clear and comprehensive evidence based recommendations incorporating current information and practices for practitioners throughout the DoD and VA Health Care systems. The guideline is intended to improve patient outcomes and local management of patients with MDD. - Treatment of Patients With Acute Stress Disorder and Posttraumatic Stress Disorder
From the American Psychiatric Association. - U. S. Department of Veterans Affairs
- VA Treatment Guidelines
- Center on Aging, Health & Humanities at the George Washington University Health Sciences
- European Consortium for Arts Therapies Education
- Expressive Therapy Concepts
- International Expressive Arts Therapy Association
- Irish Association of Creative Arts Therapists
- National Arts and Disability Center
- National Center for Creative Aging
- National Coalition of Creative Arts Therapies Associations
- American Art Therapy Association
- Art Therapy blog
- Art Therapy Credentials Board
- Arts & Healing Network
- http://www.artheals.org/home.html
- The website for the National Guild for Community Arts Education, an organization which supports and advances access to lifelong learning opportunities in the arts by fostering the creation and development of community arts education organizations.
- Institute for Psychological Study of the Arts
- International Art Therapy Organization
- National Coalition of Creative Arts Therapies Associations
Society for the Arts in Health Care -
The Healing Forest in Post-Crisis Work with Children by Call Number: EBSCO eBook
There Is No Need to Talk about This by Call Number: EBSCO eBook
The Use of the Creative Therapies in Treating Depression by Call Number: EBSCO eBook
Using the Creative Therapies to Cope with Grief and Loss by Call Number: EBSCO eBook
- American Art Therapy AssociationA national association dedicated to the belief that the creative process involved in the making of art is healing and life enhancing; has established standards for art therapy education, ethics, and practice.
According to the Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders, “Bibliotherapy is an adjunct to psychological treatment that incorporates appropriate books or other written materials, usually intended to be read outside of psychotherapy sessions, into the treatment regimen.”
- Bibliotherapy Education Project
This site has tools, resources and links to assist you in evaluating materials for bibliotherapy work with children and adolescents, finding evaluated books for certain age groups and issues, and learning more about the use of books in therapy.
- Bibliotherapy Evaluation Tool
Discusses the development and evolution of the Bibliotherapy Evaluation Tool to help graduate counseling students use literature in therapy ethically and appropriately. A survey of bibliotherapeutic practice in the helping professions is provided. Graduate students showed greater knowledge of and comfort with bibliotherapy after exposure to a teaching module and guided practice in evaluating literature for therapeutic use. - Bibliotherapy--American Library Association
- Bibliotherapy: Helping Students, One Book at a Time
- Bibliotherapy: How Books Can Treat Anxiety, Depression
- Helping Books Resources - Bibliotherapy
- Legitimising bibliotherapy: evidence-based discourses in healthcare Liz Brewster; Barbara Sen; Andrew Cox. (2012). Journal of Documentation, Vol. 68 Issue 2, pp. 185-205.
The purpose of this paper is to explore how the use of self-help bibliotherapy developed from a local pilot scheme to become national policy in Wales. Analysis aims to focus on the use of evidence-based practice (EBP) as a justification in the process of policy creation. - The introduction of a healthy reading scheme for people with mental health problems: usage and experiences of health professionals and library staff. Roma Robertson. (2008). Mental Health in Family Medicine, Vol. 5 Issue 4, pp. 219-228.
This study aimed to explore utilization of a ‘healthy reading’ service and to offer further insight into improving the processes and uptake of book prescribing so that more people have the opportunity to access this treatment.
- Bibliotherapy in unipolar depression: A meta-analysisP. Cuijpers. Journal of Behavior Therapy and Experimental Psychiatry
Volume 28, Issue 2, June 1997, Pages 139-147 - Books do furnish a mind: the art and science of bibliotherapyBate, Jonathan; Schuman, Andrew.The Lancet; London Vol. 387, Iss. 10020, (Feb 20, 2016): 742-743. DOI:10.1016/S0140-6736(16)00337-8
- The effectiveness of creative bibliotherapy for internalizing, externalizing, and prosocial behaviors in children: A systematic reviewChildren and Youth Services Review
Volume 55, August 2015, Pages 37-47
Paul Montgomery, Kathryn Maunders - The impact of bibliotherapy superheroes on youth who experience parental absenceNurit Betzalel, Zipora Shechtman. First Published September 25, 2017. https://doi.org/10.1177/0143034317719943
- The Use of the Creative Therapies in Treating Depression by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
- American Dance Therapy Association
- Dance/Movement Therapy Certification Board
- National Dance Education Organization
- Association for Dance Movement Therapy UK
- International Association for Dance Medicine & Science
- Association for Dance Movement Therapy UK
- BTD: German Professional Organization for Dance Therapists
- Dance-Movement Association of Australia
- Japan Dance Therapy Association
- Drama Therapy with Children: Playing and Pretending byCall Number: InfoBase Films on Demand Streaming Video
- Drama Therapy with Children: The Pleasure of Play byCall Number: InfoBase Films on Demand Streaming Video
- The Healing Forest in Post-Crisis Work with Children by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
- The Use of the Creative Therapies in Treating Depression by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
Case Examples of Improvisational Music Therapy by
Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
Clinical Improvisation Techniques in Music Therapy by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
Direct Work with Vulnerable Children: Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------- The Use of the Creative Therapies in Treating Depression by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
- American Music Therapy Association
- American Orff-Schulwerk Association
- Association for Music & Imagery
- Association for Music & Imagery
- Association of Professional Music Therapists
- Australian Music Therapy Association
- British Society for Music Therapy
- British Society for Music Therapy
- Canadian Association for Music Therapy
- Canadian Association for Music Therapy
- Canadian Music Therapy Trust Fund
- Certification Board for Music Therapists
- Certification Board for Music Therapists
- European Music Therapy Confederation
- Finnish Society for Music Therapy
- Mid-Atlantic Region of the American Music Therapy Association
- Music Therapy Association of British Columbia
- Music Therapy Online
- Music Therapy World
- Music Therapy: Learn How and Why Therapists are Using Music Therapy
- National Assn for Music Education
- Nordoff-Robbins Center for Music Therapy
- Voices: A world forum for music therapy
- World Federation of Music Therapy
- World Federation of Music Therapy
- Play Therapy: Proven Treatment Strategies for Trauma, Anxiety, OCD and More! byCall Number: InfoBase Films on Demand Streaming Video--------------------------------
Counseling Families by Call Number: MO Valley RC488.5 .C6788 2015--------------------------------- Is Life a Game? byCall Number: InfoBase Films on Demand Streaming Video--------------------------------
Game-Based Cognitive-Behavioral Therapy for Child Sexual Abuse by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------- The Use of the Creative Therapies in Treating Depression by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
Integrating Play Techniques in Comprehensive Counseling Programs by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
- Association for Play Therapy
- British and Irish Sandplay Society
- International Society for Sandplay Therapy
- Playtherapy International
- Play Therapy-Smith College
- Sandplay Therapists of America
- Association for Play Therapy
- British Association of Clinical Play Therapy
- British Association of Play Therapists
- Canadian Association for Child and Play Therapy
- Center for Play Therapy
- International Society for Sandplay Therapy
- Play Therapy Australia
- Play Therapy International
- Sandplay Therapists of America
- The Use of the Creative Therapies in Treating Depression by Call Number: EBSCO eBook--------------------------------
- Dulwich Centre
The Dulwich Centre is an independent organization in Adelaide, Australia involved in narrative therapy, community work, training, publishing and co-hosting international conferences. Includes an introduction to Narrative Therapy, a selection of articles and information on current projects. - Association for Play Therapy
- British Association of Clinical Play Therapy
- British Association of Play Therapists
- Canadian Association for Child and Play Therapy
- Center for Play Therapy
- International Society for Sandplay Therapy
- Play Therapy Australia
- Play Therapy International
- Sandplay Therapists of America
- Texas Association for Play Therapy
- NarrativePsych.com: Narrative psychology internet resource guide
An excellent introduction to Narrative Therapy including theoretical foundations, methodology, historical background and range of topical bibliographies. The site is edited by Vincent W. Hevern, SJ, Ph.D Psychology Department of Le Moyne College, New York. - NarrativeApproaches.com
A site devoted to the practice of Narrative Therapy authored by Jennifer Freeman and Dean Lobovits, who have written widely on this topic. Includes a collection of academic papers and topical papers on Narrative Therapy with families and with sufferers of eating disorders.