English, Literature, & Writing: American Literature

Presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.

Thousands of authoritative and accessible entries on every aspect of children's literature, covering authors, illustrators, works, characters, genres, and much more. From Mark Haddon to Harry Potter, Raymond Briggs to Maurice Sendak, and Douglas Adams to The Gruffalo.

With lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States, this title offers readers a wealth of information and insight into the work of many of the finest short story writers in literary history.

Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.

Covers the entire spectrum of the African-American literary tradition, from the 18th-century writings of pioneers such as Olaudah Equiano and Phillis Wheatley, to 20th-century canonic texts, to the finest of today's best-selling authors and rap artists.

A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, this title covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.

An extensive reference work that spans the entire scope of American literature, from the colonial period to the present.

This source concisely sums up the knowledge that matters to Americans - the people, places, ideas, and events that shape our cultural conversation.

Contains essays on topics from the first conception of a New World in the sixteenth century to the latest re-envisioning of that world in cartoons, television, science fiction, and hip hop. Literature, music, film, art, history, science, philosophy, political rhetoric--cultural creations of every kind appear in relation to each other, and to the time and place that give them shape.

Provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.

Offers a comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field.

Comprehensive encyclopedia covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. Provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership.