Murrell Library Research Guides: English, Literature, &amp; Writing: Finding Articles in Writing and Literature

Academic Search Complete
EBSCOhost. Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
Humanities International Complete
EBSCOhost. Full text of over 1,200 journals and eBooks, as well as indexing for over 2,300 journals. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index.
--------------------------------
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) (Partial full text)
Partial Full Text. A compilation of literary commentary that gives users access to centuries of analysis. Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals with the exact look and feel of the print originals. Also indexes Twentieth Century Literary Criticism and Contemporary Literary Criticism (located in Murrell Library Reference Section).
--------------------------------
Masterfile Premier
EBSCOhost. An interdisciplinary database with provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Selected full-text dates from. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books andand many primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
--------------------------------
MLA International Bibliography (partial full text)
EBSCOhost. Partial full text and abstracts of journal articles, books and dissertations in English, literature, folklore, poetry, and linguistics.
Click here for a list of journals indexed in the MLA International Bibliography, including editorial contact information, frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines.
--------------------------------

Education Full Text
EBSCOhost. Covers over 400 core periodicals geared toward educators and future educators with indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles available.
--------------------------------
ERIC (partial full text)
EBSCOhost. Abstracts of education books, articles, and documents (1966 to present), with some full text. For journal articles (with an EJ number) which are not linked, search for holdings by the journal title.
--------------------------------
Learning Express Library
Interactive tutorials and practice tests for computer software and standardized exams, including videos and eBooks. Computer Skills Center contains self-directed video tutorials for commonly used software applications. The Resume and Cover Letter Builder has templates and sample resumes. Test preparation includes the GRE, GMAT, LSAT, and MCAT; NCLEX-PN and NCLEX-RN; Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator; Microsoft Office software; Law Enforcement; and Civil Service exams. Also contains review materials on basic literacy, math, and science.
--------------------------------
Professional Development Collection
EBSCOhost. Articles in over 500 high quality education journals, including over 350 peer-reviewed titles, as well as more than 200 educational reports.
--------------------------------
Teacher Reference Center (abstracts only)
EBSCOhost. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
--------------------------------
Read It! (English Language Learner)
Offers resources to help build background knowledge, conduct research and improve study skills. Content Includes:
* Step-by-step research guides.
* “Read Out Loud” text-to-speech tool that enables students to highlight and listen to text.
* Lexile Measures to indicate a text’s level of reading difficulty.
--------------------------------

Archival Films and Newsreels
Historical and archival films from multiple sources, including: The Prelinger Archives – U.S. cultural and social history; The WPA Film Library – over 2,800 clips and newsreels since the late 1800s; The United Newsreel collection – World War II newsreels from the U.S. Office of War Information; The Universal Newsreel collection – 7 to 10 minute newsreels, released twice per week between 1929 and 1967; Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
--------------------------------
Credo Reference eBooks
Full-text reference eBooks, images, audio & video files, real-time research on controversial issues, and pro/con arguments. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search.
--------------------------------
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to over 350,000 full text eBooks in all academic areas.
--------------------------------
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
--------------------------------
Open Dissertations
EBSCOhost. Provides citations to graduate theses and dissertations from the early 20th century to the present. Incorporates the American Doctoral Dissertations database.
--------------------------------
Overdrive eBooks, Audiobooks, Video
eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming video. Materials include popular fiction, literature, career materials, and a variety of academic titles including nursing, business, and computer science. Use Overdrive may be used on computer or tablet. For mobile use, download the Libby App from the Apple App Store, Google Play, or the Microsoft Store. Overdrive and Libby App instructions are available here.
--------------------------------
Sage Knowledge eBooks
Sage ebooks include scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, business cases studies, and streaming video. Find Sage eBooks by searching MVC's library catalog, or directly on the Sage site.
--------------------------------
Salem Press eBooks
eBooks from Salem Press.
--------------------------------

American Heritage Abbreviations Dictionary
Presents some 20,000 terms that appear in text messages, chatrooms, websites, sports statistics, travel brochures, airports, personal ads, and countless other places in a world where shorthand is the true universal language.
American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language
Call Number: Credo Reference eBook
This new edition offers newly updated terms, and provides the latest research on word origins and meanings, with guidelines on accurate usage.
--------------------------------
Bloomsbury Thesaurus
Call Number: Credo Reference eBook
Contains synonyms, alternatives, and cross-references, reflecting both technical and day-to-day aspects of Modern English.
--------------------------------
Chambers Dictionary
Call Number: Credo Reference eBook
An online dictionary of the English language.
--------------------------------
Collins English Dictionary
Call Number: Credo Reference eBook
Drawn from the Collins Corpus, the largest in the world with more than 4.5 billion words, and combined with a selection of emerging words submitted by the public on collinsdictionary.com, the Collins English Dictionary is a snapshot of real English as it is spoken today around the world.
--------------------------------
Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
With more than 7,000 definitions, this book provides a definitive guide to the use of slang today. It deals with drugs, sport and contemporary society, as well as favourite slang topics such as sex and bodily functions.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary
Features a significant number of clear and precise definitions and more than 10,000 new words and meanings. Over 40,000 usage examples, more than any other desk dictionary, provide expert guidance to help solve problems of confused and disputed usage.
Oxford American College Dictionary
Call Number: EBSCO eBooks
Contains over 175,000 entries and more than 1000 illustrations.
Penguin English Dictionary
Call Number: Credo Reference eBook
Includes not only standard English, but also scientific and technical vocabulary, specialist terms, slang, and the English of earlier periods.

Samuel Johnson's Dictionary Online
A Dictionary of the English Language by Samuel Johnson was published on 15 April 1755. It is among the most influential dictionaries in the history of the English language. This site is fully searchable.
--------------------------------

Assistant Dean of Library & Academic Support Services

Mrs. Samantha Perkins

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Murrell Library and Academic Support Center

660-831-4187