Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English, Literature, & Writing: Books - Print & Online

Books are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers. Use the library's online catalog to find books and eBooks.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences
The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.
Cambridge University Press 2011
Cambridge Introductions to Philosophy: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Language
In this textbook, Michael Morris offers a critical introduction to the central issues of the philosophy of language.
Cambridge University Press 2007
Dictionary of Contemporary Slang
With more than 7,000 definitions, this book provides a definitive guide to the use of slang today. It deals with drugs, sport and contemporary society, as well as favourite slang topics such as sex and bodily functions.
Bloomsbury 2014
Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations, H.W. Wilson
Lists in one alphabetical sequence foreign phrases, proverbs, maxims and abbreviations frequently used in written and spoken English.
The H.W. Wilson Company 1990
Dictionary of Untranslatables
This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, terms such as Dasein (German), pravda (Russian), saudade (Portuguese), and stato (Italian) are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities.
Princeton University Press 2013
Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
This substantial and ambitious dictionary explores the languages and cultures of visual studies. It provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
Ashgate Publishing 2011
Divided by a Common Language: A Guide to British and American English
Discusses the many differences in pronunciation, spelling, and vocabulary between British and American English.
Houghton Mifflin 2007
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
Offers a comprehensive overview of research in the field.
Routledge 2011
How We Talk: American Regional English Today
A Talking Tour of American English, Region by Region.
Houghton Mifflin 2000
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction is an invaluable reference work featuring contributions from leading global scholars that successfully brings into a single source, explication of Language and Social Interaction work developing globally and across subjects.
Wiley 2015
Princeton University Press 2016
Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk
Hugh Rawson explains, in clear language, what it means when we talk of an unusual occurrence, a crew transfer container, or Montezuma's revenge. If you have ever been baffled by the expression culturally deprived, or want to know where the phrase deep-six comes from, then this book will certainly be of service.
Hugh Rawson 2002
Rawson's Wicked Words
"A light-hearted - and often non-PC - dictionary that details hundreds of insults, slurs, and other terms of abuse in English." - Frank Abate
Hugh Rawson 1989
Manser 2015
Word Histories and Mysteries
Provides a panoramic view of the unique richness of English, uncovering the origins of five hundred everyday words whose surprising and often amusing stories offer insights into the history of humankind.
Houghton Mifflin 2004
Word Origins
The origins of thousands of words in the English language explored and explained.
A&C Black 2006
Critical Terms for Literary Study
Exploring the concepts that shape the way we read, the essays combine to provide an extraordinary introduction to the work of literature and literary study. Each essay provides a concise history of a literary term, critically explores the issues and questions the term raises, and then puts theory into practice by showing the reading strategies the term permits.
The University of Chicago Press 1995
Wiley 2008
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols
Explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations.
Cambridge University Press 2007
Gale 1999
Routledge 2011
The Handy Literature Answer Book
The Handy Literature Answer Book: Understand and Enjoy Meanings, Symbolism, and Signs in Great Works is an engaging, easy-to-read look at literature basics such as themes, symbols, context, and other literary devices.
Visible Ink Press 2018
Routledge 2002
Key Terms in Literary Theory
Students of literature, film and cultural studies need to understand key theoretical terms and concepts but often find it hard to get to grips with exactly what they mean. This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography. It is designed for the student who needs to know what a particular term means, how it is used, and where it comes from, and enables them to apply the terms and concepts to their own investigations. The three part structure provides clear definitions of key terms and ideas, introductions to major figures including biographical and historical overviews and an annotated guide to important works. This invaluable resource provides readers with an easily accessible and comprehensive reference guide to literary and cultural theory.
Continuum 2012
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.
Princeton University Press 2012
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms--drawn from the latest edition of the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Provides an authoritative guide to the most important terms in the study of poetry and literature.
Princeton University Press 2016
Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase and Fable
Devoted exclusively to the history, culture, mythology and language of the island of Ireland, its 5000 A to Z entries include Celtic gods and goddesses, bards, beasts, literary allusions, proverbial sayings, idiomatic phrases and expressions, characters from Irish literature ancient and modern, resonant place-names, and individuals and events of 'iconic' stature in Irish history. A significant number of entries relate to contemporary Irish life and culture.
Chambers Harrap 2009
Cassell 2009
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
An authoritative and international survey of world literature in English. The Guide covers everything from Old English to Contemporary Writing from all over the english-speaking world. It covers poems, novels, literary journals and plays.
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
Presents a multiplicity of authors, texts and themes gathered together into one authoritative source. The key attractions are entries on writers, entries on individual works, Biblical and mythological characters and events, literary and critical terms and movements, and entries describing historical, cultural and social events.
Bloomsbury 1997
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
An A-Z reference with entries on writers, on individual texts, and on general terms, genres and movements. The earliest written documents in medieval English (the visionary writings of Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe) are covered in an historical - and geographical - sweep that takes us up to the present day.
Cambridge University Press 1999
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.
Chambers Harrap 2004
The Chronology of American Literature
An authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide, this book outlines the indispensable information in America's rich literary past - from major publications to lesser-known gems - while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline.
Houghton Mifflin 2004
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story
With lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States, this title offers readers a wealth of information and insight into the work of many of the finest short story writers in literary history.
Columbia University Press 2000
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works.
Routledge 2000
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.
Continuum 2005
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
Entries by more than 200 authorities covering all of British literature.
Continuum 2006
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Biographical-critical entries and topical articles all written by experts in the field of children's literature.
Continuum 2005
Critical Terms for Literary Study
Exploring the concepts that shape the way we read, the essays combine to provide an extraordinary introduction to the work of literature and literary study. Each essay provides a concise history of a literary term, critically explores the issues and questions the term raises, and then puts theory into practice by showing the reading strategies the term permits.
The University of Chicago Press 1995
A Dictionary of Postmodernism
A Dictionary of Postmodernism presents an authoritative source of the critical terms and central figures related to the origins and evolution of postmodernist theory and culture.
Wiley 2015
Dictionary of Shakespeare, Peter Collin Publishing
A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works. The dictionary also includes terms used in the theatre and stagecraft, as well as historical references and details on the Elizabethan historical and social period.
Peter Collin Publishing 2000
The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
Offers the student and scholar of literary and cultural studies the most comprehensive guide to the history and development of criticism in the humanities.
Edinburgh University Press 2002
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature, Second Edition covers the entire spectrum of the African-American literary tradition, from the 18th-century writings of pioneers such as Olaudah Equiano and Phillis Wheatley, to 20th-century canonic texts, to the finest of today's best-selling authors and rap artists.
Facts On File 2013
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
Grey House Publishing 2018
Encyclopedia of American Literature
Encyclopedia of American Literature, Third Edition is an extensive reference work that spans the entire scope of American literature, from the colonial period to the present.
Facts On File 2013
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
Contains entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.
Routledge 2001
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature, Second Edition features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more.
Facts On File 2014
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
A comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. This encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership.
Wiley 2011
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature, Second Edition offers a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages, from 500 to 1500 CE. Covering not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world.
Facts On File 2014
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Documents the history and development of post-colonial literature and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories.
Routledge 2005
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature
This A-to-Z encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance. Spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, this guide examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Coverage includes not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania.
Facts On File 2014
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century is especially valuable for its panoramic view of world literature, including excellent coverage of Third World literature not found in other sources. Through its previous editions and supplements, it has served as a classic international reference source for several decades.
Gale 1999
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines.
Edinburgh University Press 2008
A History of Feminist Literary Criticism
This book offers a comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field.
Cambridge University Press 2007
 
A History of South African Literature
A critical study of South African literature, from colonial and pre-colonial times onwards.
Cambridge University Press 2004
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
Featuring alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.
Routledge 2002
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature
Provides an overview of the main themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures.
Macmillan Publishers Ltd 2007
Key Terms in Literary Theory
Students of literature, film and cultural studies need to understand key theoretical terms and concepts but often find it hard to get to grips with exactly what they mean. This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography. It is designed for the student who needs to know what a particular term means, how it is used, and where it comes from, and enables them to apply the terms and concepts to their own investigations. The three part structure provides clear definitions of key terms and ideas, introductions to major figures including biographical and historical overviews and an annotated guide to important works. This invaluable resource provides readers with an easily accessible and comprehensive reference guide to literary and cultural theory.
Continuum 2012
Keywords for Children's Literature
The study of children’s literature and culture has been experiencing a renaissance, with vital new work proliferating across many areas of interest. Mapping this vibrant scholarship, Keywords for Children’s Literature presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.
New York University Press 2011
The Literature of Propaganda
Throughout history, literary works of all kinds have been used to spread propaganda and influence public opinion for or against one cause or another. The Literature of Propaganda examines these literary works and explores ways in which propaganda shapes public opinion, persuades its audience, and impacts society.
Gale 2013
The Literature of War
The Literature of War deals with a topic that goes beyond the literary perspective to provide the historical, cultural and social context of works that focus on armed conflict throughout the world and time. It highlights the realities of war, its impact on society, and how it affects our understanding of it.
Gale 2012
A New Literary History of America
A New Literary History of America contains essays on topics from the first conception of a New World in the sixteenth century to the latest re-envisioning of that world in cartoons, television, science fiction, and hip hop. Literature, music, film, art, history, science, philosophy, political rhetoriccultural creations of every kind appear in relation to each other, and to the time and place that give them shape. Also contains an introduction and index.
Harvard University Press 2009
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
Thousands of authoritative and accessible entries on every aspect of children's literature, covering authors, illustrators, works, characters, genres, and much more. From Mark Haddon to Harry Potter, Raymond Briggs to Maurice Sendak, and Douglas Adams to The Gruffalo.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2015
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
Covers writers, illustrators, works, characters, countries, and related topics such as film, television, art, the oral tradition, advertising, feminism, and much more.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2015
The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry
Hundreds of detailed entries provide coverage on modern poets writing in English.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2014
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.
Princeton University Press 2012
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms--drawn from the latest edition of the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Provides an authoritative guide to the most important terms in the study of poetry and literature.
Princeton University Press 2016
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the history and practice of poetry in major regional, national, and diasporic literatures and language traditions around the globe.
Princeton University Press 2016
Routledge Literature Companions: The Routledge Companion to World Literature
In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. The Routledge Companion to World Literature offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field.
Routledge 2013
Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context
Reviews current knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time, with an explanation of their origins. Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.
Continuum 2005
Useful Charles Dickens
Concise overview of Charles Dickens's life; Charles Dickens's and the English language; Charles Dickens's works; and synopses of Dickens's novels.
Manser 2015
Useful Jane Austen
Concise overview of Jane Austen's life, Jane Austen and the English language, Jane Austen's works; and synopses of Jane Austen's major novels.
Manser 2015
Useful William Shakespeare
Concise overview of Shakespeare's life; Shakespeare and the English language; Shakespeare's works; Shakespeare's works in summary; and Shakespearean terms.
Manser 2015
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
This work retells the world's major myths and legends, and gives a clear reference guide to who was who, where was where and what was what. In addition to A-Z entries of myths, motifs, locations and characters, there are generic essays and entries about the various traditions, organized by location. The essays discuss the kinds of myth each area has produced, and their relationship to local geography, culture and religions. The guide explores the major myth traditions of every continent, from the Americas and Middle East to Europe and Africa. The origins and historical significance of each legend are examined and recurring motifs are traced through the ages and around the world.
Bloomsbury 1996
Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable
With its unique blend of word and phrase etymology, cultural allusion and general knowledge, and its predilection for the esoteric and the unexpected, this title offers a richly diverse and entertaining exploration of the linguistic and cultural landscape of the modern world. It runs the whole gamut of contemporary culture, from American Psycho to Dadaism and G and T to Lara Croft.
Cassell 2009
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Covering everything from cryptozoology and the Yeti to witchcraft, earth mysteries, folklore, ghosts, human oddities, the occult, parapsychology, spiritualism, and UFOs, a comprehensive resource looks a wide range of unexplained phenomena in a volume containing objective, informative, and up-to-date entries.
Chambers Harrap 2007
Dictionary of Classical Mythology
Jenny March’s acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A -- Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Oxbow Books 2014
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions
This multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife is the first of its kind. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives.
Routledge 2013
Myths and Legends of the Celts
Covers the gods and goddesses of Celtic myth including the nature of Celtic religion, Celtic deities who were linked with animals and natural phenomena or who later became associated with local Christian saints, and the rich variety of Celtic myths.
Penguin 2005
Pocket Guides: Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection. The latest addition to the best-selling Pocket Guides series leads the modern viewer through this important aspect of Western art.
The National Gallery 2005
The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shape-Shifting Beings
Covering 140,000 years of legend, mythology, and fact, The Werewolf Book provides hair-raising evidence of strange and obsessional behavior through the centuries. Learn the basics of becoming a werewolf and the intricacies of slaying the beast.
Visible Ink Press 2011
Who's Who in Classical Mythology, Routledge
Contains extensive entries, including detailed entries on all the major gods and heroes, from Athena and Zeus to Achilles, Odysseus and Tarquin and biographical listings of all the key authors, such as Homer.
Routledge 2002
Divided by a Common Language: A Guide to British and American English
Discusses the many differences in pronunciation, spelling, and vocabulary between British and American English.
Houghton Mifflin 2007
Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms
Explores not only autobiography and biography proper, but also letters, diaries, memoirs, family histories, case histories, and other ways in which individual lives have been recorded and structured. It includes entries on genres and subgenres, national and regional traditions from around the world, and important auto-biographical writers, as well as articles on related areas such as oral history, anthropology, testimonies, and the representation of life stories in non-verbal art forms.
Routledge 2001
Gale 1999
Good Word Guide
This fully updated edition of the bestselling Good Word Guide offers information and advice on spelling, grammar, punctuation, pronunciation, confusables and the latest buzzwords, and provides clear, straightforward answers to everyday language problems.
Bloomsbury 2011
The Handy English Grammar Answer Book
The Handy English Grammar Answer Book offers fundamental principles, grammar rules, punctuation advice, insights on writing, and writing examples for everyone and every occasion. From a brief history of the English language to the deconstruction and explanation of the different parts of a sentence, and from showing how to punctuate correctly to how to organize a well-argued essay, this easy-to-use reference answers nearly 500 questions and offers fun facts on the English language and its usage.
Visible Ink Press 2015
How We Talk: American Regional English Today
A Talking Tour of American English, Region by Region.
Houghton Mifflin 2000
The Penguin Rhyming Dictionary
Anyone who writes verse, whether lyric poet, songwriter or composer of limericks or jingles, will find this an indispensable reference companion. It offers an astonishingly wide range of suggestions for rhyming words, from the common and everyday to the more difficult and obscure.
Penguin 1985
Rawson's Dictionary of Euphemisms and Other Doubletalk
Hugh Rawson explains, in clear language, what it means when we talk of an unusual occurrence, a crew transfer container, or Montezuma's revenge. If you have ever been baffled by the expression culturally deprived, or want to know where the phrase deep-six comes from, then this book will certainly be of service.
Hugh Rawson 2002
Rawson's Wicked Words
"A light-hearted - and often non-PC - dictionary that details hundreds of insults, slurs, and other terms of abuse in English." - Frank Abate
Hugh Rawson 1989
Manser 2015
Word Histories and Mysteries
Provides a panoramic view of the unique richness of English, uncovering the origins of five hundred everyday words whose surprising and often amusing stories offer insights into the history of humankind.
Houghton Mifflin 2004
Word Origins
The origins of thousands of words in the English language explored and explained.
A&C Black 2006
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
Contains entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.
Routledge 2001
The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry
Hundreds of detailed entries provide coverage on modern poets writing in English.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2014
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.
Princeton University Press 2012
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms--drawn from the latest edition of the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Provides an authoritative guide to the most important terms in the study of poetry and literature.
Princeton University Press 2016
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the history and practice of poetry in major regional, national, and diasporic literatures and language traditions around the globe.
Princeton University Press 2016
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Biographical-critical entries and topical articles all written by experts in the field of children's literature.
Continuum 2005
Keywords for Children's Literature
The study of children’s literature and culture has been experiencing a renaissance, with vital new work proliferating across many areas of interest. Mapping this vibrant scholarship, Keywords for Children’s Literature presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.
New York University Press 2011
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
Thousands of authoritative and accessible entries on every aspect of children's literature, covering authors, illustrators, works, characters, genres, and much more. From Mark Haddon to Harry Potter, Raymond Briggs to Maurice Sendak, and Douglas Adams to The Gruffalo.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2015
Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase and Fable
Devoted exclusively to the history, culture, mythology and language of the island of Ireland, its 5000 A to Z entries include Celtic gods and goddesses, bards, beasts, literary allusions, proverbial sayings, idiomatic phrases and expressions, characters from Irish literature ancient and modern, resonant place-names, and individuals and events of 'iconic' stature in Irish history. A significant number of entries relate to contemporary Irish life and culture.
Chambers Harrap 2009
Cassell 2009
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature, Second Edition features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more.
Facts On File 2014
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
Covers writers, illustrators, works, characters, countries, and related topics such as film, television, art, the oral tradition, advertising, feminism, and much more.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2015
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
This work retells the world's major myths and legends, and gives a clear reference guide to who was who, where was where and what was what. In addition to A-Z entries of myths, motifs, locations and characters, there are generic essays and entries about the various traditions, organized by location. The essays discuss the kinds of myth each area has produced, and their relationship to local geography, culture and religions. The guide explores the major myth traditions of every continent, from the Americas and Middle East to Europe and Africa. The origins and historical significance of each legend are examined and recurring motifs are traced through the ages and around the world.
Bloomsbury 1996
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Covering everything from cryptozoology and the Yeti to witchcraft, earth mysteries, folklore, ghosts, human oddities, the occult, parapsychology, spiritualism, and UFOs, a comprehensive resource looks a wide range of unexplained phenomena in a volume containing objective, informative, and up-to-date entries.
Chambers Harrap 2007
Dictionary of Classical Mythology
Jenny March’s acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A -- Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Oxbow Books 2014
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions
This multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife is the first of its kind. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives.
Routledge 2013
Myths and Legends of the Celts
Covers the gods and goddesses of Celtic myth including the nature of Celtic religion, Celtic deities who were linked with animals and natural phenomena or who later became associated with local Christian saints, and the rich variety of Celtic myths.
Penguin 2005
Pocket Guides: Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection. The latest addition to the best-selling Pocket Guides series leads the modern viewer through this important aspect of Western art.
The National Gallery 2005
The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shape-Shifting Beings
Covering 140,000 years of legend, mythology, and fact, The Werewolf Book provides hair-raising evidence of strange and obsessional behavior through the centuries. Learn the basics of becoming a werewolf and the intricacies of slaying the beast.
Visible Ink Press 2011
Who's Who in Classical Mythology, Routledge
Contains extensive entries, including detailed entries on all the major gods and heroes, from Athena and Zeus to Achilles, Odysseus and Tarquin and biographical listings of all the key authors, such as Homer.
Routledge 2002
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of the Language Sciences
The volume is aimed at readers who have an interest in some aspect of language science but wish to learn more about the broad range of ideas, findings, practices, and prospects that constitute this rapidly expanding field, a field arguably at the center of current research on the human mind and human society.
Cambridge University Press 2011
Cambridge Introductions to Philosophy: An Introduction to the Philosophy of Language
In this textbook, Michael Morris offers a critical introduction to the central issues of the philosophy of language.
Cambridge University Press 2007
Dictionary of Foreign Phrases and Abbreviations, H.W. Wilson
Lists in one alphabetical sequence foreign phrases, proverbs, maxims and abbreviations frequently used in written and spoken English.
The H.W. Wilson Company 1990
Dictionary of Languages
The essential guide to the languages of the world, comprehensively detailing languages in a clear A-Z style.
A&C Black 2004
Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics
David Crystal's A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics has long been the standard single-volume reference for its field. Now available in its sixth edition, it has been revised and updated to reflect the latest terms in the field.
Wiley 2008
Dictionary of Untranslatables
This is an encyclopedic dictionary of close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, terms such as Dasein (German), pravda (Russian), saudade (Portuguese), and stato (Italian) are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities.
Princeton University Press 2013
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts
Offers a comprehensive overview of research in the field.
Routledge 2011
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction
The International Encyclopedia of Language and Social Interaction is an invaluable reference work featuring contributions from leading global scholars that successfully brings into a single source, explication of Language and Social Interaction work developing globally and across subjects.
Wiley 2015
Key Ideas in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language
Offers introductory entries on ideas that have shaped the study of language up to the present day.
Edinburgh University Press 2009
Continuum 2012
Key Thinkers in Linguistics and the Philosophy of Language
A unique and accessible reference guide to the work of figures who have played an important role in the development of ideas about language
Edinburgh University Press 2005

E-Books

Brewer's Dictionary of Irish Phrase and Fable
Devoted exclusively to the history, culture, mythology and language of the island of Ireland, its 5000 A to Z entries include Celtic gods and goddesses, bards, beasts, literary allusions, proverbial sayings, idiomatic phrases and expressions, characters from Irish literature ancient and modern, resonant place-names, and individuals and events of 'iconic' stature in Irish history. A significant number of entries relate to contemporary Irish life and culture.
Chambers Harrap 2009
Cassell 2009
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
An authoritative and international survey of world literature in English. The Guide covers everything from Old English to Contemporary Writing from all over the english-speaking world. It covers poems, novels, literary journals and plays.
The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
Presents a multiplicity of authors, texts and themes gathered together into one authoritative source. The key attractions are entries on writers, entries on individual works, Biblical and mythological characters and events, literary and critical terms and movements, and entries describing historical, cultural and social events.
Bloomsbury 1997
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
An A-Z reference with entries on writers, on individual texts, and on general terms, genres and movements. The earliest written documents in medieval English (the visionary writings of Julian of Norwich and Margery Kempe) are covered in an historical - and geographical - sweep that takes us up to the present day.
Cambridge University Press 1999
Chambers Dictionary of Literary Characters
Provides an invaluable guide to the wealth of characters created by writers in English.
Chambers Harrap 2004
The Chronology of American Literature
An authoritative reference and an ideal browser's guide, this book outlines the indispensable information in America's rich literary past - from major publications to lesser-known gems - while also identifying larger trends along the literary timeline.
Houghton Mifflin 2004
The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story
With lucid essays on major writers and themes by some of the best literary scholars in the United States, this title offers readers a wealth of information and insight into the work of many of the finest short story writers in literary history.
Columbia University Press 2000
Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature
Contains topic-based essays, geo-historical surveys of individual countries, critical biographies on individual writers, and critical summaries of representative works.
Routledge 2000
Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
Composed of signed biographical-critical entries, this Encyclopedia serves as both guide and companion to the study and appreciation of American literature.
Continuum 2005
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
Entries by more than 200 authorities covering all of British literature.
Continuum 2006
Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Biographical-critical entries and topical articles all written by experts in the field of children's literature.
Continuum 2005
Critical Terms for Literary Study
Exploring the concepts that shape the way we read, the essays combine to provide an extraordinary introduction to the work of literature and literary study. Each essay provides a concise history of a literary term, critically explores the issues and questions the term raises, and then puts theory into practice by showing the reading strategies the term permits.
The University of Chicago Press 1995
A Dictionary of Postmodernism
A Dictionary of Postmodernism presents an authoritative source of the critical terms and central figures related to the origins and evolution of postmodernist theory and culture.
Wiley 2015
Dictionary of Shakespeare, Peter Collin Publishing
A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works. The dictionary also includes terms used in the theatre and stagecraft, as well as historical references and details on the Elizabethan historical and social period.
Peter Collin Publishing 2000
The Edinburgh Encyclopaedia of Modern Criticism and Theory
Offers the student and scholar of literary and cultural studies the most comprehensive guide to the history and development of criticism in the humanities.
Edinburgh University Press 2002
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature
Encyclopedia of African-American Literature, Second Edition covers the entire spectrum of the African-American literary tradition, from the 18th-century writings of pioneers such as Olaudah Equiano and Phillis Wheatley, to 20th-century canonic texts, to the finest of today's best-selling authors and rap artists.
Facts On File 2013
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
Grey House Publishing 2018
Encyclopedia of American Literature
Encyclopedia of American Literature, Third Edition is an extensive reference work that spans the entire scope of American literature, from the colonial period to the present.
Facts On File 2013
Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Twentieth Century
Contains entries that treat a broad range of individual poets and poems, along with many articles devoted to topics, schools, or periods of American verse in the century.
Routledge 2001
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature, Second Edition features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more.
Facts On File 2014
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory
A comprehensive encyclopedia of literary and cultural theory. Covers Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory. This encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations of complex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries of the work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informative reference work for a multi-disciplinary readership.
Wiley 2011
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature, Second Edition offers a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages, from 500 to 1500 CE. Covering not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world.
Facts On File 2014
Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English
Documents the history and development of post-colonial literature and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories.
Routledge 2005
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature
This A-to-Z encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance. Spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, this guide examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Coverage includes not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania.
Facts On File 2014
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century is especially valuable for its panoramic view of world literature, including excellent coverage of Third World literature not found in other sources. Through its previous editions and supplements, it has served as a classic international reference source for several decades.
Gale 1999
A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires
Provides an integrated and authoritative body of information about the political, cultural and economic contexts of postcolonial literatures that have their provenance in the major European Empires of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain as well as places like Latin America and the Philippines.
Edinburgh University Press 2008
A History of Feminist Literary Criticism
This book offers a comprehensive guide to the history and development of feminist literary criticism and a lively reassessment of the main issues and authors in the field.
Cambridge University Press 2007
 
A History of South African Literature
A critical study of South African literature, from colonial and pre-colonial times onwards.
Cambridge University Press 2004
Holocaust Literature: An Encyclopedia of Writers and Their Work
Featuring alphabetically organized bio-critical essays on writers of memoirs, novels, poetry, short stories, and drama, ranging in length from 1,500 to 7,000 words, this comprehensive scholarly work presents a broad spectrum of voices remembering, interpreting, and reinterpreting one of the twentieth century's most politically and emotionally charged events.
Routledge 2002
Key Concepts in Postcolonial Literature
Provides an overview of the main themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures.
Macmillan Publishers Ltd 2007
Key Terms in Literary Theory
Students of literature, film and cultural studies need to understand key theoretical terms and concepts but often find it hard to get to grips with exactly what they mean. This book provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography. It is designed for the student who needs to know what a particular term means, how it is used, and where it comes from, and enables them to apply the terms and concepts to their own investigations. The three part structure provides clear definitions of key terms and ideas, introductions to major figures including biographical and historical overviews and an annotated guide to important works. This invaluable resource provides readers with an easily accessible and comprehensive reference guide to literary and cultural theory.
Continuum 2012
Keywords for Children's Literature
The study of children’s literature and culture has been experiencing a renaissance, with vital new work proliferating across many areas of interest. Mapping this vibrant scholarship, Keywords for Children’s Literature presents original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature.
New York University Press 2011
The Literature of Propaganda
Throughout history, literary works of all kinds have been used to spread propaganda and influence public opinion for or against one cause or another. The Literature of Propaganda examines these literary works and explores ways in which propaganda shapes public opinion, persuades its audience, and impacts society.
Gale 2013
The Literature of War
The Literature of War deals with a topic that goes beyond the literary perspective to provide the historical, cultural and social context of works that focus on armed conflict throughout the world and time. It highlights the realities of war, its impact on society, and how it affects our understanding of it.
Gale 2012
A New Literary History of America
A New Literary History of America contains essays on topics from the first conception of a New World in the sixteenth century to the latest re-envisioning of that world in cartoons, television, science fiction, and hip hop. Literature, music, film, art, history, science, philosophy, political rhetoriccultural creations of every kind appear in relation to each other, and to the time and place that give them shape. Also contains an introduction and index.
Harvard University Press 2009
The Oxford Companion to Children's Literature
Thousands of authoritative and accessible entries on every aspect of children's literature, covering authors, illustrators, works, characters, genres, and much more. From Mark Haddon to Harry Potter, Raymond Briggs to Maurice Sendak, and Douglas Adams to The Gruffalo.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2015
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales
Covers writers, illustrators, works, characters, countries, and related topics such as film, television, art, the oral tradition, advertising, feminism, and much more.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2015
The Oxford Companion to Modern Poetry
Hundreds of detailed entries provide coverage on modern poets writing in English.
Oxford University Press, Inc. 2014
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. Prepared by recognized authorities, its articles treat their topics in sufficient depth and with enough lucidity to satisfy the scholar and the general reader alike.
Princeton University Press 2012
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms
The Princeton Handbook of Poetic Terms--drawn from the latest edition of the acclaimed Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics. Provides an authoritative guide to the most important terms in the study of poetry and literature.
Princeton University Press 2016
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the history and practice of poetry in major regional, national, and diasporic literatures and language traditions around the globe.
Princeton University Press 2016
Routledge Literature Companions: The Routledge Companion to World Literature
In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. The Routledge Companion to World Literature offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field.
Routledge 2013
Shakespeare's Theatre: A Dictionary of His Stage Context
Reviews current knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time, with an explanation of their origins. Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.
Continuum 2005
Useful Charles Dickens
Concise overview of Charles Dickens's life; Charles Dickens's and the English language; Charles Dickens's works; and synopses of Dickens's novels.
Manser 2015
Useful Jane Austen
Concise overview of Jane Austen's life, Jane Austen and the English language, Jane Austen's works; and synopses of Jane Austen's major novels.
Manser 2015
Useful William Shakespeare
Concise overview of Shakespeare's life; Shakespeare and the English language; Shakespeare's works; Shakespeare's works in summary; and Shakespearean terms.
Manser 2015
Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
This work retells the world's major myths and legends, and gives a clear reference guide to who was who, where was where and what was what. In addition to A-Z entries of myths, motifs, locations and characters, there are generic essays and entries about the various traditions, organized by location. The essays discuss the kinds of myth each area has produced, and their relationship to local geography, culture and religions. The guide explores the major myth traditions of every continent, from the Americas and Middle East to Europe and Africa. The origins and historical significance of each legend are examined and recurring motifs are traced through the ages and around the world.
Bloomsbury 1996
Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable
With its unique blend of word and phrase etymology, cultural allusion and general knowledge, and its predilection for the esoteric and the unexpected, this title offers a richly diverse and entertaining exploration of the linguistic and cultural landscape of the modern world. It runs the whole gamut of contemporary culture, from American Psycho to Dadaism and G and T to Lara Croft.
Cassell 2009
Chambers Dictionary of the Unexplained
Covering everything from cryptozoology and the Yeti to witchcraft, earth mysteries, folklore, ghosts, human oddities, the occult, parapsychology, spiritualism, and UFOs, a comprehensive resource looks a wide range of unexplained phenomena in a volume containing objective, informative, and up-to-date entries.
Chambers Harrap 2007
Dictionary of Classical Mythology
Jenny March’s acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A -- Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Oxbow Books 2014
Encyclopedia of Jewish Folklore and Traditions
This multicultural reference work on Jewish folklore, legends, customs, and other elements of folklife is the first of its kind. The diverse range of articles covers specific artifacts, rituals, ceremonies, biblical figures, and legends-in addition to broad topics such as humor, folk dance, costumes, and folk narratives.
Routledge 2013
Myths and Legends of the Celts
Covers the gods and goddesses of Celtic myth including the nature of Celtic religion, Celtic deities who were linked with animals and natural phenomena or who later became associated with local Christian saints, and the rich variety of Celtic myths.
Penguin 2005
Pocket Guides: Myths & Legends
Myths and legends, with their fantastical settings and parade of exotic creatures and beautiful immortals, have inspired some of the most popular works in the National Gallery Collection. The latest addition to the best-selling Pocket Guides series leads the modern viewer through this important aspect of Western art.
The National Gallery 2005
The Werewolf Book: The Encyclopedia of Shape-Shifting Beings
Covering 140,000 years of legend, mythology, and fact, The Werewolf Book provides hair-raising evidence of strange and obsessional behavior through the centuries. Learn the basics of becoming a werewolf and the intricacies of slaying the beast.
Visible Ink Press 2011
Who's Who in Classical Mythology, Routledge
Contains extensive entries, including detailed entries on all the major gods and heroes, from Athena and Zeus to Achilles, Odysseus and Tarquin and biographical listings of all the key authors, such as Homer.
Routledge 2002