English, Literature, & Writing: French Literature & Thought

Revised and updated to offer extensive and relevant coverage of today's English and French, with thousands of phrases and examples guiding the user to the most appropriate translation.

Includes close to 400 important philosophical, literary, and political terms and concepts that defy easy--or any--translation from one language and culture to another. Drawn from more than a dozen languages, terms such as Dasein (German), pravda (Russian), saudade (Portuguese), and stato (Italian) are thoroughly examined in all their cross-linguistic and cross-cultural complexities.

A unique and comprehensive historical guide to the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present. Covers myriad discrete ethnic and cultural groupings that have inhabited our planet over the past 6000 years: from the Assyrians of the ancient Middle East to the modern-day Armenians, from the Belgae of ancient Europe to the modern-day Basques.

International and historical coverage of all areas of human achievement including the arts, science, technology, sport, politics, philosophy and business.

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

Long considered the standard reference source for information on holidays and other events, this 6th edition includes more than 3,500 holidays, festivals, commemorations, holy days, feasts and fasts, and other observances from all parts of the world. A key resource for anyone seeking information on different cultures, countries, and ethnic groups.

In analytical articles, this work explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

Essential reading for those who need to understand the great sweeps of contemporary history.

This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields.

From the classic thinkers, through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant and hundreds more who lead up to the modern age, this comprehensive dictionary spans the personalities, terminology and vocabulary of thousands of years of philosophical thought in addition to the more recent encroachment of social and psychological sciences.

Presents an authoritative source of the critical terms and central figures related to the origins and evolution of postmodernist theory and culture.

Collects, categorises and intersects literary, aesthetic, political and cultural terms that in one way or another came into being through the debates, conflicts, co-operations, experiments- individual and collective - that characterised modernism. In concise entries from international experts, it presents the terms, categories, concepts, tropes, movements, forged through the modernist upheavals (at once aesthetic and political), highlighting their genealogy, their modernist newness, and their historical longevity.

An important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.

Provides an overview of the main themes, issues, and critical perspectives that have had the greatest effect on postcolonial literatures.

Provides precise definitions of terms and concepts in literary theory, along with explanations of the major movements and figures in literary and cultural theory and an extensive bibliography.

French content in this title
The Princeton Handbook of World Poetries provides a comprehensive and authoritative survey of the history and practice of poetry in major regional, national, and diasporic literatures and language traditions around the globe.

In the age of globalization, the category of "World Literature" is increasingly important to academic teaching and research. This text offers a comprehensive pathway into this burgeoning and popular field.