English, Literature, & Writing: Websites

DocSouth contains texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs. Site sponsored by the University Library of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

A multimedia database of primary source material (manuscripts of poems, letters, diaries, etc) plus contextual information (images, audio and film material from the Imperial War Museum) is browsable and searchable, and freely available. Among the 7,000 digital images are drafts of Robert Graves's poems for Over the Brazier and Fairies and Fusiliers, drafts of Edward Thomas's war poems and diary, correspondence between Vera Brittain and Roland Leighton, the poetry drafts and letters of Isaac Rosenberg, plus the war poetry manuscripts of Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon. Through the digitised contemporay artefacts from the Imperial War Museum, the archive widens its remit to include archival resources focusing on the role that women played during the war, imperial troops, and and writing from the Home Front.

Contains texts, images, bibliographies, and basic information about the Robin Hood stories and other outlaw tales. The project is sponsored by the University of Rochester and prepared in The Rossell Hope Robbins Library, a medieval studies library located within Rush Rhees Library.

A digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. A cross-Atlantic collaboration has also produced an interactive interface for the detailed study of these geographically distant quartos, with full functionality for all thirty-two quarto copies of Hamlet held by participating institutions.

Includes primary and secondary texts (including scholarly book reviews) in British Victorian economics, literature, philosophy, political and social history, science, technology, and visual arts (painting, architecture, sculpture, book design and illustration, photography, decorative arts, including ceramics, furniture, jewelry, metalwork, stained glass, textiles, and costume. Movements covered include Art Nouveau, Japonisme, and Arts and Crafts.

Contains digital editions of Cather texts and scholarship free to the public as well as creating a large amount of unique, born-digital scholarly content.