Murrell Library Research Guides: Math, Statistics, &amp; Research Methods: Statistical Methods Websites

Khan Academy
Video tutorials on mathematics, statistics, geometry, precalculus and more. Each video is about 10 minutes in length. Content is aligned to K-12 educational standards.
Math Tutor
Mathtutor is a British website created by mathematicians and teachers to help students get ready for college. Video tutorials, with diagnostics, summary text and exercises, take you through more than eighty topics.

Algebra Calculator Algebra Calculator is a calculator that gives step-by-step help on algebra problems.
GeoGebra offers a free online apps bundle wtih graphing, geometry, algebra, 3D, statistics, probability.
Good Calculators Good Calculators offers a collection of free online calculators for personal and business use. These calculators have been programmed to work on smart phones, tablets, and computers.
Math Portal Provides lessons on learning algebra, calculus, analytic geometry, and linear algebra; more than 500 formulas, online calculators; and 46 tests with 503 questions in 16 categories.
MathHelp.com MathHelp.com provides a complete online College Algebra course. Unlike a traditional math classroom, we offer the one-on-one learning experience that every student needs to conquer College Algebra.
MathWorld Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics (MathWorldTM) is an interactive mathematics encyclopedia intended for students, educators, math enthusiasts, and researchers.
Sloane's On-line Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences Online database of over 220,000 sequences. Each entry contains the leading terms of the sequence, keywords, mathematical motivations, literature links, and more, including the option to generate a graph or play a musical representation of the sequence.
The Math Forum The leading online resource for improving math learning, teaching, and communication since 1992, offering a wealth of problems and puzzles, online mentoring, research, team problem solving, collaborations, and professional development.
Wolfram Alpha Wolfram Alpha is a set of data and algorithms used for answering questions in a variety of subject domains. The aim of this product is to enable users to quickly engage in data computation and information visualization.

Introduction to Probability Theory
Material from a class created by the Department of Statistics at Pennsylvania State University’s Eberly College of Science (STAT 414).

American Statistical Association
The American Statistical Association is the world’s largest community of statisticians, the “Big Tent for Statistics.” It is the second-oldest, continuously operating professional association in the country. Since it was founded in Boston in 1839, the ASA has supported excellence in the development, application, and dissemination of statistical science through meetings, publications, membership services, education, accreditation, and advocacy.
Data Mining Companies and Organization
This table lists data mining companies and organizations whose details have been checked.
Data Science Association
Our mission is to promote data science to improve life, business and government. Our guiding principles set the aspirations that we endeavor to achieve:
•Setting standards for the ethical professional practice of data science.
•Assuring base-level data scientist competency.
•Advancing data science to serve core values of the scientific method and noblesse oblige.
•Helping to shape a better future - not just for the powerful, but for the majority of people.
Digital Analytics Association
We reaffirm our dedication to taking a more visible leadership role in supporting the industry by responding to and advocating for the needs of the larger analytics community as it evolves. This reflects our commitment to continually evolve as an organization. The association is dedicated to growing along with the industry to reflect the needs of our members. We are sharpening the focus of the Digital Analytics Association’s activities based on the needs of our unique business community. We are improving pre-existing programs and adding new ones that cater to multi-channel data analytics.
International Institute of Business Analysis
IIBA® is the non-profit professional association dedicated to the field of business analysis. Through a global network, IIBA connects over 29,000+ Members and more than 300 Corporate Members and 120 Chapters. As the voice of the business analysis community, IIBA supports the recognition of the profession and discipline and works to maintain the global standard for the practices and certification.
Organizations of interest to the Business Analyst and Systems Analyst
This is a list of non-profit associations and organizations of interest to the professional business analyst and systems analyst and other IT professionals involved in business analysis or systems analysis. The list contains several organizations that may be of interest along with links to their websites.
Societies and Groups for Analytics, Data Mining, Data Science, and Knowledge Discovery
This is another listing of links to association and organization websites that may be of interest to the business analytics community.
Society of Actuaries
Predictive models have emerged to help guide businesses. Actuaries serve an important role with predictive analytics by using modeling and data analysis techniques on large data sets to discover predictive patterns and relationships for business use. The actuarial profession has been actively advancing the use of predictive analytics methods in its work. Actuaries have been fast to collect and transform big data into useful information to glean future tendencies and patterns.

Khan Academy (Mathematics & Statistics)
Provides short videos in all areas of mathematics, statistics, and math education.
Simply Psychology
Created by Saul McLeod, a professor at the United Kingdom’s University of Manchester Division of Neuroscience & Experimental Psychology. Available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.
Statistics How To: Statistics for the Rest of us!
Created by Stephanie Glen, a mathematics instructor Jacksonville University and Florida State College at Jacksonville. Contains both reading materials and videos.

Although it is named "SPSS Tutorials," there is a great deal of information about how statistical tests work that goes beyond SPSS. Created by Kent State University Statistical Consultations.
Section 1: Intro to the SPSS Environment:

Navigate the SPSS interface using the drop-down menus or syntax.
Create a new dataset or import data from a file.

Section 2: Working with Data covers data manipulation and cleaning of all kinds.

Create, modify, or compute new variables.
Manipulate a dataset by splitting, merging, or transposing techniques.

Section 3: Exploring the Data.

Generate descriptive statistics for numeric variables.
Create frequency tables and crosstabulations of categorical variables.
Graph the distributions or relationships of variables.
Interpret these measures.

Section 4: Analyzing the Data. This section incorporates hypothesis testing.

Associations (Chi-Square, Pearson's Correlation).
Comparing means (One Sample t Test, Independent Samples t Test, Paired Samples t Test, One-Way ANOVA).
Predictive models (Multiple Regression, Logistic Regression, Ordinal Regression).

Statistics With Naomi Lowe
A 12-part series of lectures by Professor Naomi Lowe on statistical methods.
--------------------------------
Integral Calc: Probability & Statistics
A video series covering the basics of probability and statistics.
--------------------------------

Websites

Data vs. Statistics

Data is the raw ingredient(s) from which statistics are created. Statistics are useful when you just need a few numbers to support an argument (ex. In 2003, 98.2% of American households had a television set--from Statistical Abstract of the United States). Statistics are usually presented in tables. Statistical analysis can be performed on data to show relationships among the variables collected. Through secondary data analysis, many different researchers can re-use the same data set for different purposes.

Aggregate/Macro Data vs. Microdata

Aggregate or Macro Data are higher-level data that have been compiled from smaller units of data. For example, the Census data that you find on Explore Census Data have been aggregated to preserve the confidentiality of individual respondents. Microdata contain individual cases, usually individual people, or in the case of Census data, individual households. The Integrated Public Use Microdata Sample (IPUMS) for the Census provides access to the actual survey data from the Census, but eliminates information that would identify individuals.

Data Sets, Studies, and Series

In data archives, a data set or study is made up of the raw data file and any related files, usually the codebook and setup files. The codebook is your guide to making sense of the raw data. For survey data, the codebook usually contains the actual questionnaire and the values for the responses to each question. The setup files help will not display properly.

Types of Data

Cross-Sectional describes data that are only collected once.

Time Series study the same variable over time. The National Health Interview Survey is an example of time series data because the questions generally remain the same over time, but the individual respondents vary.

Longitudinal Studies describe surveys that are conducted repeatedly, in which the same group of respondents are surveyed each time. This allows for examining changes over the life course. The Project on Human Development in Chicago Neighborhoods (PHDCN) Series contains a longitudinal component that tracks changes in the lives of individuals over time through interviews.

(Originally from Sue Erickson at Vanderbilt University)

6 Basic Statistical Tools
From the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations.
Basic statistical tools in research and data analysis
Zulfiqar Ali and S. Bala Bhaskar. An article from the Indian Journal of Anesthesiology, 60(9), September 2016. Available free from PubMed Central.
Epidemiolog.net
Epidemiology learning materials and resources for public health. The site has on-line and downloadable free statistical calculators (with documentation) for epidemiology, plus links to free statistics and epidemiology related software.
The File Drawer Problem
Coined by Robert Rosenthal in 1979, the "file drawer problem" refers to the bias introduced into the scientific literature by selective publication--chiefly by a tendency to publish only positive results but not negative or nonconfirmatory results.
First Internet Gallery of Statistical Jokes
Dr. Gary C. Ramseyer.
Free Graph Paper Template
Download printable graph paper or a free Graph Paper Template for Microsoft Excel.
Free Statistical Tools on the Web
International Consortium for the Advancement of Academic Publication
FiveThirtyEight.com
A website from statistician and data journalist Nate Silver that focuses on opinion polls, politics, economics, and sports. Originally founded to deal with electoral politics (538 is the number of electoral votes in the U.S. Electoral College), the site has expanded to encompass many topics involving the use of statistics and data.
Graphing Calculator Help
Help using TI-82, TI-83, TI-85, TI-86, TI-89, TI-92, HP 48G, CFX-9850 GaPlus, Sharp EL 9600C, and Casio FX2.
Karl Wuensch's Statistical Resources Links
Links and study materials from a psychology professor at East Carolina University.
Normal Distribution
Learn how to work with the Normal Distribution.
OECD Glossary of Statistical Terms
Proceeding and Reports from the Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology
Proceedings are from FCSM research conferences, policy seminars, and workshops. Reports include Statistical Policy Working Papers, Agency Methodology Reports, and Interagency Reports
Research Randomizer
Social Psychology Network.
Resources for Methods in Evaluation & Social Research
International Consortium for the Advancement of Academic Publication.
Stanford Statistics Technical Reports
Technical reports from Stanford on a wide variety of topics in statistical methodology.
Statistics Glossary
Created by Valarie J. Easton & John H. McColl. The site contains methodology definitions, including: Basic Definitions | Presenting Data | Sampling | Probability | Random Variables & Probability Distributions | Confidence Intervals | Hypothesis Testing | Paired Data, Correlation & Regression | Design of Experiments & ANOVA | Categorical Data | Nonparametric Methods | Time Series Data.

Getting Started with SPSS for Windows
Tutorial by Indiana University that cover the SPSS interface, data preparation, and SPSS output. The tutorial also covers descriptive statistics and OLS.
SPSS Official Manuals
The official manuals for version are free to the public online from SPSS website.
SPSS Syntax
Many users choose SPSS for its user-friendly interface, however, don't satisfy yourself with it. The Syntax will provide great productivity, and this website will offer effectiveness in learning SPSS Syntax.
SPSS Tutorial
The tutorial is prepared by Academic Technology Services in UCLA. It has a Starter Kit for beginners, and also topics for a range of data analysis models.

R is a language and environment for statistical computing and graphics which provides a wide variety of statistical techniques, including linear and nonlinear modeling, classical statistical tests, time-series analysis, classification, clustering, etc. The program uses graphical techniques, and is highly extensible. R is similar to the S language and environment developed at Bell Laboratories (now Lucent Technologies), and most S code also runs in R.

R is available as Free Software under the terms of the Free Software Foundation’s GNU General Public License in source code form. It compiles and runs on a wide variety of platforms, including Window,s MacOS, UNIX, FreeBSD, and Linux.

English-language links on R from the Universitat De Barcelona.
R materials available on the web
Quck-R
R Project for Statistical Computing
R-Statistics.co
An educational resource for machine learning and statistical computing in R. The site contains articles and examples in R code, where the goal is to make #rstats concepts as clear and simple as possible.

Tutorials - Paired Sample T Test

Tutorials - One Sample T Test

Tutorials from Universities

Tutorials - Independent Samples T-Test

Tutorials - One-Way ANOVA

Tutorials - More One-Way ANOVA

Tutorials - Chi Square