Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers. Use the library's online catalog to find books and eBooks.
The library catalog for MVC and 8 other academic libraries.
A catalog of 78 libraries in 5 states, including MVC. You can request items we don't own to be sent to Murrell Library.
Prospector Library Catalog
Prospector is a unified catalog of academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. You can borrow items we don't own and have them delivered to Murrell Library.
Annals of the Institute of Statistical Mathematics
03/01/2008 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete. Aims to advance the field of statistics and focuses on findings that have the potential to significantly enhance the practice of statistics.
Australian & New Zealand journal of statistics
03/01/1998 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete. Publishes papers demonstrating applications of statistical techniques to problems faced by users of statistics in the sciences, government and industry.
03/01/2003 to 1 year ago in MEDLINE with Full Text. Coverage of the role of statistics and mathematics in the biological sciences.
British journal of mathematical & statistical psychology
05/01/1998 to 05/31/2006 in Psychology Database
; 05/01/2001 to 1 year ago in MEDLINE with Full Text
. n: Contains papers on all aspects of quantitative psychology, including mathematical psychology, statistics, psychometrics, decision making, psychophysics and relevant areas of mathematics, computing and computer software.
Canadian journal of statistics
03/01/2010 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete. Provides an international forum for the discipline of Statistics.
Chilean journal of statistics
04/01/2011 to Present in Academic Search Complete. Covers a broad range of topics in statistics, including research, survey and teaching articles, reviews and material for statistical discussion.
International statistical review
04/01/2007 to 1 year ago in Academic Search Complete. Covers a broad range of topics in statistics, including research, survey and teaching articles, reviews and material for statistical discussion.
Journal of applied statistics
05/01/1994 to 18 months ago in Business Source Premier. Methodological innovations, evaluations of techniques, case studies, speculative articles, and reviews which provide a forum for communication between applied statisticians and users of applied statistical techniques across a wide range of disciplines.
Journal of Economic & Social Measurement
04/01/1985 to 9 months ago in Business Source Premier. Original articles and commentary investigating all aspects of production, distribution and the use of statistical data. Includes information about methods, design, and implementation of data base systems. Forum for data users and producers.
Journal of statistics (Lahore)
01/01/2005 to Present in Academic Search Complete. From India. Publishes research papers of theoretical or applied nature in all fields of Statistics.
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society. Series A, Statistics in society
04/01/1998 to 1 year ago in Business Source Premier. Focuses on statistics as applied to social issues, including education, sociology, medicine, psychology, the law, demography, government and politics, economics and social geography.
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society. Series B, Statistical methodology
03/01/1998 to 1 year ago in Business Source Premier. A strong emphasis on relevance to statistical practice. Includes papers on study design, statistical models, methods of analysis and the theory that underlies them - almost invariably motivated or illustrated by real examples.
Journal of the Royal Statistical Society. Series C, Applied statistics
03/01/1965 to 1 year ago in Business Source Premier. Poses solutions to real life statistical problems. Covers the whole range of inter-disciplinary fields, e.g. applications in agriculture, genetics, industry, medicine and the physical sciences.
Statistical methods & applications
04/01/2002 to 1 year ago in Business Source Premier. Features original papers and applications of recent statistical methodology and complex approaches of statistical data analysis.
Statistical papers (Berlin, Germany)
01/01/2000 to 1 year ago in Business Source Premier.
03/01/1997 to 1 year ago in Business Source Premier. A a scientific statistical research journal which includes review papers on subfields of probability and statistics.
Statistics (Berlin, DDR)
03/01/2002 to 18 months ago in Academic Search Complete. Contains theoretical and applied papers related to the different fields of statistics such as regression and variance analysis, design of experiments, etc.
Introduction to Probability Theory
Material from a class created by the Department of Statistics at Pennsylvania State University’s Eberly College of Science (STAT 414).
Khan Academy (Mathematics & Statistics)
Provides short videos in all areas of mathematics, statistics, and math education.
Created by Saul McLeod, a professor at the United Kingdom’s University of Manchester Division of Neuroscience & Experimental Psychology. Available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Unported License.
Statistics How To: Statistics for the Rest of us!
Created by Stephanie Glen, a mathematics instructor Jacksonville University and Florida State College at Jacksonville. Contains both reading materials and videos.
Although it is named "SPSS Tutorials," there is a great deal of information about how statistical tests work that goes beyond SPSS. Created by Kent State University Statistical Consultations.
Section 1: Intro to the SPSS Environment:
- Navigate the SPSS interface using the drop-down menus or syntax.
- Create a new dataset or import data from a file.
Section 2: Working with Data covers data manipulation and cleaning of all kinds.
- Create, modify, or compute new variables.
- Manipulate a dataset by splitting, merging, or transposing techniques.
Section 3: Exploring the Data.
- Generate descriptive statistics for numeric variables.
- Create frequency tables and crosstabulations of categorical variables.
- Graph the distributions or relationships of variables.
- Interpret these measures.
Section 4: Analyzing the Data. This section incorporates hypothesis testing.
- Associations (Chi-Square, Pearson's Correlation).
- Comparing means (One Sample t Test, Independent Samples t Test, Paired Samples t Test, One-Way ANOVA).
- Predictive models (Multiple Regression, Logistic Regression, Ordinal Regression).
Collaborative Statistics by
Call Number: OER Open Textbook
Intended for introductory statistics courses being taken by students at two- and four-year colleges who are majoring in fields other than math or engineering. Intermediate algebra is the only prerequisite. The book focuses on applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it.
Information Literacy in Action: Evaluating Statistics by
This course provides graduate students in the sciences with an intensive introduction to applied statistics. Topics include descriptive statistics, probability, non-parametric methods, estimation methods, hypothesis testing, correlation and linear regression, simulation, and robustness considerations.
Introduction to Statistical Thought
Call Number: OER Open Textbook
"Statistical thinking" means a focus on ideas that statisticians care about as opposed to technical details of how to put those ideas into practice. The book does contain technical details, but they are not the focus. The book uses statistical software as a pedagogical tool. The book is written with the statistical language R embedded throughout. R and accompanying manuals are available for free download from http://www.r-project.org.
Introductory Business Statistics by
Overview: Introductory Statistics is intended for the one-semester introduction to statistics course for students who are not mathematics or engineering majors. It focuses on the interpretation of statistical results, especially in real world settings, and assumes that students have an understanding of intermediate algebra. In addition to end of section practice and homework sets, examples of each topic are explained step-by-step throughout the text and followed by a Try It problem that is designed as extra practice for students. This book also includes collaborative exercises and statistics labs designed to give students the opportunity to work together and explore key concepts.
Lies, Damned Lies, or Statistics: How to Tell the Truth with Statistics. by
Call Number: OER Open Textbook
Learning better techniques of critical thinking seems particularly important at this moment of history when our politics in the United States (and elsewhere) are so divisive, and different parties cannot agree about the most basic facts. A lot of commentators from all parts of the political spectrum have speculated about the impact of so-called fake news on the outcomes of recent recent elections and other political debates. It is therefore the goal of this book to help you learn How to Tell the Truth with Statistics and, therefore, how to tell when others are telling the truth . . .or are faking their “news."
Passion-Driven Statistics by
Call Number: OER Open Textbook
An NSF-funded, multidisciplinary, project-based curriculum that supports students in conducting data-driven research, asking original questions, and communicating methods and results using the language of statistics. The curriculum supports students to work with existing data covering psychology, health, earth science, government, business, education, ecology and more. From existing data, students are able to pose questions of personal interest and then use statistical software (e.g. SAS, R, Python, Stata, SPSS) to answer them. The e-book is presented in pdf format for ease of use across platforms.
Principles of Business Statistics by
You are probably asking yourself the question, "When and where will I use statistics?". If you read any newspaper or watch television, or use the Internet, you will see statistical information. There are statistics about crime, sports, education, politics, and real estate. Typically, when you read a newspaper article or watch a news program on television, you are given sample information. With this information, you may make a decision about the correctness of a statement, claim, or "fact." Statistical methods can help you make the "best educated guess."
Probability, Statistics and Random Processes by
Call Number: OER Open Textbook
This probability and statistics textbook covers:
Basic concepts such as random experiments, probability axioms, conditional probability, and counting methods | Single and multiple random variables | moment-generating functions, characteristic functions, random vectors, and inequalities | Limit theorems and convergence | Mathematical, Bayesian, and classical statistics | Random processes including processing of random signals, Poisson processes, discrete-time and continuous-time Markov chains, and Brownian motion | Simulation using MATLAB and R.
- American Statistical Association
The American Statistical Association is the world’s largest community of statisticians, the “Big Tent for Statistics.” It is the second-oldest, continuously operating professional association in the country. Since it was founded in Boston in 1839, the ASA has supported excellence in the development, application, and dissemination of statistical science through meetings, publications, membership services, education, accreditation, and advocacy.
- Data Mining Companies and Organization
This table lists data mining companies and organizations whose details have been checked.
- Data Science Association
Our mission is to promote data science to improve life, business and government. Our guiding principles set the aspirations that we endeavor to achieve:
•Setting standards for the ethical professional practice of data science.
•Assuring base-level data scientist competency.
•Advancing data science to serve core values of the scientific method and noblesse oblige.
•Helping to shape a better future - not just for the powerful, but for the majority of people.
- Digital Analytics Association
We reaffirm our dedication to taking a more visible leadership role in supporting the industry by responding to and advocating for the needs of the larger analytics community as it evolves. This reflects our commitment to continually evolve as an organization. The association is dedicated to growing along with the industry to reflect the needs of our members. We are sharpening the focus of the Digital Analytics Association’s activities based on the needs of our unique business community. We are improving pre-existing programs and adding new ones that cater to multi-channel data analytics.
- International Institute of Business Analysis
IIBA® is the non-profit professional association dedicated to the field of business analysis. Through a global network, IIBA connects over 29,000+ Members and more than 300 Corporate Members and 120 Chapters. As the voice of the business analysis community, IIBA supports the recognition of the profession and discipline and works to maintain the global standard for the practices and certification.
- Organizations of interest to the Business Analyst and Systems Analyst
This is a list of non-profit associations and organizations of interest to the professional business analyst and systems analyst and other IT professionals involved in business analysis or systems analysis. The list contains several organizations that may be of interest along with links to their websites.
- Societies and Groups for Analytics, Data Mining, Data Science, and Knowledge Discovery
This is another listing of links to association and organization websites that may be of interest to the business analytics community.
- Society of Actuaries
Predictive models have emerged to help guide businesses. Actuaries serve an important role with predictive analytics by using modeling and data analysis techniques on large data sets to discover predictive patterns and relationships for business use. The actuarial profession has been actively advancing the use of predictive analytics methods in its work. Actuaries have been fast to collect and transform big data into useful information to glean future tendencies and patterns.