Murrell Library Research Guides: Science Research Guide: Science Databases

Academic Search Complete
EBSCOhost. Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
EBSCOhost. Full-text and abstracts for over 770 nursing & allied health journals, dating back to 1937.
--------------------------------
Computer Science Database
ProQuest. Full text of over 1,300 publications dealing with computer and information science, computer security, database design, software development, web commerce, networks, hardware, and software.
--------------------------------
Environment Complete
EBSCOhost. Environmental journals with both full text and references, going back to 1888.
--------------------------------
Natural Science Collection
ProQuest. Full text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications. Fields covered include agriculture, biology, environmental, atmospheric, and Earth sciences, and aquatic sciences. The Database may be searched together or in subsets. The subsets include:
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (includes AGRICOLA) Biological Science Collection Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection Environmental Collection
--------------------------------
OSTIsearch (USDOE)
Over 70 years of research results from the DOE and its predecessor agencies. Research results include journal articles/accepted manuscripts and related metadata; technical reports; scientific research datasets and collections; scientific software; patents; conference and workshop papers; books and theses; and multimedia.
--------------------------------
PLOS: Public Library of Science
A non-profit open-access science publisher.
--------------------------------
Science Reference Source
EBSCOhost. This database provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
--------------------------------

PsycArticles (APA PSycArticles)
EBSCOhost. Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other leading sources. Includes access to full-text issues from 1894 to the present.
--------------------------------
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) (partial full text)
EBSCOhost. Partial full text and abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, educational psychology, behavioral science, and mental health dating back to the 1800s.
--------------------------------
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
EBSCOhost. Full-text and abstracts for over 770 nursing & allied health journals, dating back to 1937.
--------------------------------
Consumer Health Complete
EBSCOhost. Consumer-oriented health content including mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Also includes the Clinical Reference System, a medical dictionary, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
--------------------------------
IRIS
Produced by the World Health Organization, IRIS (Institutional Repository for Information Sharing) is a digital library of all WHO publications since 1948. It is freely accessible in the six official WHO languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.)
--------------------------------
Medline (abstracts with some links to full text)
ProQuest. Abstracts of articles from over 4,800 journals, 1946- present, dealing with medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
--------------------------------
Psychology Database w/ PTSDpubs (ProQuest)
Full text articles on a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications in clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and education.
PTSDpubs indexes material on PTSD and mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, attempting to include all relevant publications from 1871 to the present without limitations of origin, discipline, language, or geography. Created by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Links to some full text.
--------------------------------
PubMed Central®
A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.
--------------------------------

Credo Reference eBooks
Full-text reference eBooks, images, audio & video files, real-time research on controversial issues, and pro/con arguments. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search.
--------------------------------
eBooks from EBSCO (eMO)
Full text eBbooks, including academic, general, science, K-12, open dissertations, and nursing/health books.
--------------------------------
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
--------------------------------
Open Dissertations
EBSCOhost. Provides citations to graduate theses and dissertations from the early 20th century to the present. Incorporates the American Doctoral Dissertations database.
--------------------------------
Overdrive eBooks, Audiobooks, Video
eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming video. Materials include popular fiction, literature, career materials, and a variety of academic titles including nursing, business, and computer science. Use Overdrive may be used on computer or tablet. For mobile use, download the Libby App from the Apple App Store, Google Play, or the Microsoft Store. Overdrive and Libby App instructions are available here.
--------------------------------
Sage Knowledge eBooks
Sage ebooks include scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, business cases studies, and streaming video. Find Sage eBooks by searching MVC's library catalog, or directly on the Sage site.
--------------------------------
Salem Press eBooks
eBooks from Salem Press.
--------------------------------

PubAg
Included in the Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection with AGRICOLA from ProQuest.
--------------------------------
PubChem
Information about molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Includes information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, and toxicity.
--------------------------------

Assistant Dean of Library & Academic Support Services

Mrs. Samantha Perkins

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Murrell Library and Academic Support Center

660-831-4187