Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Missouri Government and Statistics: Books and Journals

Avalon (Library Catalog)

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon and Request Books - Lists books, journals, and videos owned by Murrell Library & Commons. Log in to Avalon to renew items, request books, and place holds. Ask Us @ Your Library for assistance!

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College | Hannibal-LaGrange University 
Moberly Area Community College State Fair Community College |  State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University Map of Avalon Libraries

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon by Journal Title
If the title begins with AAN, or The, leave it off.

Search AVALON - Library Catalog for MVC

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College
Hannibal-LaGrange University | Moberly Area Community College | State Fair Community College | State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon by Author
Always use lastname, firstname.

Search AVALON - Library Catalog for MVC

 

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College
Hannibal-LaGrange University | Moberly Area Community College | State Fair Community College | State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon by Library of
Congress Subject Heading

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College
Hannibal-LaGrange University | Moberly Area Community College | State Fair Community College | State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University

Avalon IconUse the Advanced Search in Avalon!

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Avalon Icon

Log in to your Library Account

Renew library items and place holds. The first time you login you will need to create a 4 digit pin. For assistance, please contact the library at (660) 831-4180.

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Moibus Catalog LogoSearch the MOBIUS Catalog

MOBIUS is a consortium of libraries in Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, Oklahoma, and Arkansas. The MOBIUS catalog will search all 78 member libraries (including MVC). You can initiate book requests for items we don't own. We have a courier service between libraries.

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Prospector Catalog Logo

Search the Prospector Catalog

Prospector is the library catalog for the Colorado Association of Research Libraries, which contains 56 members (some in Wyoming, also!). You can initiate book requests for items we don't own.

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Find Books

Each book in the library has a unique call number. A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library. Murrell Library and Commons both use the Library of Congress Classification (LC) for call numbers. This system uses a combination of letters and numbers to arrange materials by subjects. To  determine the LC call number for a specific book, search the Avalon online catalog.


  • MOBIUS Union Catalog - allows you to search for and request books from 60+ Missouri Libraries. Typical delivery time is 3-5 business days after receipt of request. This is a FREE service for all current MVC students, faculty & staff.

If we don't own a copy of a book you need, we can borrow a copy from another library for you with a service called Interlibrary Loan.

Why Search Google Books

Google Books searches the full-text of books.  It is great for narrow topics because it lets you search within the text of books--you can see the table of contents, index or a portion of the contents of the book.  You can then locate the book in a nearby library.

Google Book Search

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

 

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

 

TOO MANY hits:  AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

 

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word. 

 

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic.  If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval. 
 
Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.  

Library Navigation

Red dot used as a bullet Library Homepage
Red dot used as a bullet 
Avalon
    (library catalog)

Red dot used as a bullet 
Research Databases
Red dot used as a bullet 
eJournal Finder
Red dot used as a bullet 
Library Account
Red dot used as a bullet 
Citations &
    
Plagiarism
Red dot used as a bullet 
About Murrell
Red dot used as a bullet 
Library & Commons

Red dot used as a bullet 
Library Policies
Red dot used as a bullet 
Interlibrary Loan
Red dot used as a bullet 
New Books & Films
Red dot used as a bullet 
Tutorials, Guides,

    
and Help
Red dot used as a bullet Library Liaisons 

   
and Who's Who

Murrell Library:
       660-831-4211
Library Commons:
       660-831-4013
library@moval.edu
Follow us on
Social Media: 
         Facebook Page  Twitter Page