Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites & Digital Collections
-provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages, and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
-hundreds of topics covered from the areas of Science & Technology, Colonial America, World War II, Civil War, Native American History and much more
Making of America (Journals)
-a digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
Missouri Digital Heritage
- more than 6.8 million records can be accessed through Missouri Digital Heritage, including the collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and more than 50 institutions from across the state.
MSSU Archives & Special Collections
-meet with a professional archivist to learn how to locate, interpret and effectively evaluate the various collections stored in the MSSU Archives.
MSSU Newspapers and other News Resources LibGuide
-find current and historical news from newspapers and news sources from around the world.
National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC)
The mission of the NUCMC program is to provide and promote bibliographic access to the nation's documentary heritage. This mission is realized by NUCMC production of cataloging describing archival and manuscript collections held by eligible repositories located throughout the United States and its territories.
Our Documents - 100 Milestone Documents
-a list of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.
Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, Using
- guide written by the Instruction & Research Services Committee of the Reference and User Service Association History Section of the American Library Association designed to provide students and researchers with information to help them evaluate the internet sources and the quality of primary materials that can be found online.
The Smithsonian Institution web site is a portal to extensive online collections and background information on U.S. and world history topics.
The State Historical Society of Missouri
SHSMO's research centers are located in Cape Girardeau, Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, St. Louis, and Springfield. Before arriving, visitors should contact research center staff to verify that the manuscript collection they would like to view is available, as materials may be restricted, in storage, or located at another research center. Collections stored at one research center can be viewed at any of the others; transfers between campus research centers usually takes 48 hours. Microfilmed collections can be borrowed through interlibrary loan.
United States Census Bureau
-leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
White House Historical Association
-provides ongoing educational programs for students, teachers, scholars, and the general public on the history of the White House and the President's Neighborhood.
World Digital Library
-developed by the Library of Congress with UNESCO. offers primary source materials from countries around the world.
Libraries, Archives, and Research Organizations
Digital Collections at Missouri Universities
Missouri State University Digital Collections
The Missouri State University Digital Collections mainly include historical information about Missouri State University and the Ozarks region in general.
University Archives of the University of Missouri
University Archives is the depository of official records of the University of Missouri as well as of the administrative records of the University of Missouri System. University Archives also houses and preserves private papers, organizational records, and manuscripts that relate to the history of the University, the University community, and the University System.
University of Arkansas Libraries Digital Collections
University of Arkansas Libraries Digital Collections facilitate the discovery of and access to a variety of digital materials related to the University and to Arkansas and its history, culture, environment, and people.
University of Kansas Digital Collections
point of connection for digital projects and collections from disciplines across the KU campus. Digital research, online journals, scholarly publishing, and image collections are all represented. Most of these collections are freely available; a few are only available to current KU employees and students.
Washinton University in St. Louis Archive Collections
Archive collections documenting Local History topics include records of noted St. Louis area civic organizations, political figures, architects, social activists, and community groups.
Related Research Guides at Other Institutions