Missouri Government and Statistics: State House and Senate

House and Senate bills in full text with indexes.

Search provides bill text, bill summaries, amendments, fiscal notes, calendars, committee reports and courtesy resolutions.

1981-1999

MU's Special Collections department holds microfilmed bills from the 81st General Assembly 1st session (1981), through the 90th General Assembly 1st session (1999.) Bill summaries and calendars are in print format under call number GA.Ho11/2. Fiscal notes are under call number GA.Ho11/3.

Indexing available:

• Printed bill indexes by subject, sponsor and number, 1967-2004, published by Missouri Committee on Legislative Research.
• Bill indexes are available through the printed Missouri Chamber of Commerce Legislative Report Service. Click for 1973-1988 or 1989-1992 or 1992-2007.
• Subject index for only the bills which passed, 1981-2005
• Summaries of selected bills which passed, 1982-2004
• Check legislative journals. At the back of each volume, or perhaps published separately, there may be an index to bills by subject.

House - MU ANNEX J87.M8 D4
Senate - MU ANNEX J87.M8 D28

Indexing available:

• Printed bill indexes by subject, sponsor and number, 1967-1980, published by Missouri Committee on Legislative Research.
• Printed bill indexes in the Missouri Chamber of Commerce Legislative Report Service. Click for 1973-1980
• Check legislative journals. At the back of each volume, or perhaps published separately, there may be an index to bills by subject.

Legislative journals document votes on bills, committee actions, action taken on motions, and governor's addresses to the General Assembly.  Journals are arranged by date. There might be a subject index at the back, or published separately. Historical note: appendixes to early journals (1840s-1953) included annual and biennial reports from selected state agencies.

Internet

1996-2018

Journals

Microform

1986-1996

83rd-88th General Assembly journals kept in Government Documents

Online

Missouri Revised Statues

Online

2000-2008

Missouri Revised Statutes Search Laws of Missouri database searchable by keyword but does not allow Boolean searching.

Print

2000

MU ELLIS REFERENCE    KFM7830 2000 .A252

These annual volumes each contain only the laws passed during individual sessions of the General Assembly.  Laws, referendum bills, vetoed bills, proposed constitutional amendments, and concurrent resolutions are included.  There is a cumulated index to Missouri laws from 1804-1868.

Print

1825-up to last 

MU ELLIS K .M692

Microprint

1814-1816

MERLIN link

Arranged by "titles" corresponding to state agencies, the code compiles rules and regulations for operations of the state government.   The Code is updated twice monthly by the Missouri Register.

Orders are arranged by year then numerically. 

Missouri has operated under four constitutions: 1820, 1865, 1875 and 1945.  It is continually revised and amended.  Find past versions printed  in editions of the Missouri Revised Statutes.

Voting records for U.S. senators and representatives from Missouri are readily available through Project Vote-Smart.   You can use this website to find a legislator's voting record by subject.

Unfortunately, voting records for legislators in the Missouri state House and Senate are not arranged either by legislator or by subject in the Missouri legislative journals.  Rather, the journals are arranged chronologically.  To see how a legislator voted, first you must identify a bill that interests you. Next, determine the date that the bill came to a vote. Finally, locate that date in the legislative journals and browse until you find the roll call vote.

Voting records for federal legislators from Missouri (Congress) are available on the Project Vote-Smart website. The site arranges voting records by congressperson and also by subject: environment, welfare, defense spending, etc.

Unfortunately, voting records for legislators in the state House and Senate are for the most part not in Project Vote-Smart. You will need to look for legislators' votes on bills in the Missouri legislative journals. State legislative journals are chronological documents, so you must turn to the exact date when the vote took place.

If you do not know the date when a certain bill was up for a vote, you could check the subject index or bill number index that accompanies the legislative journal volume. You can get a bill number by using a bill index. If you don't know the bill number and the bill was significant enough to get press coverage, you could check newspaper indexes for articles which tell the date of the vote.

Note: You may wish to review How a bill becomes a law (Source: Missouri State Senate.)

Where to Find Text of Bills and Resolutions

See House and Senate bills in full text with keyword searchability on the Missouri government website. Bill summaries, amendments, fiscal notes, calendars, committee reports and resolutions are also included.

House and Senate Joint Bill Tracking
Basic searching by keyword, bill number, sponsor, or co-sponsor. Advanced search includes in-depth search of basic plus bill text, bills summaries, amendments, fiscal notes, revised statutes, committee reports, LR number, courtesy resolutions, and General Assembly member data pages. Boolean expressions allowed in "Search Type" drop-down menu.

Bill topic indexes:

• 2018 (99th - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2017 (99th - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2016 (98th - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2015 (98th - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2014 (97th - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2013 (97th -1st session) House * Senate
• 2012 (96th -2nd session) House * Senate
• 2011 (96th - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2010 (95th - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2009 (95th - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2008 (94th - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2007 (94th - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2006 (93rd - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2005 (93rd - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2004 (92nd - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2003 (92nd - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2002 (91st- 2nd session) House * Senate
• 2001 (91st - 1st session) House * Senate
• 2000 (90th - 2nd session) House * Senate
• 1999 (90th -1st session) House * Senate
• 1995-1999 - Printed indexes in library

1981-1999

Ellis Library's Special Collections department holds microfilmed bills {C} dating back to the 81st General Assembly's 1st session (1981). Bill summaries and calendars are in print format under call number GA.Ho11/2. Fiscal notes for bills are under call number GA.Ho11/3.

Indexes available:

• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Committee on Legislative Research.
  Dates: 1967-2004
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Chamber of Commerce Legislative Report Service. Dates: 1973-1988 or 1989-1992 or 1993-1999.
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri House of Representatives.
  Subject index for only the bills which passed, 1981-2007
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Office of State Courts.
  Summaries of selected bills which passed, 1982-2004
• Try checking legislative journals for the Missouri House and Senate. At the back of each volume, or perhaps published separately, there may be an index to bills by subject.

House - MU DEPOSITORY J87.M8 D4
Senate - MU DEPOSITORY J87.M8 D28

Indexes available:

• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Committee on Legislative Research.
  Dates: 1967-2004
• Bill index compiled by the Missouri Chamber of Commerce. Dates: 1973-1988
• Try checking legislative journals. At the back of each volume, or perhaps published separately, there may be an index to bills by subject.

State Historical Society of Missouri

Indexes available:

• The Missouri General Assembly 46th to 61st Session, 1911-1941
  • Part I: Catalog of members in both houses of the legislature with bills sponsored or introduced by each member
  • Part II: Classified subject index of bills introduced in all sessions of the general assembly from the 46th to the 61st, inclusive