Murrell Library Research Guides: Computer Science / CIS: CS &amp; CIS Websites

14 Application Cheat Sheets & Posters for Popular Programs
Great cheat sheets for Microsoft Office, Google Chrome, Firefox, Linux, Unix, Vi/Vim, Photoshop and more.
AI Topics [library of information on artificial intelligence]
American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
Application Development Trends [news & discussion]
arXiv.org e-Print Archive [e-print service]
Open access to documents and other materials on Computer Science provided by Cornell University and supporting organizations
BotSpot
Buzztouch
A content management system for building iPhone, iPad, and Android apps.
C++ Source
Online journal for C++ programmers.
CERT Coordination Center
The CERT (Computer Emergency Response Team) website is a resource for tracking and reporting Internet security vulnerabilities. CERT also provides security incident response services and articles to help novices and experts alike protect their computer systems.
Chronology of Personal Computers [historical chronology of events]
CiteSeer X
Scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science, with the goal of disseminating scientific literature
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
Collection of bibliographies of scientific literature in computer science from various sources, covering most aspects of computer science
Computer Glossary (Fact Monster)
Computer Graphik Topics
Computer Science [links]
Computer Science Directory
Computer Science E-Journals
List of computer e-journals
Computer Science: A Guide to Web Resources (SUNY Albany)
Lists web resources for computer science
Computing Research Repository
A free, digital repository or research papers and technical reports in areas such as artificial intelligence, cryptography, graphics, human computer interaction, information retrieval, robotics, software engineering, and symbolic computation.
The Web Developer's Vitrual Library
A digital library of web design resources, demos and tutorials including topics such as HTML, XML, JavaScript, graphics, databases, and E-commerce.
Cprogramming.com [getting started in C & C++]
CSERD: Computational Science Education Resources [tutorials & resources]
Data Mining Resources
Database Journal
News, videos, articles and tutorials covering MS SQL, Oracle, DB2, MySQL and other databases.
Dictionary of Programming Languages
Over 120 entries on different computer programming languages
Directory of Computer Science Journals
Electronic Colloquium on Computational Complexity [research surveys, books & reports]
Evoweb (EvoNet) [evolutionary computing]
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing
Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing (FOLDOC)
Free site for definitions of computing terms, supported by the United Kingdom's Imperial College Department of Computing
FreeTechBooks.com [free cs & engineering books & lecture notes]
FSF/UNESCO Free Software Directory
Geektools
History of Computing Project
History of the Internet
HotScripts.com [directory of Web programming resources]
How Stuff Works: Computer
HowStuffWorks, from the Discovery Channel group, offers simple but useful and accurate explanations of how things--in this case computers--really work
HTML Goodies
Tutorials for web development with mark up languages and scripting languages including HTMl, perl &cgi, asp, javascript, and sql.
How PCs Work
Basic information on how the various parts of a computer work together
IEEE Computer Society Style Guide
Information Technology Professional's Resource Center
Internet.com
Free registration provides easy access to technical resources in IT, developer and business environments, including eBooks, newsletters, whitepapers, webcasts and more
Internet.com: Linux/Open Source Channel
Intute: Computer Science
A gateway to information resources on the web related to computing. Includes a searchable catalog of expert-indexed websites.
lanl.arXiv.org
arXiv is a free, open access, e-print service for research in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
Linktionary.com: Networking Defined and Hyperlinked [dictionary with links]
Linux Online
Linux website
LivingInternet.com [everything about the Internet]
Mathtools.net [links for the technical computing community]
Microsoft Developers Network (MSDN)
Microsoft Office
Microsoft Office website
NCSTRL: Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library [indexing/abstracting of CS articles by archive location]
Network Computing [research, news & resources]
NSSN Search Engine for Standards [to identify technical standards]
Programmers Heaven
Programming Language Research [information & resources]
Programming Tutorials [for Java, JavaScript, Python, XML, C#, etc.]
Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies
Rexa.info [computer science search engine]
ScienceDaily - Computer Science and Mathematics News
Research news, including computer science.
Scientific Computing and Numerical Analysis FAQ
Software Engineering Institute (Carnegie Mellon Univ.)
Software Engineering Resources
Site containing over 1000 software engineering resources to help you gather information on a variety of software engineering topics such as system engineering, architectural design, software testing methods, and software project management.
Symantec AntiVirus Research Center: Virus Encyclopedia
TechDictionary.com [computer science terms dictionary]
TechEncyclopedia [information technology dictionary]
Definitions and links to over 20,000 information technology terms.
TechWeb Encyclopedia
Searchable encyclopedia of computer terms
TechWeb.com Encyclopedia
TechWeb offers definitions and links to over 20,000 information technology terms.
Tom's Hardware Guides
Reviews and articles on computer hardware and software
UNIX Guru Universe
UNIX website
Virtual Library, Computing
List of computer science topics available in the Virtual Library
Visual Basic-Specific Search Engine (VB.com)
Web Developer's Virtual Library
Web Robots Pages
WebAIM [re web accessibility, especially for disabled persons]
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) [forum for information, commerce & communication on W3C]
WWW Virtual Library: Computing and Computer Science
Links to web directories on specific topics, such as artificial intelligence, programming languages, and software engineering
Yahoo: Computer Science
ZDNet: Tech News and White Pages
Technology news, analysis, comments and product reviews for IT Professionals

Center for Homeland Defense and Security
Housed at the Naval Postgraduate School.
Computer Security Resource Center
Resources from the Computer Security Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Cyber Security Research and Development
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Defense Technical Information Center (U. S. Department of Defense)
Contains defense and government-funded scientific and technical research.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Contains may security publications and resources.
National Cyber Security Alliance - StaySafeOnline.org
The organization consists of board members in industry (i.e. AT&T, Google, Facebook, Bank of America, Microsoft, McAfee, Paypal) with the mission to educate our digital society in Internet safety.
National Security Council on Cybersecurity
Federal Government efforts to address cyber incidents and reduce cyber threats through the National Security Council (NSC)
NITRD - Networking and Information Technology Research and Devevopment Program
Part of the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC). Federal agencies coordinate their networking and information technology research and development. Research areas include: Big Data, Cyber Security and Information Assurance, Software Design and Productivity.
Privacy
Denny Cherry
United States Computer Emergency Readiness Team

Center for Intellectual Property and Copyright in the Digital Environment
(University of Maryland University College)
Computer Software Rental Amendments Act of 1990
Computers and Academic Freedom Archive
(Electronic Frontier Foundation)
Cyberspace Law Institute
Cybersquatting (Findlaw)
General Information About Computer, New Media, & Internet Law
(Oppedahl & Larson LLP)
Generic Top Level Domain Name (gTLD) Decisions
(at World Legal Information Institute)
Geographical Indications
Intellectual Property on the Internet: A Survey of Issues Report published by the WIPO
Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN)
ICANN is an internationally organized, non-profit corporation responsibile for Internet Protocol (IP) address space allocation, protocol identifier assignment, generic (gTLD) and country code (ccTLD) Top-Level Domain name system management, and root server system management functions.
Internet Law Page
Legal Guide for Bloggers
(Electronic Frontier Foundation)
Primer on Trademark Law and Internet Addresses
(David J. Loundy). First published in 15 John Marshall J. of Computer and Info. Law 465 (1997)

ASCII Conversion Table
ASCII stands for American Standard Code for Information Interchange.
C and C++ Programming
Cprogramming.com is a web site designed to help you learn the C or C++ programming languages, and provide you with C and C++ programming language resources.
C++ Station
Tutorials and links for the C++ programming language.
Delphi Tutorials
Links to free tutorials, lessons and resources for the Delphi programming language. There are also links to recommended books.
Dictionary of Algorithms and Data Structures
Dictionary of algorithms, algorithmic techniques, data structures, archetypal problems, and related definitions.
Getnetwise
From the Internet Education Foundation.
Getting Started with Visual Basic
Walk-throughs provided by the Visual Basic Developer Center at MSDN. Also provides a list of web sites and forums to help find answers to common problems.
GitHub
Secure source coding and collaborative development. Free public repositories, collaborator management, issue tracking, wikis, downloads, code review, etc.
Inkscape is free and open-source vector graphics software which runs on Windows, Mac OS X and GNU/Linux and uses the W3C open standard SVG as its native format. Inkscape can output as TikZ if you want to draw it first and then tinker more in TikZ by playing with the code.
Introduction to HTML
Basic and advanced HTML coding are covered. Examples and quizzes are available along with a list of HTML references.
The Ipe extensible drawing editor for creating figures in PDF format supports making small figures for inclusion into LaTeX-documents as well as making multi-page PDF presentations.
Java Tutorials
This guide include hundreds of complete working examples, and dozens of lessons.
Stackoverflow.com
Stack Overflow is a free programming Q & A site.
TikZ: A simple visual editor for creating commutative diagrams. Also see link to github for TikZEdt standalone software for producing figures with a built-in graphical editor and a code box.

Organizations and Trade Associations: Information Systems

Computing | IT Societies & Organizations

American Association for Artificial Intelligence
A nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines.
American Association for History and Computing (AAHC)
American Computer Scientists Association (ACSA)
Association for Computing Machinery
ACM is a major force in advancing the skills of information technology professionals and students worldwide. Their website has information on membership, scholarships, ordering publications, etc.
Association for Information Systems
Professional organization whose purpose is to serve as a global organization for academics specializing in Information Systems
Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
Association for Women in Computing
AWC is one of the first professional organizations for women in computing and provides opportunities for professional growth through networking and through programs on technical and career-oriented topics.
Association of Information Technology Professionals
Organizational purpose is to provide leadership and education in Information Technology
Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility
A global organization promoting the responsible ise of computer technology.
Computing Research Association (CRA)
IEEE Computer Society
The IEEE Computer Society is one of the world's leading organizations of computer professionals; the website has information on membership, scholarships, publications, and more
Institute for Certification of Computing Professionals (ICCP)
International Association for Computer Information Systems (IACIS)
International Computer Security Association (ICSA)
Internet Society
Linux Online
Mathematical Programming Society
Network and Systems Professionals Association (NaSPA)
Scholarly Societies Project: Computer Science [list of cs-related associations]
Special
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)
Society for Information Display (SID)
Society for Information Management
An international orgnization of top information executives -- includes regional Chapter contact information.
TechAmerica
TechAmerica was formed by the merger of AeA (formerly the American Electronics Association), the Cyber Security Industry Alliance (CSIA), the Information Technology Association of America (ITAA) and the Government Electronics & Information Technology Association (GEIA)
Upsilon Pi Epsilon
US Internet Industry Association (USIIA)
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)

History and Women in Computing

History of Women in Comupting