Skip to Main Content

Computer Science / CIS: Books

Online CS Dictionaries
Technical Reports

BCS Glossary of Computing and ICT by Arnold Burdett, Dan Bowen
Call Number: Credo eBooks
Divided into themed sections making it more than just a list of definitions.

Computer Glossary (Fact Monster)
Free online glossary.
Computer Language Encyclopedia
This online encyclopedia contains the the jargon, phrases and buzzwords of the information technology industry.

Dictionary of Computing by S. M. H. Collin
Call Number: Credo eBooks
Defines terms used in computing, including hardware, software, program languages, networks and applications, e-commerce, and the Internet.
Encyclopedia of Computer Science by Robert T. Abrams (Editor)
Call Number: EBSCO eBooks
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology by Harry Henderson
Call Number: Credo eBooks

Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing
Definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions and companies, projects, history
Linktionary.com: Networking Defined and Hyperlinked
Includes links to websites and related entries under each topic.

CiteSeerX
Uses autonomous citation indexing to locate and index the full text of research papers in computer science and compiles lists of most-cited authors and papers. Locate related papers and browse using citation links.
CogPrints
It is an electronic archive for papers in Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, and Biology
Collection of Computer Science Bibliographies
Computer Science Technical Reports
From the University of Rochester
TRIAL - Technical Report Archive & Image Library
Identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.

Algorithms of Oppression by Safiya Umoja Noble
Overdrive eBook
Computational Interpretation of Metaphoric Phrases by Sylvia Weber Russell
EBSCO eBook
Computer Networks by Vij, Vikrant
EBSCO eBooks
Developing Web Applications with UML and Javascript or Java by Gerd Wagner (Contribution by); Mircea Diaconescu (Contribution by)
EBSCO eBooks
An Introduction to Information Design by Kathryn Coates, Andy Ellison
This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery, An Introduction to Information Design gives a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication.
It for Business (It4b) - from Genesis to Revolution, a Business and It Approach to Digital Transformation by Brian Johnson; Walter Zondervan
EBSCO eBooks
Mining Social Media: Finding Stories in Internet Data by Lam Thuy Vo
Call Number: Overdrive eBooks
--------------------------------
OpenCV 3 Computer Vision Application Programming Cookbook by Robert Laganière
ISBN: 9781786469113
EBSCO eBook

Bioinformation by Bronwyn Parry; Beth Greenhough
QH324.2 .P38 2018
Broad Band: the untold story of the women who made the Internet by Claire L. Evans
QA76.2.A2 E93 2018
Cybersecurity 101:Forging a Suit of Armor by Roddy Dambrino
QA76.9.A25 D36 2019
Game Engine Architecture, 3rd Ed. by Jason Gregory
QA76.76.C672 G77 201

Blogs -- TK5105.8882
Bluetooth technology -- TK5103.3
Business--Data Processing -- HF5548.2
Computational intelligence -- Q342
Computational linguistics -- P98-98.5
Computer bulletin boards -- ZA4390
Computer Engineering -- TK7885 - TK7895
Computer Graphics -- T385
Computer Literacy -- QA76.9 C64
Computer networks -- TK5105.5-.9
Computer programming -- QA76.6 - QA76.66
Computer Science Bibliography -- Z5640 - Z5644
Computers in Education -- LB1028.43 - LB1028.75
Cybernetics (bionics, a.i., information theory, etc.) -- Q300 - Q390
Database searching -- ZA4460
Databases (Information science) -- ZA4450 - ZA4460
Data mining -- QA76.9.D32 - QA76.9.D343
Digital communications -- TK5103.7 - TK.75
Digital video -- TK6680.5 - TK6687
Electronic commerce -- HF5548.32-.33
Electronic data processing documentation -- QA76.9.D6
Electronic information resources -- ZA4050 - ZA4460
Electronic mail systems -- TK5105.73-.743
Electronics Bibliography -- Z5836 - Z5839
Hypertext systems -- QA76.76.H94
Hypertext systems -- QA76.76.H94
Information technology -- HC79.I55; HD30.2; T58.5-.64
Interactive multimedia -- QA76.76.I59
Internet -- TK5105.87 - TK5187.885; ZA4195 - ZA4201
Internet industry -- HD9696.8
Internet marketing -- HF5415.1265
Internet programming -- QA76.625
Internet videos -- TK5105.8867
Machine Theory -- QA267 - QA268
Management Information Systems -- HD30.213; T58.5 - T58.64
Multimedia Systems -- QA76.575
Online Databases -- ZA4450-4460
Online Algorithms -- QA76.9.A43
Optical Data Processing -- TA1630 - TA1650
Programming Languages -- QA76.5 - QA76.75
Semantic Web -- TK5105.88815
Software Engineering -- QA76.75 - QA76.9
Speech Processing Systems -- TK7882.S65
Systems Management -- HF5548.125- HF5548.6, QA75- QA76.95
Webcasting -- TK5105.887
Wide area networks (Computer networks) -- TK5105.87 - TK5105.875
Wikis (Computer science) -- TK5105.8882
Wireless LANs -- TK5105.78
World Wide Web -- TK5105; ZA4195 - ZA4235