Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Art of Ancient Greek Theater by
Call Number: N8252 .H37 2010
Publication Date: 2010-09-21
Greek art by
Call Number: N5630 .B58 1973
The principles of Greek art. by
Call Number: N 5630 .G22
100 Ideas that Changed Art
From the earliest cave paintings through to the internet and street art, this inspiring book chronicles the 100 most influential ideas that have shaped the world of art.
100 Ideas that Changed Photography
Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped photography from the invention of the daguerreotype in the early 19th century up to the digital revolution and beyond.
A Dictionary of the Avant-Gardes
Provides intelligence and information unavailable anywhere else about a wealth of subjects and individuals. Focused upon what is truly innovative and excellent, Kostelanetz ranges widely with insight and surprise, including appreciations of artistic athletes such as Muhammad Ali, Johan Cruyff, and the Harlem Globetrotters and such collective creations as Las Vegas and his native New York City.
If the Paintings Could Talk
Reveals the hidden histories of paintings in the National Gallery, London. With a treasury of fascinating facts, discoveries, and tales, this book describes the flight a work took down a mountainside and the portrait that appeared in a James Bond film, among many other entertaining events and stories.
A rich collection of art history videos. Each short documentary showcases an artist and a key piece, illuminating the context and history of the work. Comprehensively illustrated and compellingly presented (detailed narration accompanies each film), these films provide a deeper insight into master works of painting.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of the Italian Renaissance
Contains entries covering music (eg Palestrina), architecture (eg palazzo), war, diplomacy (Machiavelli), religion, literature and social history, as well as the visual arts (eg Leonardo da Vinci). Includes entries written by major scholars such as Dennis Arnold, Brian Pullan and Marie Boas Hall.
Aesthetic aspects of ancient art by
Call Number: N 5330 .S36 1964
Publication Date: Chicago : University of Chicago Press, 
Larousse encyclopedia of prehistoric and ancient art ; art and mankind. by
Call Number: N 5300 .H953 1962
Terms and Techniques
Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.
Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
Substantial and ambitious dictionary exploring the languages and cultures of visual studies. Provides the basis for understanding the foundations and motivations of current theoretical and academic discourse, as well as the different forms of visual culture that have come to organize everyday life.
The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
An essential reference work embracing the vast vocabulary of art in all its forms. Contains over 2000 authoritative entries. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day: there is even a table of the dynasties of Ancient Greece, Ancient Egypt, China, India and Japan.
Art of Mesopotamia
5000 years of the art of Mesopotamia by
Call Number: N 5370 .S713 1964
Publication Date: New York : H. N. Abrams, 
Mari : capital of northern Mesopotamia in the third millennium BC : the archaeology of Tell Hariri on the Euphrates / by
Publication Date: 2014-11-30