Fine Arts: Art, Dance, Music, and Theatre: Theater and Film eBooks

Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment.

Chronicles the most influential ideas that have shaped film since its inception. The ideas include innovative concepts, technologies, techniques and movements, from the silent era's masterpieces to today's blockbusters and art house movies, these highly illustrated pages are a chance to rediscover films from five continents.

From scriptwriting through to production, this introduction to animation for students surveys key technical processes and examines a variety of stylistic approaches.

From vampires and demons to ghosts and zombies, interest in monsters in literature, film, and popular culture has never been stronger. This concise Encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market.

A collection of useful and often fascinating information on many aspects of film, from the early days of silent cinema to the twenty-first century.

From the classics to the B slasher movies, over 11,000 quotes are arranged in this unique reference.

Presents a well-rounded introduction to non-Western theatre, exploring the history and current practice of theatrical traditions in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Oceania, the Caribbean, and the non-English-speaking cultures of the Americas.

A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works. Also includes terms used in the theatre and stagecraft, as well as historical references and details on the Elizabethan historical and social period.

An authoritative reference covering primarily actors, playwrights, directors, styles and movements, companies and organizations.

Reviews current knowledge of the character and operation of theatres in Shakespeare's time, with an explanation of their origins. Coverage includes the practices of Elizabethan actors and script writers: methods of characterization; gesture, blocking and choreography, including music, dance and fighting; actors' rhetorical interaction with audiences; and use of costumes, stage props, and make-up.

Concise overview of Shakespeare's life; Shakespeare and the English language; Shakespeare's works; Shakespeare's works in summary; and Shakespearean terms.