Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers. Use the library's online catalog to find books and eBooks.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Streaming access to over 7,000 historic public radio and television programs along with data records for approximately 2.5 million items.
Contains thousands of scholarly and critical books, peer-reviewed journals, and other periodicals, along with reference essays and literary criticism. Also includes full text classic literature and poems, and full-length videos of classic plays and films.
Online reference materials covering a variety of subjects. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search. Credo has a variety of Research Guides
with links to topic pages and other useful content in over 60 different subject areas.
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
The academic form of Google, Scholar will search for scholarly articles and books instead of websites. This includes a large number of scholarly eJournal articles subscribed to by Murrell Library. To get full text articles, you must go to “Settings” and select Missouri Valley College in the “Library Links” the very first time you use Google Scholar on your computer. Your computer will save this information and you will not have to enter it again. Click here for a guide to setting up Google Scholar.
International Music Score Library Project (Petrucci Music Library)
Contains musical scores, recordings, and articles that are in the public domain.
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) (Indexing and Abstracting only)
Indexing and Abstracting only - no full text. A compilation of literary commentary that gives users access to centuries of analysis. Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals with the exact look and feel of the print originals. Also indexes Twentieth Century Literary Criticism and Contemporary Literary Criticism (located in Murrell Library Reference).
America History & Life (EBSCOhost) (Indexing only)
An annotated bibliography focusing on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes article abstracts, reviews, and citations to dissertations.
Archival Films and Newsreels
Historical and archival films from multiple sources, including: The Prelinger Archives – U.S. cultural and social history; The WPA Film Library – over 2,800 clips and newsreels since the late 1800s; The United Newsreel collection – World War II newsreels from the U.S. Office of War Information; The Universal Newsreel collection – 7 to 10 minute newsreels, released twice per week between 1929 and 1967; Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia (EBSCOhost)
Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (Indexing and Abstracting only)
Indexing and Abstracting only - no full text. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955.
Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
An interdisciplinary database with provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Selected full-text dates from. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books andand many primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Explore Over 700,000 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections. New materials are added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, and streaming video.