Murrell Library Research Guides: History: eReference Books

Subject Headings

Library of Congress Subject Headings

HISTORY
General D — Great Britain DA — Central Europe DAW
Austria DB1- DB879 — Hungary DB901- DB999 — Czechoslovakia DB2000- DB3150
France DC — Germany DD — Greco-Roman World DE
Greece DF — Italy DG — Low Countries DH,
Eastern Europe DJ DJK — Russian Federation DK — Scandinavia DL
Spain and Portugal DP— Switzerland DQ —— Balkan Peninsula DR
Asia DS — India DS401- DS486 — China DS701- DS799.9 — Japan DS801- DS897
Korea DS901- DS937 — Africa DT43- DT154 — North Africa DT160- DT177
North West Africa DT179.2 &9— Central Africa DT348- DT363.3 —
Eastern Africa DT365- DT469 — West Africa DT470- DT671
Southern Africa DT1001- DT1190 — South Africa DT1701- DT2405
Oceania DU — Australia DU80- DU398 —— New Zealand DU400- DU430
Gypsies DX — Americas E- F — United States E151- E740
United States Local History F1- F975 — Canada F1001- F1140 —
Mexico F1201- F1392 —Latin America: General F1401- F1419
Central America F1421- F1577 —— West Indies F1601- F2191 ——
South America: General F2201- F2239 — South American Countries F2251- F3799
Economic History (by region and country) HC10- HC1085 ——
Economic History & Conditions HD28- HD9999 —— Social History HN1- HN981

British History

Brewer's Britain and Ireland
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

A richly fascinating and browsable 'heritage tour' of places and place-names in Britain and Ireland.
--------------------------------
A Brief History of Great Britain
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Narrates the history of Great Britain from the earliest times to the 21st century, covering the entire island -- England, Wales, and Scotland -- as well as associated archipelagos such as the Channel Islands, the Orkneys, and Ireland as they have influenced British history. The central story of this volume is the development of the British kingdom, including its rise and decline on the world stage.
--------------------------------
A Brief History of Ireland
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Providing a broad narrative and relating the central events that have shaped the country, this text touches on all aspects of Ireland's history, including political, economic, cultural, social, and foreign affairs. Recounting this country's long history, from the arrival of the Celts to recent economic developments that have brought booming prosperity and social change.
--------------------------------
Continuum Encyclopedia of British Literature
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Entries by more than 200 authorities covering all of British literature.
--------------------------------
The Oxford Companion to British History
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Thousands of entries offer coverage on all aspects of British history from 55 BC to the present day.
--------------------------------
The Welsh Academy Encyclopaedia of Wales
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

A comprehensive resource for topics related to Wales ranging from Snowdonia to the pampas of Patagonia, the ancient bards to the super-modern Super Furry Animals, folk heroes to Welsh Olympians, and the men and women of Wales who have excelled in art, culture, commerce and politics.
--------------------------------

Warfare

The Ashgate Research Companion to the Korean War
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Provides a comprehensive study of the literature on the causes, course, and consequences of the Korean War, 1950-1953. Aimed primarily at readers with a special interest in military history and contemporary conflict studies, the authors summarize and analyze the key research issues in what for years was known as the 'Forgotten War.'
--------------------------------
The Encyclopedia of Invasions & Conquests
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.
--------------------------------
Encyclopedia of the Alamo and the Texas Revolution
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

"Remember the Alamo!” is a phrase that is woven into the American consciousness, but what do most people really remember about the Alamo? Much of the true story has been shrouded in myth for over 150 years. This comprehensive encyclopedia provides thorough coverage for people, places, events and issues spanning the pre-Revolution period and settlement of Texas by Americans to the forming of the Republic in 1836.
--------------------------------
Encyclopedia of Warrior Peoples & Fighting Groups
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

From ferocious tribes to charismatic leaders and daring militias, this new edition explores the origins and leadership of these powerful combat forces, chronicles their conquests and accomplishments, examines the circumstances surrounding their decline or disbanding, and assesses their influence on the groups and methods of warfare that followed.
--------------------------------
Every Day of the Civil War: A Chronological Encyclopedia
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Although the book provides a daily chronicle of the combat, it is written in narrative form to give readers some continuity as they move from skirmish to skirmish.
--------------------------------
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Offers a wide range of perspectives to provide an encompassing context of the United States' military and diplomatic legacies.
--------------------------------
Reference Guide to the Major Wars and Conflicts in History: Wars in the Contemporary World (1950 to Present)
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Covers wars from the Korean War (1950-1953) to ongoing wars in Syria, the Ukraine, and Libya, among others.
--------------------------------
Reference Guide to the Major Wars and Conflicts in History: Wars in the Early 20th Century (1900 to 1950)
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Covers a period dominated by two wars that for the first time in history encompassed nearly every nation in the world, as well as numerous regional and local conflicts that nevertheless caused the death of millions of people.
--------------------------------

Popular Missouri State Publications

Official Manual of the State of Missouri (Blue Books)

This biennial source contains descriptions of state agencies, biographies of state officials and legislators, lists of county officials and of state employees. Annual pay for every state employee is listed. The Blue Book also shows election returns, some census statistics, and information on political parties. The most current edition is on the web. The library's collection of paper editions dates to the late 1880s.

Note: A bibliography of blue books for other states is provided in Chapter 2 of the book State Government Reference Publications: An Annotated Bibliography by David W. Parish (c1981).

Missouri State Financial Reports

State Budget	Full text	Print edition in library
State Tax Expenditure Report	Full text	Print edition in library
Comprehensive Annual Financial Report	Full text	Print edition in library
Appropriations to support agencies, programs, etc.	See "Appropriations" in Session Laws

Laws and Regulations, etc.

The Missouri Revised Statutes show all laws passed by the Missouri legislature that were in effect as of the book's publication date. If you wish to see a law the way it looked when it was originally passed (that is, unchanged by later amendments), use Session Laws volumes instead. If you are unable to find your topic discussed in the statutes, you may be dealing with an area covered by state regulations instead. If that is the case, check the Missouri Code of State Regulations. Finally, some legal requirements are handled in the state Constitution (see below.)

Missouri Constitution

Current Missouri Constitution (revised May 2015.) Missouri has operated under four successive constitutions, enacted in 1820, 1865, 1875 and 1945. The constitution is continually revised through amendments, and the text of amendments can be found in Session Laws. Find the full Constitution printed in editions of the Missouri Revised Statutes.

African American History

Africa's Peacemakers
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

As Africa and its diaspora commemorate fifty years of post-independence Pan-Africanism, this unique volume provides profound insight into the thirteen prominent individuals of African descent who have won the Nobel Peace Prize since 1950.
--------------------------------
African American Almanac
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

The most complete and affordable single-volume reference of African American culture available today, this almanac is a unique and valuable resource devoted to illustrating and demystifying the moving, difficult, and often lost history of black life in America.
--------------------------------
Black Firsts
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Tells stories of barrier-breaking pioneers in all fields-arts, entertainment, business, civil rights, education, government, inventing, journalism, religion, science, sports, and more.
--------------------------------
Encyclopedia of African-American Politics
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

This A-to-Z volume examines the role of African Americans in the political process from the early days of the American Revolution to the present. Focusing on basic political ideas, court cases, laws, concepts, ideologies, institutions, and political processes, this book covers all facets of African Americans in American government.
--------------------------------
Encyclopedia of African-American Writing
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, this title covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
--------------------------------
Encyclopedia of Free Blacks and People of Color in the Americas
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

When Columbus arrived in 1492, the first free black person --a sailor -set foot in the Americas. Over the next 400 years, as slavery spread and became entrenched in the Western Hemisphere, free blacks built communities throughout North and South America, playing a critical role in every region, colony, and country. From Canada to the Caribbean to Chile, they established vital economic and social institutions, championed the cause of abolition, and formed a bridge between the worlds of free whites and enslaved blacks.
--------------------------------
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance. List of primary sources in this title
--------------------------------
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Recognizing that ethnic differences are transforming American education expectations, political ideals and popular culture, Gale presents a vital, new multicultural reference. Contains original essays on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns.
--------------------------------

Slavery and Civil Rights

Encyclopedia of Emancipation and Abolition in the Transatlantic World
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Examines every effort to end slavery in the United States and the transatlantic world. It focuses on massive, broad-based movements, as well as specific incidents, events, and developments, and pulls together in one place information previously available only in a wide variety of sources.
--------------------------------
Freedom Facts and Firsts: 400 Years of the African American Civil Rights Experience
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Spanning nearly 400 years from the early abolitionists to the present, this guide book profiles people, places, and events that have shaped the history of the black struggle for freedom.
--------------------------------
Milestone Documents in African American History
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Covers iconic primary documents from the 1600s to the present. Each entry offers the full text of the document as well as an in-depth, analytical essay that places the document in its historical context. Among the sources included are important legislative documents such as the Reconstruction era amendments; critical Supreme Court decisions; and iconic speeches and writings by leaders such as Sojourner Truth, Booker T. Washington, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Barack Obama.
--------------------------------
Ripples of Hope: Great American Civil Rights Speeches
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Including a never-before published speech by Martin Luther King, Jr., this is the first compilation of its kind, bringing together the most influential and important voices from two hundred years of America's struggle for civil rights, including essential speeches from leaders, both famous and obscure.
--------------------------------
Timelines in American History: Slavery in America Timeline
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Presents a detailed chronology of important events that occurred beginning with European colonization to the end of the Civil War as well as the Reconstruction period that followed.
--------------------------------

World History

Chambers Dictionary of World History
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.
--------------------------------
The Encyclopedia of Invasions & Conquests
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.
--------------------------------
The Encyclopedia of World History
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000.
--------------------------------
The Hutchinson Chronology of World History
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

A chronology of world history through March 2018.
--------------------------------
World History: A Comprehensive Reference Set
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.
--------------------------------