Murrell Library Research Guides: Critical Thinking : Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete
EBSCOhost. Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
Humanities International Complete
EBSCOhost. Full text of over 1,200 journals and eBooks, as well as indexing for over 2,300 journals. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index.
--------------------------------
Modern World History (Infobase)
Encyclopedia and book chapters, biographies, images, videos, and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines from the mid-15th century to the present. Includes suggested research topics, Pro/Con articles, modern history themes, and K-12 education lesson plans.
--------------------------------
Credo Reference eBooks
Full-text reference eBooks, images, audio & video files, real-time research on controversial issues, and pro/con arguments. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search.
--------------------------------
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Provides pro and con articles providing in-depth information for all sides of controversial current topics. The database contains primary documents, topic overviews, and statistics. This is a good place to find supporting arguments for speeches, papers, and debates.
--------------------------------
Points of View
EBSCOhost. Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Can be used as guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Includes thousands of supporting articles from political and societal publications.
--------------------------------

Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia (full text)
EBSCOhost. Contains over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subjects.
--------------------------------
Literature Criticism Online (Gale) (Partial full text)
Partial Full Text. A compilation of literary commentary that gives users access to centuries of analysis. Scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals with the exact look and feel of the print originals. Also indexes Twentieth Century Literary Criticism and Contemporary Literary Criticism (located in Murrell Library Reference Section).
--------------------------------

Archival Films and Newsreels
Historical and archival films from multiple sources, including: The Prelinger Archives – U.S. cultural and social history; The WPA Film Library – over 2,800 clips and newsreels since the late 1800s; The United Newsreel collection – World War II newsreels from the U.S. Office of War Information; The Universal Newsreel collection – 7 to 10 minute newsreels, released twice per week between 1929 and 1967; Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
--------------------------------
eBooks from EBSCO (eMO)
Full text eBbooks, including academic, general, science, K-12, open dissertations, and nursing/health books.
--------------------------------
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
--------------------------------
Funk and Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia (full text)
EBSCOhost. Contains over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subjects.
--------------------------------
Open Dissertations
EBSCOhost. Provides citations to graduate theses and dissertations from the early 20th century to the present. Incorporates the American Doctoral Dissertations database.
--------------------------------
Overdrive eBooks, Audiobooks, Video
eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming video. Materials include popular fiction, literature, career materials, and a variety of academic titles including nursing, business, and computer science. Use Overdrive may be used on computer or tablet. For mobile use, download the Libby App from the Apple App Store, Google Play, or the Microsoft Store. Overdrive and Libby App instructions are available here.
--------------------------------
Sage Knowledge eBooks
Sage ebooks include scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, business cases studies, and streaming video. Find Sage eBooks by searching MVC's Avalon library catalog, or directly on the Sage site.
--------------------------------

Circulation Coordinator

Ms. Bathsheba Love

Email Me

Contact:

Murrell Library and Academic Support Center

660-831-4180