Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nonprofit & Leadership: Websites

  • 20th Century American Leaders Database
    Compiled by Harvard Business School to identify and chronicle the lives of 20th century men and women whose business leadership shaped the ways that people live, work, and interact.
  • American Management Association - Leadership Research
    Surveys, articles, and white papers from the AMA.
  • Art and Science of Leadership
    A collection of researched articles and activities for improving leadership, managerial and supervising skills.
  • Association for Talent Development Research Reports
    ATD Research tracks trends, informs decisions, and connects research to practice and performance
  • Center for Creative Leadership - Leadership Resources
    A small collection of podcasts, articles, white papers and other reports on leadership. Other parts of the site may be useful, but many require membership.
  • Center for Public Leadership - Research
    The CPL (from the JFK School of Government) has links to prominent people, leadership research centers, publications and - most importantly - the National Leadership Index.
  • Essay: Ethical Leadership
    Presented by the Institute for Ethical Leadership.
  • Ethical Leadership: Right Relationships and the Emotional Bottom Line
    by Desmond Berhofer and Geraldine Schwartz. Presented by the Institute for Ethical Leadership.
  • Free Management Library - Leadership
    A collection of links to leadership-related material on the Internet.
  • HBS Working Knowledge - Leadership & Management
    Large collection of working papers, interviews, etc. on a wide variety of topics such as leadership style and leading change.
  • Human Resources Internet Guide
  • Improve Your Communication Skills
    Articles from Mind Tools.
  • Leadership Development
    A commercial site that offers some free articles on leadership in their "Leader Library."
  • Leadership for a Changing World
    Encourages positive change and dialogue about the qualities that make leadership for social justice effective.
  • Leadership Learning Community
    Articles on nonprofit leadership.
  • Leadership Now
    Articles, features, books, multimedia, and other resources to encourage leaders.
  • Leadership Quotations from BrainyQuote
  • Leadership Resources at CUA
    A collection of helpful resources from the Catholic University of America
  • Leadership Styles
    From Mind Tools.
  • Leader Values
    A wide collection of free resources, including: searchable themes, links, articles, books, quotations, and a glossary.
  • Mind Tools
    Management Training, Leadership Training, and Career Training.
  • Open Directory Project--Leadership
    A human-edited Web directory constructed and maintained by a vast global community of volunteer editors.
  • Organizational Development Toolpack
    A commercial consultancy company whose website has free articles on employee and customer surveys, organizational change, performance enhancement, and other tools.
  • Philosophies and Definitions: Ethical Leadership
    Presented by the Center for Ethical Leadership.
  • Research Center for Leadership in Action
    A collection of online resources from the Research Center for Leadership in Action at New York University.
  • The Social Change Model
  • The Week In Ethics (blog)
  • Training Best Practice--A Systems Approach
    Free useful information from a consulting company.
  • World Public Opinion
  • 21 Indispensible Qualities of a Leader
    A Leadership PowerPoint from Purdue University.
  • American Management Association - Leadership Research
    Surveys, articles, and white papers from the AMA.
  • Character Above All: An Explanation of Presidential Leadership
    An exploration of leadership styles and effectiveness by U.S. presidents. Based on a PBS television program.
  • Effective Communication in Hospitals
    From the Department of Health & Human Services Office of Civil Rights.
  • Effective Meetings
    Your Meeting Resource Center
  • Essay: Ethical Leadership
    Presented by the Institute for Ethical Leadership.
  • Leadership Characteristics that Facilitate School Change: History of Leadership Research
  • Leadership in the Age of Uncertainty
    A research brief from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Leadership Center.
  • Leadership Styles
    From Mind Tools.
  • Leadership Styles
    19 leadership styles explained.
  • Leadership Styles--Goleman on Creating Resonance
  • Leadership Theories: 8 Major Leadership Theories
  • Leading Change
    Guidelines from Cornell University on leading change within an organization.
  • Leading Change: Adapting and Innovating in an Uncertain World
    An article on the importance of innovation and adaptation.
  • Non-Verbal Communication Skills: The Power of Body Language
  • Organizational Change and Development
  • Servant Leadership Blog
    Focuses on all topics related to servant leadership including recent scholarship. Created and maintained by Viterbo University.
  • Transformational Leadership
  • What Makes a Good Leader?
    A short essay from the Harvard Business School.
  • Assessment of leadership skills
    Based on the NASA Leadership Model as revised in October of 2008. Assesses individuals' skills relative to the skills of the Model for the leadership roles.
  • Case Studies in Leadership Ethics
    Case studies for discussions, papers and projects from the University of Pittsburgh.
  • Center for Creative Leadership Podcasts
  • Collegiate Ethics Case Competition (Videos of presentations)
    Center for leadership ethics at University of Arizona has a collection of videos - students' presentations of various ethic cases
  • Experiential Learning Games
  • Fun and games and "decision making."
  • How to Conduct a Simple Training Needs Assessment
  • hr-survey.com
  • HRTools
  • Improve Your Communication Skills
    Articles from Mind Tools
  • Instrument 2-1
    Needs Assessment Focus Group Discussion Questions
  • Interactive Teambuilding Games
  • Leader Values
    A wide collection of free resources, including: searchable themes, links, articles, books, quotations, and a glossary.
  • Leadership (Lectures, models, cases, quizes
  • Leadership Development
    Leadership Training and Development Outline for Leadership Development Programs.
  • Leadership Development
    Leadership Training and Development Outline for Leadership Development Programs.
  • Leadership Educators
  • The assessments offered below are based on the NASA Leadership Model as revised in October of 2008. They assess individuals' skills relative to the skills of the Model for the leadership roles.
  • Leadership tutorials
  • Leading Change
    Guidelines from Cornell University on leading change within an organization.
  • Mind Tools
    Management Training, Leadership Training, & Career Training
  • Presentation: Helping Organizations Survive and Thrive
  • Team Building Activities
  • Team Building Games
  • Ted Talks on Leadership
  • Training Best Practice--A Systems Approach
  • Training Needs Analysis Surveys
  • Words to Lead By
    • Advancing Women
      Provides career and business strategy tools and resources. Includes the full text of the journal Advancing Women In Leadership, a professional, refereed journal that focuses on women’s issues.
    • AL!VE: Association for Leaders in Volunteer Engagement
      Fosters collaboration and networking, promotes professional development, and provides advocacy for leaders in community engagement.
    • American Management Association
      A major association in the field of management, the AMA also conducts studies, surveys, and white papers dealing with leadership.
    • Association of Leadership Educators
    • CAS: Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education
    • Center for Creative Leadership
      A global provider of executive education that develops better leaders through its exclusive focus on leadership education and research.
    • Institute for Educational Leadership (IEL)
      A non-profit, nonpartisan organization based in Washington, DC which envisions a society that uses its resources effectively to achieve better futures for all children and youth.
    • International Leadership Association
      The global network for all those who practice, study and teach leadership. The ILA promotes a deeper understanding of leadership knowledge and practices for the greater good of individuals and communities worldwide.
    • Leadership Atlanta
      Celebrating more than 40 years of developing leaders, Leadership Atlanta is the oldest sustained community leadership program in the nation.
    • Leadership Development
      A commercial training company that also offers many free resourcesi n their "Leader Library."
    • Leadership Quest
    • Leaders’ Quest is a social enterprise committed to improving the quality and impact of leaders around the world through training and experiential programs.
    • National Visionary Leadership Project
      This organization unites generations to create tomorrow's leaders by recording, preserving, and distributing through various media, the wisdom of extraordinary African American elders - Visionaries - who have shaped American history.
    • OBWeb
      Organizational Behavior Division of the Academy of Management.
  • American Management Association
    One of the most prominent professional organizations.
  • Center for Creative Leadership
    Contains a variety of free white papers and articles produced by the center on leadership.
  • Center for Public Leadership
    At the Harvard Kennedy School of Government.
  • Center for Public Leadership - Research
    The CPL (from the JFK School of Government) has links to prominent people, leadership research centers, publications and - most importantly - the National Leadership Index.
  • Center for Ethical Business Cultures at the University of St. Thomas
  • Center for Ethical Leadership
    Provides research and training on ethical leadership and cultures of integrity.
  • Center for Ethical Leadership at U.T. Austin
  • Drucker Institute
    Contains scholarship by and about Peter Drucker's leadership theories. The archives contains videos of Drucker himself talking about a wide variety of topics.
  • Greenleaf Center for Servant-Leadership
    Provides information about the Greenleaf Center for Servant-Leadership, publications available for purchase, and seminars hosted by the center.
  • Holden Leadership Center at University of Oregon
  • Institute for Educational Leadership
    Envisions a society that uses its resources effectively to achieve better futures for all children and youth.
  • International Leadership Institute
    Promotes a deeper understanding of leadership knowledge and practices for the greater good of individuals and communities worldwide.
  • Leader to Leader
    Frances Hesselbein Leadership Institute.
  • Leader to Leader Institute
    Established in 1990 as the Peter F. Drucker Foundation for Nonprofit Management, the Leader to Leader Institute furthers its mission—to strengthen the leadership of the social sector—by providing social sector leaders with essential leadership wisdom, inspiration and resources to lead for innovation and to build vibrant social sector organizations.
  • LeaderValues
    Founded by Mick Yates who spent over 30 years serving as a chief executive for various major global companies and provides a variety of free articles and leadership helps centered around their 4E's framework.
  • MIT Leadership Center
  • National Visionary Leadership Project
    Unites generations to create tomorrow's leaders by recording, preserving, and distributing through various media, the wisdom of extraordinary African American elders - Visionaries - who have shaped American history.