Political Science: Identities & Politics

The Pew Research Center is a "nonpartisan fact tank" conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis, and other empirical social science research around several broad themes: U.S. politics and policy, use and influence of the media, the role of the internet and technology, Hispanics in the U.S., the role of religion in public life in the U.S. and beyond, social & demographic trends in the U.S., and global attitudes. All data and reports can be browsed by topic, searched by question, and are freely downloadable. 1997-present.

ICPSR data archive providing datasets for the comparative analysis of issues affecting racial and ethnic minority populations in the United States.

Investigation of how ethnic identity and perceptions of discrimination affect attitudes about political representation in the United States. About 1700 respondents, including oversamples of Black, Latino, and Asian respondents. A Spanish version of the survey was available. Demographic information includes age, race/ethnicity, gender, education, employment status, marital status, religion, household size and income, ancestry, citizenship status, primary home language, and nationality.

This multi-wave panel survey focused on investigating the impact of Obama’s winning on possible changes in participation, civic activity, feelings of political alienation and trust, and racial and gender attitudes and interactions. Using a nationally representative panel survey that included oversamples of Blacks, Latinos, Asians, and young people ages 18–35, the survey conducted waves leading up to the November 2008 election, about 6 months after, and a year later.

Survey exploring the nature of political involvement and participation among individuals from different racial and ethnic groups. The survey included questions about voting preferences, party affiliation, organizational membership, immigration, racial consciousness, acculturation, religion and political involvement of churches, and views of government policies. The sample included a combination of panel respondents surveyed for the 2004 wave of the study.

Survey of more than 4500 respondents who self-identified as Asian, Black, Latino, and White. 51 variables dealing with sociopolitical attitudes, mobilization and political activity and 21 items that capture demographic information, including: age, ancestry, birthplace, education, ethnicity, marital status, number in the household, religiosity, gender, media usage and residential context. A 2012 and 2016 wave have been completed, but the data aren't openly available yet.

This nationally representative random-digit dial telephone survey has 2,800 respondents and includes oversamples of Blacks, Latinos, and Asians in the United States. It contains questions that allow for the examination of the causes and consequences of two facets of American identity: (1) how people define the normative content of American identity ("identity content"); and (2) the extent to which people think of themselves primarily as American rather than primarily as a member of a pan-ethnic (i.e., Latino or Asian) or national origin group ("identity attachment"). Data in multiple formats.

"With over 3,400 respondents, the poll has a national scope as well as ample sampling of such traditionally under-polled groups as African-Americans and Latinos. Additionally, by addressing topics that have been little studied, the poll allows researchers to identify socio-cultural influences on political values throughout the country with an emphasis on the South." Site contains multiple reports based on findings; contact the center for data.

State-by-state tables of elected officials of color (and by gender) in the United States at the federal, state, and local levels.

Large-scale academic survey of political attitudes, perceptions, and electoral behaviors of a large, representative national sample of adult Black Americans. Pre- and post-election interviews were conducted in 1984, 1988, and 1996. The 1984 and 1988 surveys utilized a longitudinal panel.

Compiled by the House Clerk, various tables about Black Americans in Congress. Includes a full list of all Black Representatives and Senators by Congress and by state; committee assignments (by committee); committee chairs; Black Caucus leaders, and more. 1870-present.

The 2010 CCES involved 30 teams, yielding a Common Content sample of 55,400 cases. The Latino-Hispanic Survey was conducted concurrent to the core CCES study. The Latino-Hispanic Survey was a study of Latino/Hispanic individuals, yielding 1,150 voting-age Latinos. As part of the study, the core set of 2010 CCES Common Content questions were asked along with a battery of Latino-specific questions. Demographic information include age, income, race, and gender.

The Latino National Survey (LNS) contains 8,634 completed interviews of self-identified Latino/Hispanic residents of the United States. The survey instrument contained approximately 165 distinct items ranging from demographic descriptions to political attitudes and policy preferences, as well as a variety of social and religious indicators and experiences.

Collection of datasets on Latinos and Hispanics in the United States by UCLA professor Matt Barreto, covering public opinion, precinct level election data for various mayoral elections, and exit polls for various years and election types. Data in Stata format, 1996-2008.

Data or summary reports made available to the public by clients of this survey firm. 2007+

The Directory includes the names and addresses of the nation’s Latino elected officials; their geographic distribution; the levels of government they represent; and their political affiliation. Data in Excel; 2005-present.

Nationally representative data from telephone interviews of adult U.S. residents. Included sizable samples of Asian Americans in 9 Asian national origin groups (Chinese, Filipino, Indian, Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, Hmong, Cambodian), as well as Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islanders. Included questions about immigrant background, social identities, social attitudes, political behavior, and policy attitudes and a range of demographic variables.

Interviewed more than 5000 self-identified Asian Americans to ascertain their attitudes toward government, politics and political issues, extent of political involvement, party affiliation, sources of political information, voting behavior, health and financial status, racial and ethnic identification, discrimination, and religious and ethnic social networks.

Online database of survey questions used in Jewish social research. A project of the Berman Jewish Policy Archive @ NYU Wagner and the Berman Jewish DataBank.

PDF summaries of results from Arab, Arab American, and American opinion polls (about Arabs or Muslims) conducted by a variety of firms and institutes. 1995+

Compiled by the House Clerk, various tables about women in Congress. Includes a full list of all female representatives and senators by Congress and by state; committee assignments (by committee); female committee chairs; women of color; and more. 1917-present.

Research center at Rutgers providing scholarly research and current data about American women’s participation in politics and public life, including figures on turnout, candidate recruitment, women of color, and public office holders.

Links to a few compilations of major surveys with questions about LGBT orientation and identity.

ICPSR data archive providing datasets for the comparative analysis of issues affecting various minority populations in the United States, including LGBT populations.

List of data sources from our Data and Statistics catalog with a focus on sexual attitudes and behavior. As many of these come from ICPSR, there's a fair amount of overlap with the RCMD.

Datasets hosted in the Murray Research Archive of Harvard University on the topic of sexuality.

Includes questions about political and civic attitudes, media practices, community involvement, political engagement, credibility of news sources, and social influences. Demographic information includes age, race, gender, education, employment status, and income. ~3000 respondents ages 15-25. Multiple waves, 2011-present.

Includes two components: 1) a survey for students related to voting, political and community engagement, civic knowledge, and leadership development; 2) a survey administered to each college representatives assessing the institutional focus on civic engagement as well as academic and faculty focus on civic involvement. 2015-2017.

The Center for Information & Research on Civic Learning and Engagement (CIRCLE) studies the political knowledge and participation of young people in the United States. They provide access to the full datasets of some of their youth surveys, 2002–present. They also provide many research reports.

"Civic Learning, Engagement, and Action Data Sharing (CivicLEADS) provides infrastructure for researchers to share and access high-quality datasets which can be used to study civic education and involvement." Roughly 40 studies from the 1990s-present.

Nationally representative survey of over 1750 young adults ages 18-34 conducted bi-monthly that pays special attention to how race and ethnicity shape how respondents experience and think about the world. Full datasets available by request, beginning with June 2016.

Since 2000, Harvard's Institute of Politics has conducted semiannual polls of American college students to track their political views. This site provides access to summaries of findings and topline data in PDF.

Covers youth gambling, media use, positive youth activities, suicide risk and mental health, stigma of mental disorder, school climates, political knowledge, social trust, impulsive decision making, and automobile driver risk taking. 2002–2004.

Designed to assess political continuity and change across time for biologically-related generations and to gauge the impact of life-stage events and historical trends on the behaviors and attitudes of respondents. A national sample of high school seniors and their parents was first surveyed in 1965. Subsequent surveys of the same individuals were conducted in 1973, 1982, and 1997. This data collection combines all four waves of youth data for the study. Background variables include age, sex, religious orientation, level of religious participation, marital status, ethnicity, educational status and background, place of residence, family income, and employment status.

Collection of reports and survey datasets about generational research and the effects of age on politics from the Pew Research Center.

The ARDA is a major repository of data collections on American and international religious groups, including public opinion, U.S. congregational membership, and GIS data.

PALS is a multi-level panel study focused on religion in the U.S., with a particular focus on capturing ethnic and racial diversity. The PALS seeks to understand the impact of religion in everyday life and its change over time. Waves were completed in 2006 and 2012, covering more than 600 variables on family relationships, deviance, health, civic participation and volunteering, moral and social attitudes, and race and ethnic issues. Data in SPSS and Stata format.

The RAS project measures the extent of government involvement in religion or the lack thereof for 175 states on a yearly basis between 1990 and 2008. Covers more than 100 variables on government support, restrictions, and discrimination against religions, such as religious education, the registration of religious organizations, restrictions on proselytizing, and religious requirements for holding public office or citizenship. Data in multiple formats.

This project of the Pew Research Center examines a wide range of issues concerning religion and its relationship to public life, both in the United States and beyond. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research on religious individuals and organizations and on public policies shaped by religious views. Data and reports can be searched by question or browsed by year and topic.