Political Science: Books

Covers every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing the thought of major political theorists.
--------------------------------

From ancient and medieval philosophers such as Confucius and Thomas Aquinas, to revolutionary thought leaders such as Thomas Jefferson and Leon Trotsky, to the voices who have shaped modern politics today - Mao Zedong, Malcolm X, Che Guevara, and more - this book clearly and simply explains more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the history of political thought.
--------------------------------

Covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. While ensuring accuracy and objectivity, the entries represent interpretations that are both challenging and interesting.
--------------------------------

A comprehensive, up to date and concise guide to one of the most important branches of philosophy.
--------------------------------

Provides multi-perspective analysis of controversial terms, from "abortion" to "Zionism."
--------------------------------

Provides an overview of this important social and political movement, highlighting key events and figures, the strengths and weaknesses of the activists, and its lasting effects.
--------------------------------

Provides a short, accessible overview of the transformational and ongoing struggles against America's prison system.
--------------------------------

The purpose of this Companion is to augment that Series, by taking stock of the current state of literature on migration law, theory and policy, and to sketch out the contours of its future long-term development, in what is now a vastly expanded research agenda.
--------------------------------

Offers a fresh, up-to-date look at US government and politics, explaining and where necessary demystifying the key terms used in discussion of the political system. Major figures, events, ideas, movements and Supreme Court cases relevant to a study of the American political system are included with the aim of allowing readers to develop a deeper knowledge and understanding of the area.
--------------------------------

This A-to-Z volume examines the role of African Americans in the political process from the early days of the American Revolution to the present. Focusing on basic political ideas, court cases, laws, concepts, ideologies, institutions, and political processes, this book covers all facets of African Americans in American government.
--------------------------------

Details U.S. foreign affairs from the American Revolution up through the modern day. This comprehensive A-to-Z reference guide covers important people, groups and organizations, events, and legislation.
--------------------------------

Articles herein address not only basic subjects covered in the study of American government -- from the Bill of Rights through voting processes--but also a wide range of contemporary issues such as abortion, capital punishment, and Social Security.
--------------------------------

Provides comprehensive coverage of the American election process and its political parties.
--------------------------------

A comprehensive encyclopedia consisting of hundreds of A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration.
--------------------------------

The most up-to-date reference of its kind, the definitive guide to the role of the president from the American Revolution through the present day.
--------------------------------

Examines the in-depth history of the first Continental Congress in 1774 and the first Federal Congress in 1789. Coverage dives into the impact and role in the shaping and foundation of early American Society and government.
--------------------------------

Contains all the material a reader needs to understand the role of women throughout America's political history.
--------------------------------

4th edition; comprehensive and valuable compendium of biographies of leading women in U.S. politics, past and present, and an examination of the wide range of women's movements.
--------------------------------

Thematic essays address such topics as immigration law and policy, refugees, unauthorized migrants, racial and ethnic identity, assimilation, nationalization, economy, politics, religion, education, and family relations. Comprehensive articles on immigration from the thirty most significant nations or regions of origin.
--------------------------------

Traces the history of immigration in the United States from the eighteenth century to present day, and examines, through analysis of primary and secondary documents, how immigration policy and activism relate to public opinion. This work is about how opinions and ideas shaped and continue to shape the history of immigration and, as such, focuses on the power of ideologies, prejudices, attitudes, fears, and hopes that shape the immigrant debate.
--------------------------------

Covers aspects of the privacy vs security debate from the nineteenth century through the twenty-first century. In 2000, all Americans were entitled to a basic right to privacy established through constitutional law, common law, and statutory law. However, due to the ongoing threat of radical militant groups, U.S. laws changed between 2001 and 2017, providing government agents with broad powers to invade the privacy of American citizens for the purposes of combating this threat.
--------------------------------

Offers a wide range of perspectives to provide an encompassing context of the United States' military and diplomatic legacies.
--------------------------------

Covers the complete scandal-filled history of American political corruption. An important look at how our political system developed and changed and the forces that compelled these changes.
--------------------------------

An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents---and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more.
--------------------------------

A comprehensive overview of the policy debates surrounding U.S. public lands and the natural resources they contain. This greatly expanded second edition traces the origin and evolution of policy, the current debate and future direction of land and natural resources policy.
--------------------------------

An alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
--------------------------------

Diplomacy has spawned its own specialized terminology, and it is this lexicon which provides this title's thematic spine. Includes entries on legal terms, political events, international organizations and major figures who have occupied the diplomatic scene or have written influentially about it over the last half millennium.
--------------------------------

Offers easy to grasp explanations of the basic concepts and laws in the field, with emphasis on human rights in the historical, political, and legal experience of the United States. This indispensable resource surveys the legal protection of human dignity in the United States, examines the sources of human rights norms, cites key legal cases, explains the role of international governmental and non-governmental organizations, and charts global, regional, and UN human rights measures.
--------------------------------

Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.
--------------------------------

2nd edition, containing more than 30 new and original articles as well as six essential updates by leading scholars of global environmental politics. This landmark book maps the latest theoretical and empirical research in this energetic and growing field. Captured here are the pioneering and lively debates over concerns for the health of the planet and how they might best be addressed.
--------------------------------

In the current era of globalisation, national governments are increasingly exposed to international influences that present new constraints and opportunities for domestic environmental policies. This comprehensive, revised Handbook pushes the frontiers of theoretical and empirical knowledge, and provides a state-of-the-art examination of the multifaceted effects of globalization on environmental governance.
--------------------------------

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of abortion.
--------------------------------

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of due process.
--------------------------------

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of religion.
--------------------------------

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issues of freedom of speech, assembly, and expression.
--------------------------------

Contains concise, straightforward summaries, analyzing and explaining groundbreaking court cases on the issue of freedom of the press.
--------------------------------

Examines the international relations and political dynamics of countries, peoples, and organizations and allows politics to be viewed from a wider foundation and interconnected relationships.
--------------------------------

Provides an exhaustive and authoritative guide to technical terms used in contemporary scholarly research on poverty.
--------------------------------

Timely and unbiased, this new 4th edition explores the influence of religion on legislation and society, while examining the alignment of the religious right with the political right. From the fight to outlaw the teaching of Darwin’s theory of evolution to the struggle to outlaw abortion, the religious right is continually exerting an influence on public policy.
--------------------------------

Essential reading for those who need to understand the great sweeps of contemporary history.
--------------------------------

Examines the varied and multifaceted scholarship surrounding the topic of peace and engages in a fruitful dialogue about the global history of peace since 1750. Interdisciplinary in nature, the book includes contributions from authors working in fields as diverse as history, philosophy, literature, art, sociology, and Peace Studies.
--------------------------------

Contains biographical profiles of men and women in the United States who have demonstrated their political leadership primarily by being elected, nominated, or appointed to significant political offices in the United States.
--------------------------------

Features more than 250 A-to-Z entries on important American activists and social leaders from colonial times to the present.
--------------------------------

Evaluates each president on his effectiveness in each area and a final analysis is provided for the scores combined. The most overrated and underrated chief executives are identified, with each entry including a biographical and political information, as well as an analysis of their overall behavior and status.
--------------------------------

Since the U.S. Constitution became the law of the land on March 4, 1789, 108 men and four women have served on the United States Supreme Court. Among the most powerful individuals of their time, some justices have wielded more influence than the presidents who appointed them. In their position as interpreters of the Constitution, they have exercised great influence on the political opinions of legislators and citizens alike.
--------------------------------

The majority of our vice presidents have been men of extraordinary high aspiration, ability, and achievement. For some, the vice presidency was the deflating end of a political career; for others, the office was a stepping-stone to the presidency.
--------------------------------