Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice: Books and Journals

Books are shelved by Library of Congress call numbers. Use the library's online catalog to find books and eBooks.

 
Collins Dictionary of Law
Comprehensive coverage of business law, Scots, and Irish law. Wide coverage of business law terms. Defines legal terms of the EU and Commonwealth countries.
Collins 2006
Dictionary of Forensic Psychology
Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.
Willan Publishing 2008
Dictionary of Law
Provides clear, concise and fully up-to-date information on all aspects of civil, criminal and commercial law. Examples and encyclopedic comments help to explain complex terms from British, European and US legal procedure.
A&C Black 2007
Dictionary of Policing
Consists of entries, including summary definition, main text and key texts and sources, contributed by leading academic and practitioners in policing.
Willan Publishing 2008
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment
The essential source of reference for the increasing number of people studying in, working in prisons and working with prisoners.
Willan Publishing 2007
Dictionary of Probation and Offender Management
Contemporary probation practice is developing rapidly and is become increasingly professionalized. Probation officers are typically described now as offender managers, and the creation of NOMS (National Offender Management Service) has broadened the remit of the Probation Service. As well as bringing an increased emphasis on skills and qualifications it has also introduced a new set of ideas and concepts into the established probation lexicon - including institutional, legal, political and theoretical terms of its own as well as importing concepts from the disciplines of sociology, criminology and psychology.
Willan Publishing 2007
Dictionary of Youth Justice
This Dictionary explicitly addresses the historical, legal, theoretical, organisational, policy, practice, research and evidential contexts within which 'modern' youth justice in the UK and beyond is located.
Willan Publishing 2008
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States
This updated encyclopedia provides ready information on all aspects of capital punishment in America. It details virtually every capital punishment decision rendered by the United States Supreme Court through 2006, including more than 40 cases decided since publication of the first edition. Entries are also provided for each Supreme Court Justice who has ever rendered a capital punishment opinion. Entries on jurisdictions cite present-day death penalty laws and judicial structure state by state, with synopses of common and unique features. Also included are entries on significant U.S. capital prosecutions; legal principles and procedures in capital cases; organizations that support and oppose capital punishment; capital punishment�s impact on persons of African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native American descent, on women, and on foreign nationals; and the methods of execution. Essential facts are also provided on capital punishment in more than 200 other nations. A wealth of statistical data is found throughout.
McFarland 2008
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
This encyclopedia offers a state-of-the-art survey informed by the very latest theory and research. It combines this breadth of coverage with the authority and international perspective of an experienced editorial team, creating a definitive reference resource for students, scholars, and professionals in these interdisciplinary and dynamic fields.
Wiley 2014
Encyclopedia of Terrorism
Encyclopedia of Terrorism, Revised Edition provides students, researchers, journalists, and policymakers with a complete survey of what seems to be an ongoing problem. Entries offer comprehensive coverage of the events, people, organizations, and places that have played a major role in international terrorism.
Facts On File 2007
Essential Criminology
Designed as an alternative to overly comprehensive, lengthy, and expensive introductory texts, Essential Criminology is, as its title implies, a concise overview of the field. The book guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured.
Westview Press 2015
The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights
With public debate of gun violence at an all-time high, this new third edition of The Gun Debate: An Encyclopedia of Gun Control & Gun Rights is a must-have resource for all libraries.
Grey House Publishing 2016
Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals
Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings.
Elsevier Science & Technology 2003
The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book
The Handy Forensic Science Answer Book provides a fascinating look at the science of law enforcement and how even the smallest clues can yield useful information.
Visible Ink Press 2018
Introduction to Security
Introduction to Security has been the leading text on private security for over thirty years. Celebrated for its balanced and professional approach, this new edition gives future security professionals a broad, solid base that prepares them to serve in a variety of positions.
Elsevier Science & Technology 2012
Key Concepts in Crime and Society
Key Concepts in Crime and Society offers an authoritative introduction to key issues in the area of crime as it connects to society.
Sage UK 2014
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law
Over 10,000 entries explain the vocabulary used in legal situations. Entries include definitions pronunciations, and frequent supplementary notes.
Merriam-Webster 2011
World of Criminal Justice, Gale
The individual entries in this ready-reference source explain in concise, detailed, and jargon-free language some of the most important topics, theories, discoveries, concepts, and organizations in criminal justice. Brief biographical profiles of the people who have made a significant and lasting impact on the field of criminal justice and society in general are included. Photographs, statistical charts, and graphs aid the reader in understanding the topics and people covered in the reference work.
Gale 2002

Periodicals

Most print magazines and journals are located in alphabetical order by title in the periodicals section unless otherwise noted.

  • Corrections Today - The professional membership publication of the American Correctional Association (ACA). Its international readership includes individuals involved in every sector of the corrections and criminal justice fields.
  • Criminal Justice Ethics - Addresses ethical issues arising in all of the contexts of criminal justice, exploring their conceptual, normative, and empirical aspects and the relations between them. Includes full-length critical reviews of important books across the full range of relevant topical areas.
  • Journal of Interpersonal Violence (Scholarly) - A peer-reviewed, academic journal that publishes papers in the field of criminology, and focuses on the study of victims and perpetrators of interpersonal violence.
  • Women and Criminal Justice (Scholarly) - A peer-reviewed journal addressing female offenders, victims and practitioners, and analyses of the intersections of race, ethnicity, and/or class with gender.