Murrell Library Research Guides: Criminal Justice: Finding Articles in Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Database
ProQuest. Full text articles from scholarly and trade titles on criminal justice, causes and impacts of crime, legal and social implications, litigation, and crime trends. 1981 to current.
--------------------------------
Academic Search Complete
EBSCOhost. Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
PsycArticles (APA PSycArticles)
EBSCOhost. Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other leading sources. Includes access to full-text issues from 1894 to the present.
--------------------------------
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) (partial full text)
EBSCOhost. Partial full text and abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, educational psychology, behavioral science, and mental health dating back to the 1800s.
--------------------------------
Psychology Database w/ PTSDpubs (ProQuest)
Full text articles on a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications in clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and education.
PTSDpubs indexes material on PTSD and mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, attempting to include all relevant publications from 1871 to the present without limitations of origin, discipline, language, or geography. Created by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Links to some full text.
--------------------------------
News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (featuring Newsweek)
Full text of 15 major magazines dealing with current events, international relations, and public policy. Coverage: 1918 – 2015. Titles include: Americas, Church & State, Common Cause Magazine, Dollars & Sense, Europe, Fellowship, In These Times, NATO Review, New Internationalist, Newsweek, State Legislatures, UN Chronicle, The Unesco Courier, Whole Earth, and The World Tomorrow. Also contains thousands of open-access journal titles from the Publicly Available Content Database.
--------------------------------
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
--------------------------------

Education Full Text
EBSCOhost. Covers over 400 core periodicals geared toward educators and future educators with indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles available.
--------------------------------
ERIC (partial full text)
EBSCOhost. Abstracts of education books, articles, and documents (1966 to present), with some full text. For journal articles (with an EJ number) which are not linked, search for holdings by the journal title. For ERIC Documents that are not available online, Murrell Library has the text on Microfiche from 1988 - 2001 (ED284957 to ED453975), They are arranged by the ED number (ERIC Document Number), which is found in the record.
--------------------------------
Issues & Controversies (Facts on File/InfoBase)
Balanced coverage of international topics and how historical events and conflicts have influenced U.S. and world history. The database is divided into four sections—American History Eras, World History Eras, History Regions, and History Subjects. Includes videos, teacher lesson plans/handouts, primary sources, encyclopedia articles, editorial cartoons, court cases, and timelines.
--------------------------------
Masterfile Premier
EBSCOhost. An interdisciplinary database with provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Selected full-text dates from. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books andand many primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
--------------------------------
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale)
Provides pro and con articles providing in-depth information for all sides of controversial current topics. The database contains primary documents, topic overviews, and statistics. This is a good place to find supporting arguments for speeches, papers, and debates.
--------------------------------
Points of View
EBSCOhost. Designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. Can be used as guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills. Includes thousands of supporting articles from political and societal publications.
--------------------------------

Credo Reference eBooks
Full-text reference eBooks, images, audio & video files, real-time research on controversial issues, and pro/con arguments. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search.
--------------------------------
eBooks from EBSCO (eMO)
Full text eBbooks, including academic, general, science, K-12, open dissertations, and nursing/health books.
--------------------------------
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
--------------------------------
Open Dissertations
EBSCOhost. Provides citations to graduate theses and dissertations from the early 20th century to the present. Incorporates the American Doctoral Dissertations database.
--------------------------------
Overdrive eBooks, Audiobooks, Video
eBooks, audiobooks, and streaming video. Materials include popular fiction, literature, career materials, and a variety of academic titles including nursing, business, and computer science. Use Overdrive may be used on computer or tablet. For mobile use, download the Libby App from the Apple App Store, Google Play, or the Microsoft Store. Overdrive and Libby App instructions are available here.
--------------------------------
Sage Knowledge eBooks
Sage ebooks include scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, business cases studies, and streaming video. Find Sage eBooks by searching MVC's Avalon library catalog, or directly on the Sage site.
--------------------------------
Salem Press eBooks
eBooks from Salem Press.
--------------------------------