Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals (Indexing only)
Indexes articles, news items, book reviews and editorials from 63 English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
America History & Life (EBSCOhost) (Indexing only)
An annotated bibliography focusing on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes article abstracts, reviews, and citations to dissertations.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (Indexing only)
Indexes open-access academic resources including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections. About 60% of the sources are available in full text. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Online reference materials covering a variety of subjects. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search. Credo has a variety of Research Guides
with links to topic pages and other useful content in over 60 different subject areas.
eBooks from EBSCO (eMO)
Electronic books from 18 collections, including K-12, general, academic, science, open dissertations, and nursing/health books. From MOBIUS and Murrell Library.
The academic form of Google, Scholar will search for scholarly articles and books instead of websites. This includes a large number of scholarly eJournal articles subscribed to by Murrell Library. To get full text articles, you must go to “Settings” and select Missouri Valley College in the “Library Links” the very first time you use Google Scholar on your computer. Your computer will save this information and you will not have to enter it again. Click here for a guide to setting up Google Scholar.
A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCOhost) (Indexing and Abstracting only)
Indexing and Abstracting only - no full text. Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women’s history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages dating back to 1955.
Humanities International Complete (EBSCOhost)
Provides full text of over 1,200 journals and eBooks, as well as indexing for over 2,300 journals. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index
Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
An interdisciplinary database with provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Selected full-text dates from. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books andand many primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Missouri Digital Heritage
Access to more than 9 million records through Missouri Digital Heritage, including the collections of the Missouri State Archives, the Missouri State Library and other institutions from across the state.
New York Times Online
A national leader in fact-based journalism. The NYT Online contains access to current issues as well as past issues and archives dating back to 1851. You will need to create your own unique login the first time that you access the New York Times website.
Public Affairs Index (EBSCOhost) (Indexing and Abstracting only)
Indexing and Abstracting only - no full text. Indexes global contemporary public policy issues including public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, international conflict, and natural disasters. This database draws on a diverse array of scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents, and current reference works. Click here to access this database.
American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Streaming access to over 7,000 historic public radio and television programs along with data records for approximately 2.5 million items.
Archival Films and Newsreels
Historical and archival films from multiple sources, including: The Prelinger Archives – U.S. cultural and social history; The WPA Film Library – over 2,800 clips and newsreels since the late 1800s; The United Newsreel collection – World War II newsreels from the U.S. Office of War Information; The Universal Newsreel collection – 7 to 10 minute newsreels, released twice per week between 1929 and 1967; Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
C-SPAN Video Library
Covers floor proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, public affairs events, congressional hearings, press briefings, speeches, and news conferences related to public affairs. Over 238,000 hours of programming made available to the public for free in an effort to provide government transparency to the American people.
A legal research database containing Federal, state, and Tribal cases, statutes, and regulations. For Federal courts, Casemaker includes all published cases. Although states vary, most published state cases are available back to the beginning, including Kansas (1862), Missouri Supreme Court (1821), Missouri Appellate (1876). Also includes a “Citing References & Cited Cases Graph,” which helps you determine if a case is still good law. *You will need to sign up using your @moval.edu email account the first time you access Casemaker.
Congressional Research Service Reports
Contains reports from the Congressional Research Service, which provides valuable insight and non-partisan analysis of issues of public debate.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Contains data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, etc.
Data and Statistics about the U.S.
Contains a variety of government statistical information.
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
Compilation of publicly available information on developments in a globalised world. Presents data on a wide range of topics and from a broad range of international statistical resources.
Contains status of federal legislation, information about representative and senators including voting records, and original research on legislation and congressional oversight & investigations.
Missouri Code of State Regulations
Site which has current and archived Missouri state regulations. Updated each year.
Missouri House and Senate Joint Bill Tracking
Search by Bill Number, Keyword, or Sponsor-Co-Sponsor to track actions on bills in the Missouri Legislature.
Missouri State Publications
A collection of selected Missouri State Government publications from Missouri State Agencies contributed to the Internet Archives by the Missouri State Library
Streaming Audio, Video, and eBooks available on computer, tablet, or phone with your MoVal login information. The Libby
app is available from Apple's App Store
, from Google Play
, or from Microsoft
. For questions, call Murrell Library at 660-831-4180.
Provides access to Congressional reports, legislation, congressional records, and other legislative information. Formerly "THOMAS Congressional Reports."