Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Communication and Mass Media: Books and Journals

Avalon (Library Catalog)

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon and Request Books - Lists books, journals, and videos owned by Murrell Library & Commons. Log in to Avalon to renew items, request books, and place holds. Ask Us @ Your Library for assistance!

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: 
A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College | Hannibal-LaGrange University
Moberly Area Community College | State Fair Community College | State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University
Map of Avalon Libraries

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon by Journal Title
If the title begins with AAN, or The, leave it off.

Search AVALON - Library Catalog for MVC

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College
Hannibal-LaGrange University | Moberly Area Community College | State Fair Community College | State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon by Author
Always use lastname, firstname.

Search AVALON - Library Catalog for MVC

 

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College
Hannibal-LaGrange University | Moberly Area Community College | State Fair Community College | State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University

Avalon Icon

Search Avalon by Library of
Congress Subject Heading

Avalon also includes the collections of the following Missouri libraries: A.T. Still University | Central Methodist University | Culver-Stockton College
Hannibal-LaGrange University | Moberly Area Community College | State Fair Community College | State Technical College of Missouri | Truman State University

Avalon IconUse the Advanced Search in Avalon!

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Avalon Icon

Log in to your Library Account

Renew library items and place holds. The first time you login you will need to create a 4 digit pin. For assistance, please contact the library at (660) 831-4180.

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Moibus Catalog LogoSearch the MOBIUS Catalog

MOBIUS is a consortium of libraries in Missouri, Iowa, Kansas, Oklahoma, and Arkansas. The MOBIUS catalog will search all 78 member libraries (including MVC). You can initiate book requests for items we don't own. We have a courier service between libraries.

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Prospector Catalog Logo

Search the Prospector Catalog

Prospector is the library catalog for the Colorado Association of Research Libraries, which contains 56 members (some in Wyoming, also!). You can initiate book requests for items we don't own.

We are here to help. Ask us for assistance with any of your papers, projects, speeches, or other assignments that require library resources. Come to the library or make an appointment with the library liaison that works with that subject. Email library@moval.edu and we will connect you with the right person. Remember: Ask Us @ Your Library!

Periodicals

Most print magazines and journals are located in alphabetical order by title in the periodicals section unless otherwise noted.

Journal Websites

Books

  • PN1990-1992.92 Broadcasting
  • PN1991-1991.9 Radio broadcasts
  • PN1992-1992.92 Television broadcasts 
  • PN4699-5650 Journalism. The periodical press, newspapers, etc.
  • PN4735-4748 Relation to the state. Government and the press. Liberty of the press
  • PN4775-4784 Technique. Practical journalism
  • PN4825-4830 Amateur journalism
  • PN4832-4836 Magazines and other periodicals
  • PN4840-5648 By region or country
  • TR820 Photojournalism