Murrell Library Research Guides: Exercise Science, PE, Nutrition, Coaching: Finding Articles

Databases

Academic Search Complete
EBSCOhost. Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
EBSCOhost. Full-text and abstracts for over 770 nursing & allied health journals, dating back to 1937.
--------------------------------
Consumer Health Complete
EBSCOhost. Consumer-oriented health content including mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Also includes the Clinical Reference System, a medical dictionary, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
--------------------------------
Consumer Health Database
ProQuest. Full text articles from journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, including food and nutrition, dentistry, eye care, midwifery, sports injuries, and women's health.
--------------------------------
Health & Medical Collection
ProQuest. Reliable and comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, and health administration.
--------------------------------
Healthcare Administration Database
ProQuest. Full text articles in accounting, finance, leadership, management, marketing, human resources, and healthcare administration, including journals and dissertations.
--------------------------------
Health Research Premium
Full text articles and indexing for medical, nursing, psychological, and psychiatric information, as well as management, marketing, sports management, nutrition, and exercise science. Contains the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to Present. Health Research Premium may be searched together or in subsets. The subsets include:
Consumer Health Database Coronovirus Research Database Health & Medical Collection Healthcare Administration Database Nursing & Allied Health Database Psychology Database w/ PTSDPubs Public Health Database
--------------------------------
Medline (abstracts with some links to full text)
ProQuest. Abstracts of articles from over 4,800 journals, 1946- present, dealing with medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
--------------------------------
Natural Science Collection
ProQuest. Full text and abstracts of scholarly, trade, and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications. Fields covered include agriculture, biology, environmental, atmospheric, and Earth sciences, and aquatic sciences. The Database may be searched together or in subsets. The subsets include:
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (includes AGRICOLA) Biological Science Collection Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Collection Environmental Collection
--------------------------------
Nursing & Allied Health Database
ProQuest. Reliable and comprehensive articles in the fields of nursing and allied health, including journals, video, dissertations, and reference books.
--------------------------------
Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine
EBSCOhost. Full-text of over 190 sports and rehabilitation journals aimed at hospital rehabilitation and sports clinicians. Full-text coverage since 1963.
--------------------------------

PsycArticles (APA PSycArticles)
EBSCOhost. Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other leading sources. Includes access to full-text issues from 1894 to the present.
--------------------------------
PsycInfo (APA PsycInfo) (partial full text)
EBSCOhost. Partial full text and abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, educational psychology, behavioral science, and mental health dating back to the 1800s.
--------------------------------
Education Full Text
EBSCOhost. Covers over 400 core periodicals geared toward educators and future educators with indexing, abstracts, and full-text articles available.
--------------------------------
ERIC (partial full text)
EBSCOhost. Abstracts of education books, articles, and documents (1966 to present), with some full text. For journal articles (with an EJ number) which are not linked, search for holdings by the journal title. For ERIC Documents that are not available online, Murrell Library has the text on Microfiche from 1988 - 2001 (ED284957 to ED453975), They are arranged by the ED number (ERIC Document Number), which is found in the record.
--------------------------------
PLOS: Public Library of Science
A non-profit open-access science publisher.
--------------------------------
Psychology Database w/ PTSDpubs (ProQuest)
Full text articles on a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications in clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and education.
PTSDpubs indexes material on PTSD and mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events, attempting to include all relevant publications from 1871 to the present without limitations of origin, discipline, language, or geography. Created by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Links to some full text.
--------------------------------
Public Health Database
ProQuest. This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.
--------------------------------
Science Reference Center
EBSCOhost. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
--------------------------------

IRIS
Produced by the World Health Organization, IRIS (Institutional Repository for Information Sharing) is a digital library of all WHO publications since 1948. It is freely accessible in the six official WHO languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.)
--------------------------------
PubMed Central®
A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.
--------------------------------

Consumer Health Complete
EBSCOhost. Consumer-oriented health content including mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Also includes the Clinical Reference System, a medical dictionary, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
--------------------------------
Consumer Health Database
ProQuest. Full text articles from journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, including food and nutrition, dentistry, eye care, midwifery, sports injuries, and women's health.
--------------------------------
Health Research Premium
Full text articles and indexing for medical, nursing, psychological, and psychiatric information, as well as management, marketing, sports management, nutrition, and exercise science. Contains the Wall Street Journal from 1984 to Present. Health Research Premium may be searched together or in subsets. The subsets include:
Consumer Health Database Coronovirus Research Database Health & Medical Collection Healthcare Administration Database Nursing & Allied Health Database Psychology Database w/ PTSDPubs Public Health Database
--------------------------------
Nutrition.gov
Nutrition.gov is a USDA-sponsored website that offers credible information to help you make healthful eating choices. It serves as a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers. The site is updated on an ongoing basis by a staff of Registered Dietitians at the Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), Agricultural Research Service (ARS), U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). The website receives content guidance from a working group that consists of scientific experts in food and nutrition within USDA and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
--------------------------------

Assistant Dean of Library & Academic Support Services

Mrs. Samantha Perkins

she, her, hers

Email Me

Contact:

Murrell Library and Academic Support Center

660-831-4187