Murrell Library Research Guides: African-Americans & the Black Experience: Databases for African-American Research

Databases and Newspapers

Core Research Databases
Online Newspapers

American History Database (Infobase)
Encyclopedia entries, book chapters, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs on American history. The "Decades and Eras" and "Daily Life" sections provides information about various time periods. “Suggested Research Topics” provides guidance for research. Also covers multicultural and social history, foreign affairs, and wars. Includes K-12 education lesson plans.
--------------------------------
Credo Reference eBooks
Full-text reference eBooks, images, audio & video files, real-time research on controversial issues, and pro/con arguments. Includes special tools such as a Mind Map, topic search, and image search.
--------------------------------
JSTOR
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection includes all 2,800+ academic journals on JSTOR that span more than 60 disciplines across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences, along with millions of primary sources across four collections.

--------------------------------
Modern World History (Infobase)
Encyclopedia and book chapters, biographies, images, videos, and slideshows, maps and graphs, primary sources, and timelines from the mid-15th century to the present. Includes suggested research topics, Pro/Con articles, modern history themes, and K-12 education lesson plans.
--------------------------------
Humanities International Complete
EBSCOhost. Full text of over 1,200 journals and eBooks, as well as indexing for over 2,300 journals. Includes all data from the Humanities International Index.
--------------------------------
Academic Search Complete
EBSCOhost. Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.

Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national (U.S.), international and regional newspapers. In addition, it offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
--------------------------------
Regional Business News
EBSCOhost. Full text coverage of more than 80 regional U.S. business publications.
--------------------------------

Streaming Videos

Videos

PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition
This collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives you access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
--------------------------------
Kanopy
With an expertly curated collection of essential videos across various courses of study, you can now stream thousands of films for free using your MVC login. To use Kanopy on a mobile device or chromebook, you must download the Kanopy app.
--------------------------------
Films on Demand (InfoBase)
Full-length streaming videos in a variety of core subject areas.
--------------------------------