Murrell Library Research Guides: Economics Resources: Books

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Anti-Capitalist Dictionary
An alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.
--------------------------------
Collins Dictionary of Business
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

--------------------------------
Collins Dictionary of Economics
Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.
--------------------------------
The Elgar Companion to Consumer Research and Economic Psychology
This major reference book provides an authoritative analysis and survey of consumer research and economic psychology. It provides an international, in-depth overview of the present state of knowledge and theory which will be indispensable to students, researchers and practitioners.
--------------------------------
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Contains essays covering specific businesses that have shown evidence of significant growth in the recent past or potential for exemplary growth in the future. Students, entrepreneurs, investors, and job seekers alike will find information on technical subjects as arcane as optical sensing or encryption systems, and on topics as commonplace as gambling casinos.
--------------------------------
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics
Comprehensive encyclopedia features accessible, informative and provocative contributions by leading international scholars working in the tradition of Keynes.
--------------------------------
The Encyclopedia of Public Choice
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.
--------------------------------
The Encyclopedia of Strikes in American History
A collection of historical research on strikes in America comprised of two types of essays, those focused on an industry or economic sector and those focused on a theme. This approach provides a detailed perspective as well broad historical and social coverage of the topic.
--------------------------------
Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History
Presents vast era overviews, event and movement profiles, biographies, business and industry profiles, geographic profiles, and more.
--------------------------------
Guide to Economic Indicators by Norman Frumkin
Publication Date: 2006

Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.
--------------------------------
The Handbook of Economic Sociology
Focuses on international and global concerns in economic sociology, institutional analysis, the transition from socialist economies, organization and networks, and the economic sociology of the ancient world.
--------------------------------
More Than a Numbers Game by Thomas A. King
Call Number: HF5616.U5 K53 2006

Publication Date: 2006

--------------------------------
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Business, Labor, and Economic History
Offers a wide range of perspectives to provide an encompassing context of the United States' labor and economic histories.
--------------------------------
Routledge Dictionary of Economics
3rd edition, providing the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. Perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields is essential.
--------------------------------
The Value of a Dollar: 1600-1865
For both the user who simply wants to know what life was like for early Americans and the serious historical researcher. This fascinating survey will serve a wide range of research needs and will be useful in all high school, public and academic library reference collections.
--------------------------------
The Value of a Dollar: 1860-2014
Records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities.
--------------------------------

Books
Subject Headings

50 Classics Series: 50 Economics Classics
Publication Date: 2017

From Karl Marx to Naomi Klein, from The Wealth of Nations to Piketty's Capital, here are the 50 most important titles on finance and world economy distilled.
--------------------------------
Applied Statistics for Business and Economics by Robert M. Leekley
Call Number: EBSCO eBook

--------------------------------
Basic Economics: A Common Sense Guide to the Economy
In this fifth edition, Thomas Sowell revises and updates his popular book on common sense economics, bringing the world into clearer focus through a basic understanding of the fundamental economic principles and how they explain our lives. Drawing on lively examples from around the world and from centuries of history, Sowell explains basic economic principles for the general public in plain English.
--------------------------------
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Economics Book
From Aristotle and Thomas Aquinas, to Adam Smith and John Maynard Keynes, to the top economic thought leaders of today, this is the essential reference for students and anyone else with an interest in how economies work.
--------------------------------
The Changing Wealth of Nations: Building a Sustainable Future
Covers national wealth for 141 countries over 20 years (1995-2014) as the sum of produced capital, 19 types of natural capital, net foreign assets, and human capital overall as well as by gender and type of employment.
--------------------------------
Key Concepts in Work by Paul Blyton; Jean Jenkins
Call Number: Credo Reference eBooks

Publication Date: 2007

Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work.
--------------------------------
The Making of Modern Economics by Mark Skousen
Publication Date: 2009

Now updated to include more information on Adam Smith, Karl Marx, Joseph Stglitz, imperfect markets, and behavioral economics, Mark Skousen's popular work provides an accessible introduction to the major economic thinkers of the past 225 years - including little-known and often amusing facts about their personal lives.
--------------------------------
The Nobel Memorial Laureates in Economics by Howard R. Vane; Chris Mulhearn
ISBN: 9781843766001

Publication Date: 2005

An invaluable reference book on key figures in economics and their path-breaking insights. Encourages the reader to sample some of the Laureates' original works and gain a better understanding of the context in which new ideas were first put forward.
--------------------------------
The Oxford Companion to International Relations
Examines the international relations and political dynamics of countries, peoples, and organizations and allows politics to be viewed from a wider foundation and interconnected relationships.
--------------------------------
Poverty: An International Glossary
Provides an exhaustive and authoritative guide to technical terms used in contemporary scholarly research on poverty.
--------------------------------
The World of Child Labor: An Historical and Regional Survey
Details both the current and historical state of child labor in each region of the world, focusing on its causes, consequences, and cures.
--------------------------------

Economics, general: HB1-HB130
Economics-history: HB75-HB130
Economics-mathematics:: HB135
Economics-statistical methods: HB137
Econometrics: HB139
Microeconomics: HB172
Macroeconomics: HB172.5
Economic forecasting: HB3730
Economic assistance: HC59.8-HC60.5
Environmental economics: HC79.E5
Managerial economics: HD30.22
Economic development: HD72-HD88
Economic policy: HD87
Labor economics: HD4901
Law and economics K487.E3
International economic relations: HF1351-HF1359
Urban economics HT321