Murrell Library Research Guides: Marketing &amp; Advertising: Websites

Ad*Access - The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
AdCracker - Create your own marketing and advertising concepts.
Ad Critic - Now run by Advertising Age.
AdFlip.com - "The world's largest searchable database of classic print ads."
AdForum - Worldwide advertising and ad agencies.
Ad Resource - Internet Advertising and Promotion Resources
Advertising Agencies in America - A directory.
Advertising Icon Museum
Advertising Self-Regulatory Council (ASRC)
Advertising World - Resources for advertising & marketing professionals, students, and teachers.
American Customer Satisfaction Index - From the University of Michigan, National Cross-Industry Benchmarks of Customer Satisfaction for the United States and the United Kingdom.
American Academy of Advertising
American Academy of Advertising
American Marketing Association
Association for the Advancement of Relationship Marketing (AARM)
Business and Market Intelligence
Business Researcher's Interests - Built for the serious market researcher, this site contains a wide array of high-level marketing tools. The index includes over 2,000 links to online resources, including newspapers, full-text databases, online libraries, and free reports from government, industry, and academia.
Claritas MyBestSegments - Claritas evaluates market segments. Includes zip code look up. Limited free content.
ClickZStats - Formerly Cyberatlas, the site provides readers with valuable statistics and Web marketing information, enabling them to understand their business environment and make more informed business decisions.
Direct Marketing Association
Emergence of Advertising in America - Presents over 9,000 images, with database information, relating to the early history of advertising in the United States.
Explore Census Data - Access to a variety of U.S. census data and government surveys. Locate statistics for your community, county, state, or beyond. Includes data on age, population, race, income, the economy, education, family make-up, health and more.
GreenBook - Worldwide Directory of Marketing Research Companies and Services.
InsightExpress - Fee based Market Research reports.
International Advertising Association - A national trade organization headquartered in New York representing the advertising agency business, providing information on upcoming conferences, membership benefits or professional development programs.
Internet Intelligence Index - The Internet Intelligence Index is a compilation of sites useful in gathering competitor and marketplace information on the Internet.
KnowThis.com - The Internet's Reference & Resource Web Site for Marketing, Research, Advertising, Selling, Promotion & More.
MarketingProfs.com - Free registration and articles, tutorials and marketing FAQs.
Market Research Portal
Marketing Research Association
The Marketing Resource Center - The Marketing Resource Center is designed to assist businesses with their traditional and Internet marketing efforts.
Media Finder
National Association of Sales Professionals
National Retail Federation
New York Public Library - A guide to starting your own business and how to do the marketing research.
The Right Site - Demographic reference and site selection service on the Web.
Sales and Marketing Executives International (SMEI)
Scarborough Research - A Marketing Research Company
Science, Tobacco and You - Good resource on tobacco advertising with some general information.
U.S.A.Data Local Market Data Resource - USADATA provides updated consumer marketing data for marketing professionals and industry specialists. The site integrates demographic, lifestyle, and consumer shopping and product consumption data to provide an analysis of present and future U.S. consumer trends.
United States Population Projections: 2000 to 2050 - From the U.S. Census Bureau.
Ypulse - Daily news and commentary about Generation Y.
ZIP Lookup - From Esri, this site provides limited free segmentation data. Includes income, age and population density data.

Ad Council
Advertising Age
Advertising Self-Regulatory Council (ASRC)
American Academy of Advertising
American Association of Advertising Agencies (AAAA)
American Marketing Association (AMA)
Association for the Advancement of Relationship Marketing (AARM)
Better Business Bureau (BBB) - Check for BBB accreditation, consumer complaints.
ClickZ Network
Direct Marketing Association
Marketing Research Association
Media Finder
National Association of Sales Professionals
National Retail Federation
The National Retail Federation's membership includes retailers of all sizes and formats as well as chain restaurants and other industry partners. Useful links to their industry research, but some is limited to members only.
Sales and Marketing Executives International (SMEI)

E-Stats
From the U.S. Census Bureau, an annual report on e-commerce. Also has links to current year quarterly statistics on e-commerce.
Global Technology Forum
From the Economist Intelligence Unit, a guide to conducting e-commerce around the world. Don't miss their Research Portal with dozens of links to additional information.
Marketing Tutorials by Knowthis.com
A collection of web links to information about internet marketing from KnowThis.com, a well known marketing web portal.

Websites

24/7 Missouri
A website from the State of Missouri for helping businesses.
Marshall Chamber of Commerce
A local advocacy and business development group.
Missouri Business Alert
A top site for local business news.
Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry
The Chamber lobbies for business-friendly legislation and provides economic development resources.
Missouri Partnership
Missouri Partnership is a public-private economic development partnership designed to increase the visibility of Missouri as a globally competitive business location and attract new jobs and investment to the state. The Partnership works in partnership with the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the Hawthorn Foundation and economic development agencies across the state.
Missouri Secretary of State Business Services
The Business Services Division is committed to making it easier to do business in Missouri. The Division has four primary units. The Corporations Unit handles the creation and maintenance of all business entities doing business in Missouri. The Notaries & Commissions Unit performs an array of functions including commissioning notaries public. The UCC Unit processes personal property lien filings. The Safe at Home address confidentiality program helps protect victims of domestic violence, rape, sexual assault, human trafficking, stalking, or other crimes who fear for their safety by authorizing the use of a designated address on new public records.
National Federation of Independent Businesses
An advocacy group for small businesses and entrepreneurs.
University of Missouri Extension - Business Development
Help for start-up businesses in Missouri.