Finding Statistical Information: Economic & Financial

Links to mostly free statistical sites and datasets with economic information.

The Conference Board, founded in 1916, is an independent non-profit global organisation that provides a range of international data.

This is a good place to find out which databases and sources are your best bet for locating data on a variety of topics not covered in the guides.

Covers major sources for statistics on petroleum, coal, electricity, nuclear, carbon, renewables, and alternative energy.

Covers stocks, bonds, fundamentals, loans, commodities, corporate governance, futures, hedge funds, mutual funds, real estate, private equity, and more.

627,000 US and international time series from 89 sources updated daily from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

Guide to major sources for international macroeconomic statistics, including historical, subnational, financial, industrial, and development sources.

Sources on multinational trade; trade statistics from the USA, EU, OECD, and other regions; tariffs; trade agreements; and subnational statistics.

A large collection of microdata and other datasets owned or licensed by Princeton, grouped by topic.

Guide to major sources for U.S. macroeconomic statistics, including historical, subnational, financial, labor, and tax sources.

The Asian Development Bank publishes a range of economic, financial, social, environmental and Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) statistics on its 49 member countries from the Asia and Pacific region (there are 68 members in total). In the statistics section, you can search by country under the headings: Economic Indicators, Poverty Indicators and Statistical Reports.

An international organisation which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation and serves as a bank for central banks.

From the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development.

From the International Monetary Fund.

This section of the site contains various datasets classified under a number of headings, such as Development, Economic Projections, Labour and National Accounts. You can customise the datasets by series, countries and years.

From the World Trade Organization.

The United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) site has an online statistical database, UNCTADstat. This contains data on international trade, foreign direct investment (FDI), commodity prices, economic trends, population and labour, external financial resources and maritime transport.