Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Videos and Tutorials: Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Searching

Basic Search

If you're just looking to browse articles on your topic without much concern for specificity, you may want to use the Basic Search function, which is on the homepage:

OVIC Homepage screenshot

Type in your keyword(s) into the search box at the top of the page (outlined in red). As you start typing, a dropdown menu will appear with suggested terms. You can either click on a term that is relevant, or type out what you'd like to search for in full. 

Hit Enter on your keyboard, or click the magnifying glass to the right to see your results.

 


Advanced Search

In advanced searching, you are given more ability to pinpoint exactly the kinds of articles you would like to see in your results.

To get to Advanced Searching, find the magnifying glass with the plus sign (+) that says "Advanced" directly to the right of the search box at the top of the page (this will be there regardless of where you have navigated in LRC). This is what the advanced search page looks like:

In Contexts Advanced Search screenshot

 

  • In order to search by author’s nametitlesubject term, etc., use the dropdown menu by the search box to select the appropriate field.
    • If you do not choose an option from this menu, the database will automatically search your first term in title, author, subjects, and beginning text. It will search your second term in the title only. And it will search your third term as "Person - About", or who the article is about. 
    • You can change these at any time before you run your search.
  • To broaden or narrow your search results, use the ‘AND’ dropdown menus before the 2nd and 3rd text boxes
    • There will be three options: AND (which is automatically chosen), OR, & NOT
    • AND: will only display results that include both/all the search terms
    • OR: will display all results with either/any of the search terms
    • NOT: will display results with the previous search terms, but will leave out results that include the following search term
  • If you need more than the three provided text boxes for search terms, click the "Add a Row" button (above the blue Search button) and use as normal
  • More Options are automatically displayed
    • You can choose if you want to search through Global Issues in Context, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, or both by using the dropdown menu.
    • You can limit by date of publicationcontent typelanguagepublication title, document type, language, and Lexile Reading Level.
    • Use the dropdown menus under each header to select what you'd like to search. 
    • Check the boxes or click the options in the lists that you would like to limit by
  • When you are ready, click the blue "Search" button
Searching Tips!
  • Not sure which word ending to use?
    • Attach an * to the base of your term, and the database will search for words that start with that string of letter, regardless of what the ending is.
    • Example: searching for poli* will pull results for policy, politics, political, politicians, etc.
    • You can see up above that I used one at the end of "feminis*" so I would get results for both "feminist" and "feminism", but not things like "feminine", which is missing the "s".
  • Want to search for an entire phrase? 
    • Surround your phrase with " ", and the database will search for those words in that order without anything in between
    • Example: "critical feminist theory" will return results JUST with those exact words in that exact order. So you won't get results that are something along the lines of "Feminists are critical of X theory".

Reading Results and Articles

Results

Results pages vary, but if you've searched for a topic that has its own page (as many of the well-known topics do), your screen will look something like this:

GIIC Results

 

At the top of the page is a photo related to the topic and an encyclopedia entry explaining what that topic is.

On the right side of the page is a list of all the documents about that person by type: academic articles, viewpoints (articles with opinions about said topic), primary sources, reference articles (like encyclopedia entries), photo, audio, video, news articles, websites, magazine articles, etc. This list will change depending on what is available for that topic.

The rest of the page is separated by those content type categories with a previews of 3 articles of each kind. To see all the documents, click on the title of the content type you wish to look at.

To see a document in full, click on its title.

 


Articles

All of the articles in our Gale databases are full-text, so you don't have to worry about using Interlibrary Loan here! To read the full article, click on the blue linked title. You page will look like this:

In Context Article screenshot

 

To download this article:

  • Cick the "Download" button in the right column
  • Choose either an HTML text file or a PDF file (a small box will appear in the center of your screen)
  • Click "Download" in the bottom left

To email, print, share, or send to a Google Drive or Microsoft Cloud, use the labeled links on the right side of the page.

The title is in large, bolded letters at the top of the page, followed by citation information like author, journal/publication, volume, date published, page numbers. Copyright information is also in this part of the page.

To translate the article into another language, use the dropdown menu that says "Translate Article" at the bottom right of the page, then select the language you would like to read it in.

To see related and relevant subjects, click on the plus sign (+) in the bottom right corner next to Related Subjects. Click on any of these terms to run a new search for articles that share that term as a subject.

Citing an Article

To cite an article, you must be looking at the full information/article. On the right is a "Tools" box, and the very first link will be called "Citation Tools". Click this button, and a box will appear on your page that looks like this:

LRC Citation screenshot

 

Choose your citation style from the dropdown menu at the top left - you can choose from MLA, APA, or Chicago. The box will automatically refresh after you choose an option to display the correct format.

Click the blue "Select" button to highlight the entire citation - you can then copy and paste it into your document.

Or, click the gray "Download" button to download the text as html.

Or, if you use citation managers, you can export this information using the dropdown menu and "Export" button in the bottom left.

NOTE: Double check the citation to make sure the information and formatting is correct!!! Our databases pull information automatically from places it thinks the information should be and may not be able to format it correctly. Always always check the citation given to you by the database against the regulations given in the respective handbook for your citation style.

If you have any questions about citing sources, you can check out our Research Guide on the topic.