Murrell Library Research Guides: Management &amp; Human Resources: Websites

American Management Association: White Papers
The American Management Association website has a lot of information available, including tons of white papers divided by topics such as Communication Skills or Human Resources Management.
Business.com
Business.com is a directory and search engine that focuses exclusively on business resources. The site includes company and industry profiles, business news as well as links to business-orientated web sites.
Center for Creative Leadership: Research & Innovation Projects
Behavioral science research on a variety of topics.
Center for Evidence-Based Management
Provide support and resources to managers, consultants, teachers, academics and others interested in evidence-based management.
Evidence-based Management resources
Resources on fact-based decision making from a pair of Stanford professors.
GlobalEDGE
Information about emerging, frontier, and mature markets. Contains market resources, risk information, and economic, governmental, and financial statistics.
SCORE
Provides free mentoring and education to startup and existing businesses.
Small Business (USA.gov)
A comprehensive website by the federal government containing business resources and tools. Find information on starting a business, finance, laws and regulations, and more.
Entrepreneur
--------------------------------
U.S. Department of State
The U.S. Department of State's website provides information on countries abroad along with various other concerns that relate to business, trade, U.S. relationships with foreign countries, culture, security, and many other policy issues that could impact business.

Academy of Management (AOM)
Worldwide organization founded in 1936 devoted to management and organizations scholars and practitioners. Provides members with networking opportunities, career placement services, resources and other publications.
American Management Association (AMA)
The website of the United States' premier management association offers a wealth of information for both AMA members and non-members alike. Free access is provided to AMA research, newsletters, and their online library, including articles from MWorld, the AMA's quarterly journal.
Center for Ethical Leadership
Supports efforts to improve issues on inequality and injustice through its programs.
Center for Evidence-Based Management
Provides support and resources to managers, consultants, organizations, teachers, academics and others interested in learning more about evidence-based decision-making and practices in the field of management and leadership.
International Leadership Association
The International Leadership Association (ILA) is a global network for individuals and organizations focused on leadership development, education, research, and practice.
Project Management Institute (PMI)
Professional organization for project managers. Members get access to networking and professional resources. Some resources are freely available. Find more from the local chapter Project Management Institute: Mass Bay Chapter including local events. Students currently enrolled in a degree granting program may be eligible for a discounted rate.
Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)
The largest society of HR Professionals worldwide, with members from more than 165 countries, the Society for Human Resource Management provides resources for human resource management professionals with information on various topics and tools to use in the field.
Society for Information Management (SIM)
National society for IT management leaders since 1969. Provides various news and publications as well as events and networking.
Strategic Management Society (SMS)
Founded in 1981, the Strategic Management Society contains members from over 80 countries. Publishes multiple academic journals for scholars and professionals dedicated to strategic management study and practice.

Alliance for Nonprofit Management
Click on the Resources link to access this organization's online library, much of it downloadable for free.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Provides freely available statistics and other data collected by the Department of Labor. Includes data and reports on employee wages and benefits, employment, unemployment, productivity, prices, and more.
DiversityInc
One of the top sources of information on diversity management, this website publishes articles on best practices for diversity management, diversity facts, and an annual list of the 50 top companies for diversity.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission is responsible for handling issues related to discrimination in the workplace and investigating discrimination charges. Their website offers information on laws, statistics, resources for businesses, and more.
Free Management Library
Divided into different subject categories, this website provides access to a vast amount of information related to management and leadership in large, small, for profit, and non profit companies and enterprises. Content suggested by community members.
GEM: Global Entrepreneurship Monitor
Studying entrepreneurship globally since 1999, GEM provides country profiles, reports, and data sets. Initially started by Babson College and the London Business School.
Harvard Business School: Working Knowledge
Collection of articles, working papers, and more from the Harvard Business School. Users can search by topic, industry, geography, faculty member, or category. Select topics such as "management", "leadership", or "entrepreneurship" to focus your search!
Small Business Administration (SBA.gov): Managing a Business
Resources provided by the Small Business Administration to help individuals with the various aspects of running and managing a small business.
U.S. Department of Labor
The official website of the Department of Labor. Find valuable information on current news, laws, and employment practices in the United States.
USA.gov: Business
From USA.gov, this site provides information on starting and growing businesses and nonprofits, importing and exporting, and tax issues.
USA.gov: Starting a Nonprofit Organization
Includes information on types of nonprofits, incorporating a nonprofit, and more.

Websites
Government Sites for Business

24/7 Missouri
A website from the State of Missouri for helping businesses.
Marshall Chamber of Commerce
A local advocacy and business development group.
Missouri Business Alert
A top site for local business news.
Missouri Chamber of Commerce and Industry
The Chamber lobbies for business-friendly legislation and provides economic development resources.
Missouri Partnership
Missouri Partnership is a public-private economic development partnership designed to increase the visibility of Missouri as a globally competitive business location and attract new jobs and investment to the state. The Partnership works in partnership with the Missouri Department of Economic Development, the Hawthorn Foundation and economic development agencies across the state.
Missouri Secretary of State Business Services
The Business Services Division is committed to making it easier to do business in Missouri. The Division has four primary units. The Corporations Unit handles the creation and maintenance of all business entities doing business in Missouri. The Notaries & Commissions Unit performs an array of functions including commissioning notaries public. The UCC Unit processes personal property lien filings. The Safe at Home address confidentiality program helps protect victims of domestic violence, rape, sexual assault, human trafficking, stalking, or other crimes who fear for their safety by authorizing the use of a designated address on new public records.
National Federation of Independent Businesses
An advocacy group for small businesses and entrepreneurs.
University of Missouri Extension - Business Development
Help for start-up businesses in Missouri.

Bank of England
Here you can read about the history and organization of the Bank of England. You can find out about its main activities and responsibilities, from monetary policy to the issuing of banknotes. There are internal links to the Bank of England Museum and the Centre for Central Banking Studies.
Bureau of Economic Analysis (Dept. of Commerce)
BEA provides important economic statistics including the gross domestic product of the United States.
--------------------------------
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
Department of the Treasury
Agency of the U.S. government responsible for its economic and financial systems, and the nation's participation in the world economy. This site offers information about the department and its policies, along with data and statistics.
--------------------------------
Federal Reserve Districts
The Twelve Federal Reserve Districts are Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Cleveland, Richmond, Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, Minneapolis, Kansas City, Dallas, and San Francisco. Select one the relevant Districts, most of the Districts will include regional economic data and analysis.
Federal Reserve System
This is the website of the Federal Reserve, the central bank of the US. Find out about the Federal Reserve System, or browse through sections on monetary policy or banking and regulation. There is also a useful Consumer Information area and a selection of educational resources.
--------------------------------
Federal Reserve System
This is the website of the Federal Reserve, the central bank of the US. Find out about the Federal Reserve System, or browse through sections on monetary policy or banking and regulation. There is also a useful Consumer Information area and a selection of educational resources.
HM Treasury
On this site you can find out about the aims and objectives of HM Treasury, the economics and finance ministry of the UK government. You can read about different policy areas, such as the Euro, or ‘Tax, Work, and Welfare’; you can also access documentation about the Budget, including Pre-Budget Reports.
Small Business Administration
The SBA connects entrepreneurs and small businesses with lenders and funding to help them plan, start, and grow their business. The SBA also provides counseling and advice to business owners.
--------------------------------
U.S. Census Bureau
Provides current facts and figures about America’s people, places, and economy.
U.S. Department of Commerce
The Department of Commerce is the Cabinet department of the United States government concerned with promoting economic growth. Among its tasks are gathering economic and demographic data for business and government decision-making, and helping to set industrial standards. This organization's main purpose is to create jobs, promote economic growth, encourage sustainable development and block harmful trade practices of other nations.
--------------------------------
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)
Here you can find out about the SEC and how it fulfills its role of protecting investors and maintaining the integrity of the securities market. You can search for company filings and access a range of information for investors.
--------------------------------