Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

VikingScholar Institutional Repository: Overview

VikingScholar

Administered by Murrell Library and Commons, this Institutional Repository, VikingScholar, provides access to scholarly materials for historical, academic, and research purposes. Each item contains descriptions, abstracts, and documentation to increase discoverability in search engines like Google and Google Scholar.

  • VikingScholar is organized in a hierarchical structure composed of Communities and Collections.
    • Communities are the highest level and represent divisions and administrative entities.
      • Programs and majors are represented as Collections within Communities.
      • Some Collections contain Sub-Collections (i.e. a collection within a collection).
    • Collections contain Objects, the actual digital works. Each community and collection has its own entry page displaying information, news, and links reflecting the interests of that community or collection.
    • VikingScholar will use the Thesaurus from Humanities International Complete.

Advantages of VikingScholar:

  • Increases visibility and readership of scholarly output
  • Works are cataloged with standardized metadata to ensure maximum findability
  • Works are assigned a handle (permalink) to provide permanent access
  • Long-term preservation
  • Fulfills federal and other grant requirements
  • Long-term preservation
    • Murrell Library and Commons is committed to providing long-term access to all material submitted to this Institutional Repository.

Library Navigation

Red dot used as a bullet Library Homepage
Red dot used as a bullet 
Avalon
    (library catalog)

Red dot used as a bullet 
Research Databases
Red dot used as a bullet 
eJournal Finder
Red dot used as a bullet 
Library Account
Red dot used as a bullet 
Citations &
    
Plagiarism
Red dot used as a bullet 
About Murrell
Red dot used as a bullet 
Library & Commons

Red dot used as a bullet 
Library Policies
Red dot used as a bullet 
Interlibrary Loan
Red dot used as a bullet 
New Books & Films
Red dot used as a bullet 
Tutorials, Guides,

    
and Help
Red dot used as a bullet Library Liaisons 

   
and Who's Who

Murrell Library:
       660-831-4211
Library Commons:
       660-831-4013
library@moval.edu
Follow us on
Social Media: 
         Facebook Page  Twitter Page