Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Health Statistics
Condition Specific Resources
To find statistics on a specific condition, try finding professional societies and non-profit organizations dedicated to the condition. The following are a few examples:
Health Topics A - Z
Provides a listing topics regarding diseases or statistics available on the CDC Web site.
U.S. Statistics from NIDDK
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestion and Kidney Health offers multiple statistical reports on Diabetes and Kidney disease prevalence in the U.S.
A visual map of the United States representing people living with a diagnosis of AIDS.
National Cancer Institute
The NCI provides links to the SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology & End Results) Program reports and data, NCI Progress Reports, and interactive graphics and maps.
National Cancer Database
A coordinated effort between many professional societies and the government to have one access point to cancer statistics and data.
Top Sites for Healthcare Statistics
USA.GOV Data & Statistics
Contains a variety of government statistical information.
Compilation of publicly available information on developments in a globalised world. Presents data on a wide range of topics and from a broad range of international statistical resources.
The resources below are great starting places to find statistical information to support your population.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Several projects are underway including the Heathcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP) & interactive tool for hospital statistics, the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), and the Healthcare Informatics Standards.
For a single point of access to a wide variety of reports & numeric public health data, use CDC Wonder. Browse the topics list (i.e., Chronic Diseases, Communicable Diseases, Environmental or Occupational Health, etc.) or use the A - Z index.
Quick access to statistics on a variety of topics with links provided to more comprehensive data & related topics.
Morbidity Mortality Weekly Report
Online version of the print publication focusing on disease surveillance.
Health Care Utilization
AHRQ Data and Surveys
Data collected by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality processed into health statistic on the utilization of health care. Try using MEPS or H-CUPnet.
CMS - Research, Statistics, Data & Systems
Statistics from the Center for Medicare and Medicaid. This offers statistics on utilization of Medicare and Medicaid services.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
The Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Community Statistics Resources
Lewis Mumford Center
The Lewis Mumford Center for Metropolitan Racial and Ethnic Change at the University at Albany, SUNY provides data, tables and reports of metropolitan areas in the US.
National Neighborhoods Indicators Partnership
The National Neighborhood Indicators Partnership (NNIP) is a collaborative effort by the Urban Institute and local partners to further the development and use of neighborhood-level information systems in local policymaking and community building.
This database was created for the purpose of finding vital information on a community in case of an emergency.
Community Health Rankings & Roadmaps
This collection of 50 reports – one per state – provides information ranging from individual health behaviors, education and jobs, to quality of health care, to the environment. These reports show data from a state's counties and cities. Sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.
Sortable Risk Factors and Health Indicators
This site from the CDC complies data from the local and national level that can be viewed by by indicators or as a map.