Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Databases A - Z: Databases

Print newspapers are in the Reading Room on the first floor of Murrell Library. Current magazines are on the second floor in the quiet room, with back issues in alphabetical order by title in the Periodicals section.

  • Columbia Daily Tribune  - Daily newspaper for Columbia, Missouri area, including University of Missouri, Columbia. We keep 1 month.
  • Kansas City Star - Daily newspaper for Kansas City, Missouri area. We keep 1 month.
  • Marshall Democrat News - Local newspaper serving Marshall, Missouri and Saline County, Missouri. Published three times weekly. We keep 1 month.
  • USA Today - A multi-platform news and information media company. Founded in 1982, its mission is to serve as a forum for better understanding and unity to help make the USA truly one nation. We keep 1 month.
  • Wall Street Journal - A U.S. business-focused international daily newspaper based in New York City. The Journal, along with its Asian and European editions, is published six days a week. We keep 1 month.

Featured Database of the Month

Points of View Reference CenterOpposing Viewpoints

Points of View Reference Center and Opposing Viewpoints

These two databases cover topics used in papers, speeches, and debates. Each article contains an overview of the subject, point of argument, and counterpoint/counter-argument. Hot topics in both databases include:

  • Black Lives Matter Movement
  • Capital punishment
  • Citizens' rights
  • Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19)
  • Earth and environment
  • Election Interference
  • Health and medicine
  • Immigration
  • Marijuana
  • Media and communications
  • Police Reform
  • Police Use of Force
  • Social issues
  • Women's issues

Points of View contains materials from Newspapers, primary source documents, reference books, and radio/TV news transcripts. Opposing Viewpoints contains some original material as well as newspaper articles.

In Opposing Viewpoints, the “Topic Finder” in the advanced search takes the titles, subjects, and first 100 words from a subset of your top results and feeds them into an algorithm.

Calendar