Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A directory of insurance companies. Use Best to find out how stable a company is so that you don't throw away your policy dollars!
Crunchbase tracks venture capital investment in startups and can be used to investigate who is investing in what.
Hoover's offers a lot of basic company information on thousands of public and private companies all in one place. If you don't mind putting up with a few ads, Hoover's is a good place to start to find out whether a company is public, private, parent or subsidiary and to get a quick snapshot of what you're dealing with.
Industrial Quick Search (IQS) Directory
Find leading manufacturers, suppliers and distributors by industry.
International and worldwide directories.
Provides independent investment research in North America, Europe, Australia, and Asia and information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange-traded funds, separate accounts, hedge funds, and 529 college savings plans.
Mutual Fund Investor's Center
Clearinghouse for fund information, providing direct links to educational topics, worksheets, calculators and commentary on a variety of subjects provided by leading fund companies.
Stockholders' Equity (Explanation)
Get stock ideas and top stocks and market movers daily.
Thomasnet: Thomas Register
A directory of US-based suppliers and manufacturers.
United States Patent and Trademark Office
Patents are a great way of getting a different viewpoint on a company. Use the Quick Search of the USPTO Patent Application Full-Text and Image Database (AppFT) to look up patents by Applicants or Assignees.
One of the top financial news and research website in the United States, offering stock quotes, stock exchange rates, corporate press releases and financial reports. It also offers some hosted tools for personal finance management. Yahoo! Finance Worldwide offers similar portals localized to larger countries.
Financials, Annual Reports, & SEC Filings
NAICS: North American Industry Classification System
Replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system in 1997; it's a 5- or 6-digit number. You can search by keyword, and there are tables to convert from NAICS to SIC, and SIC to NAICS. The NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to compare statistics about business activity across North America.
SIC: Standard Industrial Classification
The U.S. government classified business activity according to the SIC system until the adoption of NAICS in 1997. It's searchable by code or by keyword. Some business sources still feature SIC code search options.
10K Reports - Annual report filed with the Securities Exchange Commission (SEC).
10Q Reports - Quarterly reports filed with the Securities Exchange Commission (SEC).
20-F Reports - Annual report of a foreign firm. Required to be filed with SEC.
Annual Reports to Shareholders - The Public Register and AnnualReports.com provide free annual reports of public companies trading on the NYSE, NASDAQ, AMEX, and OTC exchanges. Orders are processed and mailed within one business day.
Proxy Statements - Companies often post their proxy statements on their web page. Proxy statements must be filed with the SEC, so these may also be located by searching the EDGAR database.
You can search information collected by the SEC several ways: