Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News and Country Information: News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive (ProQuest)

The News, Policy & Politics Magazine Archive offers full text to the leading consumer magazines of the 20th century relating to political history, current events, public policy, and international relations. It comprises approximately 700,000 full color page images. Each article is individually indexed with fully searchable text. This collection provides unique primary source insights into 20th-century political history, delivering valuable material for researchers in fields ranging from modern history and politics, through to economics, law and many more. Backfiles date from the first issue. Central to this collection is the archive of Newsweek, one of the 20th century’s most prominent, highest circulating general interest magazines.

Subjects in the database include:

Red dot used as a bullet Current Events
Red dot used as a bullet Democracy
Red dot used as a bullet Diplomacy/Peacemaking
Red dot used as a bullet Ethics
Red dot used as a bullet Global Economic Affairs
Red dot used as a bullet History
Red dot used as a bullet Human Rights
Red dot used as a bullet International Development
Red dot used as a bullet International Relations
Red dot used as a bullet Military Operations
Red dot used as a bullet Politics
Red dot used as a bullet Public Policy
Red dot used as a bullet Sustainability

Title Publisher Frequency Coverage
Americas Organization of American States Bimonthly 1949-2012
Church & State Americans United for Separation
of Church and State
Monthly 1948-2015
Common Cause Magazine Common Cause Quarterly 1980-1996
Dollars & Sense Economic Affairs Bureau Bimonthly 1977-2015
Europe Delegation of the Commission of
the European Communities
Monthly 1954-2002
Fellowship Fellowship of Reconciliation NY Quarterly 1935-2016
In These Times Institute for Public Affairs, Inc. Monthly 1976-2015
NATO Review North Atlantic Treaty Organization Quarterly 1953-2001
New Internationalist New Internationalist Monthly 1971- 2013
Newsweek; Replaced
by Newsweek Global
IBT Media, Inc. Weekly 1933-2012
2013 to
Present
State Legislatures National Conference of State Legislatures Monthly 1975-2015
UNESCO Courier UNESCO Press, United Nations Educational,
Scientific and Cultural Organization
Semiannual 1948-2001
[ceased]
UN Chronicle United Nations Quarterly 1964-2015
Whole Earth New Whole Earth, LLC Quarterly 1974-2002
[ceased]
World Tomorrow Fellowship of Reconciliation NY Monthly 1918 to 1934
[ceased]

* ProQuest's policy is to include every issue in full, from the first to the end of the 2015 publication year. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there small gaps (issues or pages) for some publications. Page-level completeness for this collection is approximately 99.65%.