Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Our largest interdisciplinary database containing full-text and bibliographic content from a wide range of academic disciplines.
American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia
Organized in easy-to-use A-Z format, it covers thousands of medical terms, surgical procedures, and tests, as well as drug and treatment benefits and side effects. Also includes information on issues such as bioterrorism, genetic research, robotic surgery, brain imaging, and bionic people, as well as alternative medicine, nutrition, mental health, and cosmetic surgery.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (Indexing only)
Indexes open-access academic resources including journals, institutional repositories, and digital collections. About 60% of the sources are available in full text. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Full-text and abstracts for over 770 nursing & allied health journals, dating back to 1937.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCOhost)
Resources for consumer-oriented health content including mainstream, complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Also includes the Clinical Reference System, a medical dictionary, and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs.
Cornell lllustrated Encyclopedia of Health
Contains more than 1,200 illustrated pages of definitions and diagnoses on virtually every known medical condition, plus treatment and preventative tips for many ailments.
The academic form of Google, Scholar will search for scholarly articles and books instead of websites. This includes a large number of scholarly eJournal articles subscribed to by Murrell Library. To get full text articles, you must go to “Settings” and select Missouri Valley College in the “Library Links” the very first time you use Google Scholar on your computer. Your computer will save this information and you will not have to enter it again. Click here for a guide to setting up Google Scholar.
Medline Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Indexes articles from over 4,800 journals, 1965 - present, dealing with medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, preclinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine. For articles from 1947-1965, see OldMedline
Consumer health information from the National Library of Medicine.
PEDro (Indexing and Abstracting only)
Indexing and Abstracting only - no full text. PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, contains over 45,000 randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. PEDro trials are independently assessed with quality ratings to guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. From the Institute for Musculoskeletal Health, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney and the Neuroscience Research Australia.
A free archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine.
Sage Health Practice & Services Collection
The Sage Health Practice and Services Collection contains 54 peer-reviewed e-Journals. Use Advanced Search and turn on the Sage Journals Available to me setting turned on. Otherwise you will be shown articles that are not available for free.
SportDiscus with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Access to full-text articles covering such topics as physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention, rehabilitation, sport & exercise psychology, allied health, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCOhost)
Contains full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and other leading sources. Includes access to full-text issues from 1894 to the present.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCOhost) (indexing only)
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology, educational psychology, behavioral science, and mental health dating back to the 1800s.
Full-text articles of high-impact bioscience research journals focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Masterfile Premier (EBSCOhost)
An interdisciplinary database with provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals. Selected full-text dates from. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books andand many primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.
Nature and Nature Reviews Microbiology MVC's subscription contains the current year and the previous year. Older issues are in Murrell Library in print.
– Original research, editorials, news, and feature articles discussing current affairs, funding, business, scientific ethics, and research breakthroughs across a wide range of scientific fields, plus books reviews, arts, and short science fiction stories. Nature Reviews Microbiology
– Reviews, perspectives and comments using an integrated approach to microbiology, bridging fundamental research and its clinical, industrial and environmental applications.
PLOS: Public Library of Science
A non-profit open-access science publisher.
Psychology Database (ProQuest)
Full text on a wide range of topics from leading psychological and psychosomatic publications. Covers clinical and social psychology as well as related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and education.
Contains information about molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. Includes information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, and toxicity data.
Covering the full range of scientific disciplines, Science contains original scientific research, research reviews, science-related news, and opinions on science policy, 1999 - Present. Published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).
Science Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Reference Librarian, Asst. Professor