Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionary of Accounting
Provides a basic vocabulary of terms used in accounting, from personal finance and investments to company accounts, balance sheets and stock valuations.
The Handy Accounting Answer Book by
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
Everyone needs to budget money and manage costs, whether for groceries and everyday purchases, rent or mortgage, education, retirement, or even a business. Like it or not, accounting infuses most everything in life. From credits, debits, and basic bookkeeping to getting the most out of tax deductions and from reading or creating a business' financial statement to better understanding accounting lingo.
Publication Date: 2015-01-29
Offers articles with key themes in over 250 best practice and thought leadership articles. This edition comprises key perspectives on environmental, social, and governance factors -- essential for understanding the long-term sustainability of a company.
Teach Yourself: The Ultimate Finance Book
From balance sheets and profit statements to cashflow, budgets and forecasts, this is a dynamic collection of tools, techniques, and strategies for success. Short, punchy chapters mean you can read up quickly and start applying what you've learned immediately.
Webster's New World Finance and Investment Dictionary
Clear, accessible, and cross-referenced explanations of today's most essential financial terms, including vocabulary related to accounting, finance, banks and banking, economics, investing, markets, real estate, and securities.
- Accounting (Full range): HF5601-HF5689
- Accounting Standards: HF5626
- Accounting-Data Processing: HF5667.12
- Auditing: HF5667-HF5668.25
- Banks and banking: HG1501-HG3550
- Business Enterprises-Finance: HG4026
- Capital Market: HG4523
- Corporations-Finance: HG4001-HG4285
- Cost Accounting: HF5686.C8
- Derivative securities: HG6024
- Finance, Personal: HG179
- Finance, Public-Accounting: HJ9701-HJ9995
- Finance: HG1-HG9999
- Financial planners: HG179.5
- Income Tax: HJ4629-HJ4830
- Insurance: HG8011-HG8745
- International finance: HG3879-HG3898
- Investment Analysis: HG4523
- Investments: HG4501-HG5993
- Managerial Accounting: HF5657.4
- Money: HG201-HG1496
- Municipal Finance-Accounting: HJ9771-HJ9779
- Portfolio management: HG4529.5
- Real Estate-Business: HD1375
- Small business-Finance: HG4027.7
- Tax Accounting: HF5681.T3
- Tax Planning: KF6296-KF6297
Export-Import Bank of the United States
The Export-Import Bank of the United States (Ex-Im Bank) is the official export credit agency of the United States. Ex-Im Bank's mission is to assist in financing the export of U.S. goods and services to international markets.
This excellent website from the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration gives you everything you need to get started, including market research, trade leads, trade data and analysis, online training videos, and a host of other helpful information.
Federation of International Trade Associations
The FITA Global Trade Portal, is the source for international import export trade leads, events, and links to 8,000 international trade (export import) related Websites. You can search by country for market analyses, business tips, import and export services, agents and distributors, and other service providers.
International Chamber of Commerce
The ICC assists global businesses in many ways: setting rules and standards; promoting growth and prosperity; spreading business expertise; and advocating for international business.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF is an intergovernmental organization that promotes international economic cooperation, focusing in particular on policies that have an impact on the exchange rate and the balance of payments. The Website contains a very helpful collection of facts, news, and data & statistics.
International Trade Administration
The ITA provides you with export counseling, international company profiles, market research, trade compliance filing, export fact sheets, international trade fairs, trade leads, and much more.
National District Export Council
Closely affiliated with the U.S. Commercial Service's U.S. Export Assistance Centers, the 56 District Export Councils (DECs) nationwide are organizations comprised of leaders from their local business community. A map on this page is searchable by state.
U.S. Commercial Service
The U.S. Commercial Service is the trade promotion arm of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration. U.S. Commercial Service trade professionals in over 100 U.S. cities and in more than 75 countries help U.S. companies get started in exporting or increasing sales to new global markets.
U.S. Export Assistance Centers
Each U.S. Export Assistance Center is staffed by professionals from the SBA, the U.S. Department of Commerce, the U.S. Export-Import Bank, and other public and private organizations. Together, their mission is to provide the help you need to compete in today's global marketplace.
U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services
This monthly report from the U.S. Department of Commerce reports, in billions of dollars, the amount of goods and services imported and exported by product categories.
The mission of the World Bank Group is to "fight poverty and improve the living standards of people in the developing world."
World Trade Organization
The WTO deals with the global rules of trade between nations. Its main function is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.
Accounting & Financial Women's Alliance
The mission of AFWA is to enable women in all accounting, finance and related fields to achieve full personal, professional and economic potential and to contribute to the future development of their profession.
American Accounting Association (AAA)
A voluntary organization promoting worldwide excellence in accounting education, research and practice.
American Institute of CPAs (AICPA)
The primary national organization for CPAs in the United States.
Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability
ECFA provides accreditation to leading Christian nonprofit organizations that faithfully demonstrate compliance with established standards for financial accountability, transparency, fundraising, and board governance.
Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board (FASAB)
Develops accounting standards for federal financial information.
Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)
FASB is a private organization that establishes standards of financial accounting for non-government organizations, officially recognized by the SEC and AICPA.
Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)
Worldwide association for accountants and financial professionals in business, helping to expand members' professional and organizational management skills.
International Accounting Standards Board (IASB)
Responsible for developing high quality, understandable, enforceable and globally accepted international financial reporting standards.
International Federation of Accountants (IFA)
Global organization for the accountancy profession, developing standards on ethics, auditing and assurance, education, and public sector accounting standards.
International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation
A not-for-profit, public interest organisation established to develop a single set of high-quality, understandable, enforceable and globally accepted accounting standards—IFRS Standards—and to promote and facilitate adoption of the standards.
Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB)
Establishes and improves standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting.